We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night's sleep.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level Contributor
411 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Good night's sleep.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the high quality of comfort and service at this new hotel, as I have experienced much variability across this chain. The room, on the ninth floor, was spacious, with sofa/extra bed. The bed was comfortable and the range of pillows on offer meant that I had exactly what I needed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with decent towels. They guaranteed a good night's sleep and this happened for me- no noises in the corridor or externally. The breakfast staff were welcoming and efficient. There was a good choice of cooked food (although the scrambled eggs were very diluted and overcooked), and one could also order porage and omelettes. Efficient toasting machine and good range of pastries and juices. My one gripe is that there was no fresh decaffeinated coffee on offer- only sachets of instant. This applied to the bar, also. There is no excuse for this- they had state of the art coffee making machines, but no facility for making fresh decaff coffee. Come on, Premier Inns, please do something about this!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Brilliant to see that we have delivered high quality of comfort and service with our hotel on your recent visit to us. It will be great to feedback to the team that your bed was comfortable and the range of pillows on offer meant that you had exactly what you needed.

We pride ourselves at ensuring our rooms stay as clean and spotless as the day we opened and guarantee a good night's sleep. Thank you for your feedback and compliments in us delivering this to you.

We hope to see you on any return trip to Manchester in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    675
    133
    33
    25
See reviews for
512
807
159
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very nice central hotel, staff were friendly. Only problems we had was no iron/ironing board were available on check in which we did need! And also the bar did not open until 12pm midday when we wanted a cold drink which we were unaware of, within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh_4534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and that you had a nice stay whilst with us.

In terms of our bar, the opening times are from 12 midday, however, it is serviced and ready from early hours. So we are able to serve drinks still for you but not manned until 12. We do have our front of house team in our restaurant area all morning. We concentrate on delivering our breakfast service early hours and open at twelve midday were we have found it is more requested from our guests. We like to deliver consistency in service and have set serving times to suit guest demands. Alternatively we do have drinks machines in the reception area available 24/7.

We thank you again for your feedback and look forward that on any return trips to Manchester you choose us to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends over a Saturday night when we were all meeting in Manchester for a weekend trip. We had 2 rooms on the first floor and were generally very happy with them: the bed was comfy, everything looked clean and the shower was very good - and they are my main requirements of a hotel for a weekend away!
Staff at Reception were friendly, but they weren't always there (eg around 12 midday on a Sunday, when a lot of people wanted to check out!). We hadn't booked the breakfast option, but the continental breakfast was a very good deal for £5.50ish, and I liked that you could opt out of the cooked stuff (which I don't like.) The food was plentiful, and delicious and was available until gone 11, when it supposedly shut. The restaurant itself was nice and bright, and was buzzing on a Sunday morning.
The price was quite expensive, but I suppose that's to be expected from a city centre Premier Inn - we all arrived on the train and the proximity to the train station couldn't really have been better! It was quiet and we slept well.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms facing the back street would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manger at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. Fantastic to see that your needs were met within the hotel and you had a great nights sleep.

In terms of our unmanned reception we have reviewed this after our current weekend. We have peak weekends and large amount of luggage for arrival and departure that is requested to be stored and this has resulted in us having to step away from reception. Our luggage room does not have capacity to store the amount we take so we also use a service room - going forward we are going to ensure there is an extra person over peak checkout so that we always have some one available so we can still provide our additional great service of holding luggage for you so that you can go do that extra bit of shopping or sightseeing around the city done. Apologies that this happened on your stay and comforts me knowing that we have highlighted this to ourselves also.

Thank you again for your comments as we like to improve our service were at ever possible and without great feedback form yourself we would not have this to work on. We hope to see you on any return trip to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

A clean modern Premier Inn, probably one of the best Premier Inn that I have stayed at. It was very clean and modern.

The staff in the bar need training though. They do not stay behind the bar, they seem to congregate at the reception in an evening which is out of view of the bar. This means that if you want serving you have to get someones attention before you can get served. No apology for keeping you waiting. One female bar person served me while chewing a straw. Not a big problem, but when they have kept you stood there for ten minutes without appearing - its not great.

As the hotel accommodation goes - you can not fault it!

Room Tip: Top floor views are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Your compliments on your stay are greatly received by the team and myself.

We work incredibly hard to ensure you have a comfortable stay and your comments regarding our service on the bar will be looked into as we certainly don't expect to have to chase staff for a drink. So sincere apologies this happened on your visit.

Fantastic to see your feedback as we certainly like to review our service for improvements. We will hopefully see you on any return trip to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and the room was generous and very clean! Lovely atmosphere in the bar and staff very friendly and helpful! Would sat here again :-) negative reviews aren't true as this is a great location and very quiet, I had a very good night sleep and I'm a light sleeper. Thank you again :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel and wonderful to see you had a great stay with us.

We aim to ensure every guest has a brilliant night stay with us, it delights myself and team that we achieved this for you. I will certainly pass this back to the team.

We will hopefully see you on any return trip to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Looks like all other Premier Inns I guess (I don't usually stay in Premier Inns though), which was rather bland and characterless. For a 'new' hotel it felt very dated.

Room cost represented poor value for money (£93 per night). Plus £3 for Internet access.

Sound insulation was awful for a 'new' hotel - I could hear virtually everything outside and was woken very early by the dustmen(?).

The heating system is very badly designed. It blows hot air straight out at 8 feet above the ground, this means if you at not stood up (i.e. sat down) it feels cold, but the top of the curtains at the far end of the room are really hot! Tip: hot air rises, push the hot downwards so it rises - people generally populate the floor rather than the ceiling.

There simply must be much better hotels in Manchester at this price.

Room Tip: Try a room at the top of the hotel and facing away from the road to try to avoid the noise from outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel.

Myself and team work really hard and are dedicated to making sure that every guest has a great night sleep with us and I apologise that on this occasion that we don't seem to have lived up to your expectation.

Our value for money remains competitive to the rest of the city and with our online offers from £29.00 we can't be beaten on cost. We do promote early booking to ensure you get the best value for your stay.

In terms of our heating system design I will happily pass your comments to our new openings team. The system is designed to circulate the air at all levels so the temperature is a consistent level through out your room. Apologises that on this stay we made you uncomfortable.

Please if you wish to voice any further feedback contact the team and we will happily listen to any feedback especially were we can improve our service to you. I hope this does not stop you choosing the brand in the near future. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed overnight and couldn't fault the place at all. Ideal location just around the corner from Manchester Piccadilly Station. Very helpful staff let us check in early and looked after our bags for the day we checked out. Did not eat there, but breakfast was available at extra cost. Had afternoon tea which was fine in the bar. Very clean rooms and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on your overnight stay. Brilliant to see you had great value and that our location suited your needs.

The staff will be delighted with your comments on there helpfulness and the pride in work keeping the hotel as fresh as the day it opened was recognised on your stay.

It will be great to see you return back to the hotel on your next stay in Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing