We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Meal”
Review of Annies

Annies
Ranked #91 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Annies is owned by actress Jennie McAlpine and her partner Chris Farr. Located just off St. Ann's Square in the iconic Royal Exchange building, tucked away from the hustle and bustle, Annies is the perfect setting to eat good old fashioned food and relax in comfort and style. For a business lunch, traditional afternoon tea, pre-theatre meal, leisurely evening dinner or a private party, Annies is the place to find traditional, good quality food and friendly service. Let us look after you!
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited Annie's on Friday the 8th of Febuary, what a wonderful night we had. The staff are just delightful! Food is delicious, excellent quality and fresly prepared. Drinks are not over priced, try the Amo Sparkle it is fabulous! Can't fault it in any way. Hope to return very soon.
Thanks to everyone for a lovely night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevexrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    232
    156
    105
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to eat in Manchester”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Took my friend yesterday evening before the theatre, I'd seen Jenny advertise it on the television, so thought we would try it. All I can say is wow! The staff were lovely and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the restuarant itself was homely and smart with quality glasses, napkins and cutlery. The food was excellent, it was fresh traditional fare, proper home cooked food that had quality written all over it. I won't be going anywhere else when I visit Manchester again and can't wait to take my Husband to try it.

Helpful?
Thank jshore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“food that makes you go mmm mmmmmm!!!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I went here on sunday afternoon for the second time. I was taking my mother for a meal and have to admit i was a little worried. My mother ( would admit this herself) is very fussy and not afraid to voice her opinionion if something isnt right. However they did not let me down!!!
The atmosphere is relaxing, decore is somehow sophisticated and cosy at the sametime. The stories on the wall downstairs about famous annies is a great unique touch. staff are very friendly and easy to chat to with a great sense of humour. Despite not having mushrooms or sour cream on the menu they accomodated my mothers desire
The food was as incredible as my first visit. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted amazing. We had 3 courses and couldnt fault anything. It really is food that a makes you go mmmmm mmmm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade-anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Already a Manchester institution!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wonderful food, service, wine, atmosphere. Just what this bit of Manchester needs. Loved it. Feels like it's been here for years...long may Annie's reign!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieKersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When you walk in you are welcomed and shown downstairs to a beautiful setting. I felt like I was walking into a movie set, there was just something very atmospheric about the place.
We ordered lunch and drinks both opting for the Welsh Rarebit to start and Steak and Ale Pie for main with a side of Red Cabbage. This was really well priced at around £14.
The food was just sublime, traditional and comforting but with an edge in that we savoured every bite. The red cabbage was GORGEOUS really added to the pie main meal.

Service was friendly and with a smile which always makes a difference. Everyone in the restaurant just seemed relaxed and to be enjoying their time in Annies.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda42london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annies also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Annies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing