We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”
Review of Avalanche Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Avalanche Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bringing a slice of Italy back to the building that housed Manchester's first Italian restaurant, Avalanche is also inspired by the fine dining establishments of Paris and Monte Carlo. Introducing an Italian trattoria concept, Avalanche conjures an authentic Italian vibe. Masters in fish and seafood courses, the Avalanche menu boasts fresh halibut and lobster. Boasting a stunning chandelier and sleek artwork, Avalanche is a spacious and high class eatery.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My experience at Avalanche was very impressive. From the decor to the atmosphere from the service to the staff and most importantly the food. It was all amazing! I would definitely go back its one of the best Italians I have been to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dsdgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Avalanche Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you kindly for such a great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Avalanche. We are working hard to keep our food and service at a high standard, and we appreciate time taken to give us a feedback.

Once again, thank you and we are really looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Avalanche Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 615 of 787 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The food is lovely here. small portions but its very deceiving as it fills you up a lot more than you expected.. the food tastes like perfection. the customer service can not be faulted. I have visited more than 10 times and each time my experience has been fantastic. All round a beautiful place to go and eat from.

    • Food
3  Thank jade u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Avalanche Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Jade Ullah,

Thank you kindly for a lovely comment. It is really nice to know that you enjoyed your time at Avalanche. We appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

avalanche Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This restaurant is Average - the food was overpriced - not getting a lot for your money. Won't be returning to this one..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Avalanche Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear customer,
thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you consider Avalanche overpriced. I must assure you that we are trying to keep prices to be value for money. We are a fine dining restaurant and I am sure we beat the prices in our area.

Kind Regards,

Avalanche Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

All the reviews raved about this restaurant so thought we would give it a try. Not impressed at all. We were seated on the upper level next to the window and it was very draughty. The lighting is blue and it gives the food the affect of being a different colour to what it should be. Food was hot and well presented. As the restaurant was very busy we were inclined to be rushed. Tried it but will not be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank foxycat-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Avalanche Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate time taken by our guests to give us feedback on our service. It is disappointing that your first experience didn't meet your expectations. I must note, that Saturday is the busiest day of the week and we do have a 2 hour policy on the table. If you are looking to enjoy your night in a more relaxed atmosphere I would suggest our downstairs area, which is more private and exclusive.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope it won't put you off and we will welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Avalanche Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had never heard of Avalanche until we wanted to try somewhere different for a meal after an afternoon’s shopping, and like other recent reviewers, we stumbled across the place. And it was heaving. It’s a big restaurant with a downstairs area for extra seating and on this evening, a private function. I may be doing Avalanche a disservice, but I was glad we were seated upstairs as in my experience tables off the main floor level can sometimes have a feeling of “the land that time forgot“.
The food was excellent, starting with a trio of bruschetta, followed by swordfish with seafood and rounded off with a tiramisu. There were other desserts but we were too full for anything other than to share, although we both thought that the cheesecake was quite plain, based on the menu description, and would have needed something extra, e.g. a bit of fruit to interest us. Apart from one or two main courses you need to order sides as they are not included. This pushes up the price, but that’s city centre eating for you.
Staff very friendly and attentive and even though the place was busy we did not have to wait long at all for our food to arrive. Would we go back again? Most definitely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mike0046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Avalanche Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you kindly for your great comment. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your experience at Avalanche. However, I must assure you that both areas of the restaurant are well looked after, downstairs is more private.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Avalanche Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalanche Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing