We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, healthy and delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffran

Saffran
Ranked #1,257 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: SAFFRAN restaurant at The Trafford Centre is pleasantly located in the quiet area of the booming shopping mall. It’s in The Great Hall, which makes for a peaceful sit-down dining experience away from the hustle & bustle of people walking out of the shops and fast food joints.Our philosophy is to serve amazingly fresh and delicious food while sticking to a practices of making sure every single dish is as healthy as possible to reach goals of healthy lifestyle and overall well being. Our Tandoori clay oven makes our food just iresistible. Even Andrew Parkinson, a valued member of the Jamie Oliver Team visited SAFFRAN and got introduced to the concept and food. To make a long story short he was very impressed and in his own words “SAFFRAN is nothing but amazing!”
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good value, healthy and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday evening after seeing a film, and were seated straight away. The restaurant is very open to the joys/noise of the Trafford Centre but that is reflected in the price of the menu. Sauvignon Blanc house white was chilled and delicious. We went for Piri-Piri chicken and Chicken and Red Onion skewers, with a variety of sides including sweet baked potato, rice and salad. All fresh and cooked beautifully. Staff members checked back, which always pleases me. We both cleared our plates, its fab to be able to get stuck in without worrying about the calorie count! We will return for a casual mid-week bite to eat, wouldn't go for a special occassion as I like a varied wine list and a bit of privacy when I splash out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    9
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Simply the worst culinary experience we have had the misfortune to experience in recent memory. Went with an Amazon deal and a good chunk of the menu was unavailable, we thought the food was delayed then the main course arrived before the starters! The staff had simply forgotten to bring them. The food served was poor, unappetising and tasteless. Think pre-washed salad and cremated chicken, poorly presented and you're about there. Definitely not worth the effort, work rather go to KFC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterJulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“An overall terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This had to be the worst restaurant experience I've ever had. A lot of the menu was not available, kept waiting for about an hour, food very poor and service poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IanDunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So So at Saffron”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked this restaurant as a Groupon offer.Following booking we heard bad reports about the food but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised.
Quite a few things were unavailable off the menu and some things were not as we ordered.
However, when our food arrived it was tasty and we enjoyed it.
We ordered extra from what was on the offer and had starters of Teriyaki chicken and Garlic Bread with cheese.
Tandori chicken and Chicken Nan with Garlic sauce.
We had sides of salad,corn on the cob and flat bread.
The negatives to the meal was the service was poor.The waiters were lovely but there was only two on and we waited ages for our order to be taken and waited half an hour for our starters and some of our order was unavailable or wrong.
It was busy for a Wednesday evening and only two staff on.
There was only house white wine which fortunately we enjoyed but could annoy some people.
The restaurant needs to sort the service out as it's a shame because we had a nice meal but the service affected the experience.
I would go again if the service improved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dangermouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Read up about this place in the Trafford centre as we have a tastecard and the reviews were very promising. We went to the great hall to book in for about 2 hours in advance but on arrival we were greeted with an abrupt : sorry but Tastecard requires an 24hrs advance booking only, but if we were not so busy, I would have sat you down now.
All well and good, but on the Tastecard website there is no mention of this 24 Hr period or anything to indicate anything other than to phone ahead. also they were not busy at all with it being only 3.30pm and plenty of tables avalible at the time. With the responce we had I would try other venues like La tasca etc which have a far superior customer sevice level and you are guarented to enjoy your meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffran also viewed

Ainsworth, Bury
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Saffran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing