We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Sunday Lunch”

The Albert Square Chop House
Ranked #111 of 2,386 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I feel the need to add another review for this place, and I'm genuinely bemused as to why it's not got a higher ranking. Ate there on Sunday - had hash cake, pork and chocolate tart - all cooked to perfection and delicious - generous portions too. Also had a really good bottle of red and a beautiful pudding wine...This place is top notch...It's in that great place just between great pub food and fine dining. The service was fantasic and the atmosphere is lovely. Is it expensive? - yes a little bit, but that's how it is with places that source such fantastic ingredients and have staff that are wine experts (if you ask them they can match the wine to the dishes) .....I think some folk are not happy about the optional 10% tip...the clue's in the word optional...if you are not happy don't pay it...and if you don't have the balls to have it took off then stop moaning about it....Never had a bad meal here...ever...love the place....can't wait to go again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alisonj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at The Albert Square Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 720 of 900 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Have visited The Albert Square Chop House on numerous occasions and can honestly say I have never had a bad meal here.

Visited Saturday 22nd March, evening. Very busy in the restaurant but service coped well. Food didn't take long at all even with a number of large parties.

Starters can be a little on the small size dependent on what you order but every main I have had has been large. Desserts are always just enough. Wine list and choice of beers/ales are great.

Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at The Albert Square Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you all enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our fiends suggested a great Restaurant to try, with 2 good sounding choices for us vegetarians.

We ordered the Homity Pie @ £12 and our Friends the Half a chicken with roast potatoes 2 types of vegetables and a full yorkshire pudding @ £14
What arrived for us was a tiny tart with cheese potato and onion and a few leaves scattered around the tiny "pie" (the size of a starter in any other restaurant) we were quite shocked at the time as our friends suggest we wont need a starter as the portion sizes were quite good.
We asked for more vegetables as we would have finished it in less than a minute and a small bowl of mixed veg arrived later (priced at and extra £3)
We were not asked at any time if were were happy with the meal and were clearly not !
After we paid the bill we told the waiter we were really not happy with the poor amount of food we were served , compared to our friends who couldn't eat all theirs, to be told nobody has complained before and they were not interested in the feed back.

We wont ever go back and neither of our friends would either after the poor way the waiter dealt with the situation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ultraleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at The Albert Square Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review we have passed your comments onto the kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I know its a "chop house" but we went with friends for Sunday lunch and our main meal was so small it would fit on a saucer with not veg or chips to go with it (for £12).

Our friends ordered "traditional" Sunday lunch and had a whole chicken, roast potatoes massive Yorkshire puddings and 2 dishes of veg. Our choice was almost the same price and we had eaten it in less than 2 minutes (and that was dragging it out)

It tasted ok but it isn't acceptable to offer such poor veggie options these days and especially poor for us to to leave hungry

we did complain that our "starter" was way too small but we were dismissed with "no one has complained before" and they didn't want our feedback (this was after we paid including the included service charge) we did get an apology through gritted teeth but that was it.
A pity we felt so short changed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cheshire159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at The Albert Square Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and we have passed your comments onto out kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great central location. near the townhall. Nice ambiance. Extensive menu of quality fresh local produce. Not cheap but well worth the money. Very good selection of wines

Thank McCreery-Morbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at The Albert Square Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert Square Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Albert Square Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing