We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Molly House

The Molly House
Ranked #216 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely pub not to be missed, on two floors, there`s outside veranda on the second floor, the toilets are on the third floor, there are plenty of various alcoholic drinks to choose from, you can be spoilt for choice, on the first floor there`s a kitchen that serve tapas meals, brunches & lunches.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bu21er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    38
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An almost hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

If ever in Manchester this is a must if you like quality beers and food. Great Tappas which goes down well with one of the many quality beers - Whether it be a local English beer or the world beers in bottles (I particularly like the German and Belgium selection). The staff are always friendly and welcoming and i will continue to visit here whenever I am in Manchester and so should you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxed casual atmosphere and lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a lovely relaxed lunch here in simple rustic surroundings and were well looked after. The Chef manages to turn out super tasty food in a tiny kitchen area open to the restaurant. We chose 8 Tapas dishes, plus bread selection, which was more than enough for 4 of us. Total bill came to under £50 including drinks. Excellent! Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireMand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff are rude and make no effort if you are not a regular”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a quirky little place, some staff can be nice enough but generally I found that unless you are a regular they give the impression you are interrupting them and they do not want to give you the time of day.

A shame really as they have some nice beers, a decent food menu and a little but sometimes cramped balcony for smokers. Literally the only flaw here is the staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonsie90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Molly House is everything a tapas bar should be. Friendly, relaxed and welcoming. We booked here (via email, and received a very quick response) after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The menu doesn't have the largest selection I've ever seen, although that's not necessarily a bad thing as in some places the menu is so vast it makes it difficult to choose, and as one of us didn't like seafood that made it even easier to choose. Between the two of us we had tortilla espanola, albondigas, patatas bravas, croquetas and empanadillas, all of which were delicious. The portions were some of the biggest I've ever had in a tapas bar and 5 dishes was plenty for the two of us.
The total bill for all the food and 4 bottles of beer came to just over £35 which I thought was absolutely excellent value and if we were in Manchester again this would definitely be top of my places to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Molly House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Molly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing