We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“same owners on Great Kathmandu.....”
Review of Namche Bazaar - CLOSED

Namche Bazaar
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“same owners on Great Kathmandu.....”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went here on a friends suggestion and were not disappointed. The food is great to share but also not too big to have as a single dish.
The waiters were very helpful explaining the dishes and the spice levels. The food was excellent and all the dishes that were recommended were appropriate for our various different spice tolerance levels. !!
A very nice woman came to talk to us about how we had enjoyed our food and explained that they also owned the Great Kathmandu - close by.
We sat in the front of this restaurant and it was quite cosy so I would go back here again over the other restaurant. They also serve some good draft lagers too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nepalese Tapas”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Great Katmandu looked busy so decided to visit this place nearby which I hadn't been aware of before.
Friendly reception, atmosphere nice and relaxed, decor very tasteful. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough. Papadoms were on the house which is always a good starter. I had the lamb curry with spinach and this was top notch. Portions were adequate and not overbearing and the bill when it came was a pleasant surprise. Would certainly go again and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely family run tapas”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went a couple of weeks ago on a week night and the restaurant was quiet. The waiter was part of the family who own the place (also own the Great Kathmandu next door) and provided very good service. We ordered a range of tapas dishes, the chewla was exceptionally good. We had chicken tikka and lamb dumplings which were very nice. The noodles were average. We had some cocktails which were very nice. Overall the food was lovely, reasonably priced. I would definitely return, but would like to go on a weekend when it's a little busier to have more atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank review_princess2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not much to write home about”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

6 of us went on a deal and it was a good deal but the food was just average apart from the Chemwla dish which is listed as hot and it certainly was Hot and the best dish there. Disappointed with the noodle dishes as the noodles were sticky and clumpy which I would expect better than that! I wouldn't rush back but equally I wouldn't avoid it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely food and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited on Saturday using a Living Social voucher. Love the tapas format - great for me as I am easily overfaced and it means you get to sample a few different dishes. Loved the food, loved the apple pie cocktail even more! Service second to none, very friendly and attentive. Will return and definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namche Bazaar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing