We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel but not a budget experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was ideally located near the station and city centre. The room was a good size and it was very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and gave good general information on the city centre. Breakfast was good value and as it went to 11.30am, it allowed us to sleep in.

I will definitely stay here again if in manchester.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBabrovskie, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

I am glad to read that your stay with us was a good one, thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,430 - 2,436 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ideally placed, not far from the railway station and easy walk to the city centre. A new Premier Inn, so everything pristine. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Can't fault it, except perhaps for the bed being very firm, but that might suit some.
Good choice at breakfast and attractive eating areas in the restaurant.

Room Tip: A tall building, so ask for a lower floor room if you don't want to be right up at the top, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBabrovskie, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thankyou for sharing your thoughts after your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that our hotel and team helped make your stay a pleasant one, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here before a 2 week trip around Turkey, so I've recently stayed in a lot of hotels. While this wasn't as picturesque as some of our Turkish hotels our room was extremely well designed and appointed. Obviously Premier Inns have learnt the lessons of what travellers need in a hotel room and everything you needed was to hand. Great bed, good room sound-proofing, and overall good hotel security made for a great stay, Free 24 hour wi-fi would be the only improvement I could think of.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBabrovskie, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts around our hotel. I am so happy to read that you found the rooms to your liking. We certainly do listen to our guests, and strive to fulfill their expectations in terms of product and service, It is always pleasing to hear from guests when we get it right! We look forward to welcoming you back to Manchester for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is great, near the train station and Picadilly Gardens. Also the room is nice with windows that open and an excellent bathroom. I stayed in room 714 which has a decent view over the canal and car park.

Unfortunately the bed is very poor, hard and you can feel the springs digging into you. The bed simply doesn't have any upholstery to speak of, there's very little between the outer fabric and a few hard springs. I've had this problem in another Premier Inn so I guess it's a corporate problem. I don't believe it's a question of cost as the beds at Holiday Inns are always comfortable, so Premier Inn should be able to afford decent beds also.

The other problem was the heating. When I arrived it was comfortable and I could turn the temperature up and down. During the night I couldn't sleep because I was too cold and the room heater didn't respond to any adjustments. In the morning there was lots of warm air from the heater. So... The hotel is turning the heating down at night, you think you have control via the thermostat but you don't. It only works when the gods think you deserve some heating.

I only stayed one night so I didn't want to get up in the middle of the night to complain. Another problem is that the hotel doesn't seem to do twin rooms. Twin rooms have the advantage that a single traveller can always swap beds if one is uncomfortable or borrow the quilt from the second bed if the room is too cold.

Lastly, although the hotel was well soundproofed from outside noise the interior contruction is very poor. I could hear my neighbours going to the toilet and even turning on the taps. Fortunately all the guests were well behaved so it wasn't a problem, but I'd be wary of staying at weekends.

All the members of staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast (I had continental) was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great stay at the hotel last week. It is very new and everything is pristine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is superb as it is two minutes from Piccadilly Station. It is very convenient for walking to the main shops and for going out for meals at the Northern Quarter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBabrovskie, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Anna060, thanks for taking the time to post comments following your recent stay with us. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Manchester, and sincerley hope that you choose to stay with us next time you are in our great city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here on business 1st May and can't praise the hotal and staff enough.

Room spotless , bar excellent, girl who checked us in early a real delight and professional, bar staff spot on and receptive and same can be said about the staff at breakfast.

Breakfast was very good and if there was one downside, bitter ran out after a few pints !!

Well done to all the staff and i will definately stay here again

Room Tip: Book early for best discounted rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seandonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBabrovskie, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay. It's always nice to know that we have fulfilled guests expectations, please accept my apologies regarding the lack of Bitter, I will ensure this is fed back to our Bar Manager for reference. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed at two other Premier Inn's in Manchester, and this one IS THE BEST.

The building is brand new, having only opened in October 2012, with well over 1000 rooms.

It really is a stone's throw from Piccadilly train station, so well handy if you want to stop over in between travelling.

Check in was very easy, all computerised with staff on hand to help, and to tell you about their good night guarantee and at what time brekkie is!!!!! All you do is put your reservation number in and your details come up, then confirm the details and your key card(s) come out at the bottom, really easy,

As with many Premier Inn's this one was secure. You couldn't go any further, I.E where the lift's were situated without using your key card, and even on the floor where your room is, you get out of the lift and there is another door where you have to use your card.

We were on the eighth floor, and technically at the back of the hotel. From here you could view the road from the train station, but you are not directly on it. There is a road running to the left of the hotel, not very noisy, but then I compare that to the Premier Inn on Portland Street which is on a main road and very noisy. We didn't hear any traffic noise nor people walking past at all hours, which you do get at other Premier Inn's in Manchester.

The room was brill. Everything you expect from Premier Inn. Nice clean room, light and airy and a bonus was, the window opened!!! Yeay, you can't beat fresh air.

Nice flat screen T.V plenty of room to hang clothes/ coats and tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of pillows and the bed was comfy.

Bathroom was clean, plenty of towels, and shower gel and hand soap in a dispenser was also provided. The shower was good, a proper power shower over a bath, so if you have little one's. there is the option.

Another nice little touch I liked was, to access the power, you have to put your key card into a slot near the door. Very eco friendly!!!!!

We had breakfast the next day which is always worth the money, and it didn't let us down. We had the "full breakfast" and you get to help yourself. Bacon, eggs ( they will cook them how you like them!!!) sausage, hash browns, beans, toms, mushrooms, cereal, toast, muffins, the list is endless you really shouldn't leave hungry!!!!!! Nice restaurant where breakfast was served, very clean and laid out nicely.

Staff were very friendly, from the check in staff, the cleaning staff to the breakfast waiters all were very much on hand to help.

The only "gripe" and it is a tiny one, is we came back in the early hours 1am ish, and we thought the bar would still be open, but the security guy said it was closed, we should have checked before we left, perhaps we didn't need that extra drink after all!!!!

All in all I would rate this hotel 100%, would recommend it to anyone, and as we frequent Manchester a lot, we will definitely stay here again. Thank You Premier Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Our room on the eighth floor was quiet, with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DobbyDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickBabrovskie, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post such a complimentary review of your recent stay with us at Piccadilly. It is really nice to be able to feedback to the team that guests enjoy their time with us and that the hard work the team put in is really appreciated. We hope you come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $68 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing