We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Afternoon Bite to Eat”
Review of Annies

Annies
Ranked #104 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Annies is owned by actress Jennie McAlpine and her partner Chris Farr. Located just off St. Ann's Square in the iconic Royal Exchange building, tucked away from the hustle and bustle, Annies is the perfect setting to eat good old fashioned food and relax in comfort and style. For a business lunch, traditional afternoon tea, pre-theatre meal, leisurely evening dinner or a private party, Annies is the place to find traditional, good quality food and friendly service. Let us look after you!
Aldermaston, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Afternoon Bite to Eat”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Having been to the Coronation Street Tour earlier on it seemed only right to go to Annies, which is owned by Fizz.

As we were eating dinner later, we only chose starters for our afternoon snack, but they were very nice. The lancashire rarebit, bury black pudding/crispy bacon/poached egg and soup of the day were all tasty. One of us chose the cream tea - this was good but came with only one scone, which seemed a bit skimpy.

The feel to Annies was very pleasant. We had a table downstairs that had a nice atmosphere - a cross between a formal dining room and a cosy living room. A balance that makes it a good location for a casual drink, afternoon tea, or a special dinner. Quiet and relaxed that feels miles removed from the hustle and bustle of Manchester outside.

Service was good and not pushy - we moved to the sitting area after we had finished our meal, and stayed for a reasonable while with a drink, without feeling that we had to pay up and go.

Overall, a very relaxing late afternoon bite to eat. We will likely return for something more substantial to try out Annies main courses.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    225
    156
    105
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place for afternoon tea”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location, and great venue for afternoon tea. Afternoon tea in Manchester seems to be very popular on a Friday and we really struggled to find somewhere that wasn't fully booked, luckily I stumbled across Annie's website which had good reviews.

We found the staff very polite, helpful and welcoming.

The selection of sandwiches, cakes and teas couldn't be faulted and cocktails we selected before our afternoon tea were perfect.

The restaurant has a very comfortable homely feel and I will definitely return to dine. On the afternoon that we visited the restaurant was almost empty, which seems a real shame.

I have one critisism, of the 3 ladies toilet cubicles on the lower floor, we found two had been left dirty. This is obviously customers that feel its acceptable to leave a dirty toilet, but think the staff need to check the facilities regularly to ensure they are clean.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely experience!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I took my sister to Annie's today for her Birthday after some work friends recommended it to me. Really glad we went as we thoroughly enjoyed the nicely presented, home cooked food in a lovely relaxing environment. Jenny was lovely too and chatted to us and other guests...will definately be returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab Food, great ambience.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fab welcome,we were made to feel like we were old friends of Jennie & Chris couldnt have been better. The food was excellent well presented & tasty. Every where was very clean & the ladies loo was lovely with individual towels.....very well thought out.All in all we were only sorry that we live so far away as we would otherwise be going on a regular basis.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trudymacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely little spot for a light lunch or a bigger meal...”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A lovely little spot. We popped in twice during a recent visit to Manchester, and found a lovely, homely, welcoming place. We had a light snack on our first visit (coronation chicken sandwiches and toasted crumpets) which was delicious, and then popped in for a wonderful Sunday roast - gorgeous gammon ham and all the trimmings (with the nicest Yorkshire pudding I've ever had!). The staff and owners were welcoming and friendly, and the place has a lovely, laid-back atmosphere. I will return when I next visit Manchester.

Helpful?
Thank campcrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annies also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Annies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing