We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean friendly hotel close to main railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Travelled to Manchester by train for one night's stay. This newish Premier Inn is only 5 minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly train station so was ideal.
Room was very clean and of adequate size. Good bathroom. 30 min free Wi-Fi allowed, maybe a bigger allowance would be nice.
Staff were very friendly and helpful e.g. early check in (although I would prefer talking to people rather than using a terminal), reception staff genuinely wishing us a nice stay, quick and cheerful service at breakfast, luggage stored at no charge after check out. A clever touch was a poster in the lifts advising when the quiet and busy periods were at breakfast.
Breakfast was excellent with good range of fruit, cereal and cooked items and special orders available.
£135 for a Saturday night B&B in city centre was neither cheap nor exorbitant

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompeyMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent feedback on the hotel at Piccadilly.

Wonderful too see the location suited your needs and our services were enjoyed.

The check inn machines are queue management technique to help support a quick and easy check inn through those peak times. With 80% of our bookings being online the machines need little information so that you can get to your room with ease. We certainly don't use them to take that personal touch away from our welcome and would not push any our guests to process through them if uncomfortable. The team will always be at hand to facilitate your check inn and ensure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay in Manchester.

We hope to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,098 - 2,104 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Do not understand why this hotel has such a high rating?
- The room was clean, but simple!
- The breakfast was lacking, but decent.
- Central location.
- Friendly and helpful staff who did their best!
- Incredibly bad check inn. why use a machine, when there is staff present?
- the hotel has no atmosphere, it's just a place to sleep!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ProfessorTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel. At Piccadilly Premier Inn our purpose is to ensure that you have a brilliant night stay with us and it comforts seeing your comments on our service.

The check inn machines are queue management technique to help support a quick and easy check inn through those peak times. With 80% of our bookings being online the machines need little information so that you can get to your room with ease. We certainly don't use them to take that personal touch away from our welcome and would not push any our guests to process through them if uncomfortable. The team will always be at hand to facilitate your check inn.

We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

How this hotel can be rated as no 4 i do not understand. The rooms are clean, beds are ok and the service is good. But still you dont feel well, the "soul" is missing. Breakfast is not more than average, like the rest. Check inn is a machine, togheter with helpfull staff you get checked inn. But way not do it with people instead of a machine since they still are there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 1959late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel. At Piccadilly Premier Inn our purpose is to ensure that you have a brilliant night stay with us and it comforts seeing your comments on our service.

The check inn machines are queue management technique to help support a quick and easy check inn through those peak times. With 80% of our bookings being online the machines need little information so that you can get to your room with ease. We certainly don't use them to take that personal touch away from our welcome and would not push any our guests to process through them if uncomfortable. The team will always be at hand to facilitate your check inn.

We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Fantastic, cannot fault this hotel. Would not hesitate to stay here again, I have stayed in other more expensive hotels when visiting Manchester in the past, but due to being straight after Christmas thought we would go for the cheaper option. How glad we were! Will pick this hotel every time in the future, for rooms and food quality this has everything you would get in a more expensive hotel. Was so pleasantly surprised, I won't be making the mistake of overpaying in the non-budget hotels anymore! Thank you so much for a great break PI!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel and we brought you to our budget chain with pleasure. Myself and the teams purpose is to ensure that you have a brilliant night stay with us and it certainly puts a smile on our face when we see that we achieved this.

Brilliant to see that our location suited the needs of your trip and you enjoyed your break in Manchester with our support. We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Brand new hotel by the historic Piccadilly Basin, an upcoming area, and very close to Piccadilly station so great for travelling to events, theatre etc and the airport (with good early morning rail service, its more convenient than at the airport itself)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bladeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel and that our location suited the needs of your trip. We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked this hotel for a short stay and looking on the map found it was very close to Piccadilly Station. It is 5 minutes from the main station and so is a great location. The room was 'tired' having a large piece of plaster missing from the wall, the soap dispenser in the bath was faulty and although spoons were provided when we arrived - for the tea and coffee the following day they were missing, but they had given us two extra mugs!! interesting but no spoons. The bed was made every day, but I am not sure the room was cleaned as the towels were left exactly where I had left them. For the price of the room it was okay - if I had paid a lot (more than 29) I would have complained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solo279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel although it seems that we have failed your stay on ensuring you have a brilliant night stay.

I would like to apologise for the poor repair of your room as this certainly not what we aim for. We like to ensure that all maintenance is repaired before being released back for sale, so that you have a comfortable room to stay in. I will look into this with the team to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is hard to beat this hotel for its location - particularly if you are visiting Manchester by train. Out of Piccadilly station, drop your case off and within minutes you can be in the city centre, or at one of the universities. Similarly the customer service is superb, with friendly and helpful staff who make you feel genuinely welcome, and remind you of why you like coming to Manchester!

The hotel is clean and modern with large, comfortable rooms in the usual Premier Inn livery. Although I was only on the first floor, the soundproofing was excellent and I heard no noise from the railway or the busy road. I was particularly impressed by the bathroom which was decorated to a very high specification. The only slight disappointment was the bed, which I didn't find particularly comfortable and is perhaps not the the typical Hpynos bed typically found in Premier Inns?

All in all, this hotel offers great value and a warm welcome, and is now at the top of my list of places to stay in Manchester!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel.

Fantastic to see that we made your first stay to Manchester a memorable one. The team will be delighted to see your comments and a credit to work with.

The beds in the hotel are all standard Hypnos beds so apologies in advance that they didn't seem to match the usual comfort. If you would like to contact the hotel to let us know your room number we will certainly have a look to check the quality and thank you for this feedback.

We wish you all the best for 2014 and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $65 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing