We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great place to have Lunch and Im a carnivore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aardvark Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aardvark Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“What a Great place to have Lunch and Im a carnivore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This place is a great example that fresh simple ingredients can be fantastic. The place is a little difficult to find amongst the University campus and and I was shown by a colleague, which helped. I had one of the nicest chicken 'chowder style' soups I've ever had with a beautiful nut roast topped with goats cheese, washed down with a simple cappuccino. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and service v good. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

great salads - the sweet potato and honey - yum

the service is fast and friendly

good large eating area with large windows overlooking oxford road

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Menacechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
507 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“First-rate wholesome food and service in a relaxed and informal atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a very good choice indeed, especially for vegetarians either on-campus or anyone travelling along the Oxford Road corridor. Whilst not cheap (and certainly not expensive) Aardvark offers a range of superbly wholesome and extremely tasty lunchtime choices and I have never once been disappointed with the food and service on any one of my visits.

Today I had the excellent goats cheese in nut roast with salad for £7.50 and with a two-cup pot of one of a range of tea-pigs teas (chilli tea!), the total cost was under a tenner. You are offered four types of salad from the wide range on offer, I had sweet potato, traditional potato salad, chickpeas in tomato and butter bean salad. The salads are really top notch and the meals on offer will suit all tastes and the staff and service here is exemplary.

In a nutshell, first-rate wholesome food and service in a relaxed and informal atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“So good...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Right in the heart of the University of Manchester campus. Get there early for lunch because this place is deservedly popular. No wonder, as the food is great with lots of choice and something for everyone - great for veggie and gluten-free. But lots of other choices for omnivores (quiche, sausage rolls and specials).

As a coeliac, I tend towards jacket potato with their amazing choice of salads.The gluten free cake is always a real treat. Great place to meet friends for lunch. I could eat here every day!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aardvark Cafe also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing