We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

TGI Fridays Manchester Royal Exchange
Ranked #327 of 2,296 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service was excellant, choice on menu catered for all tastes meat to veggie.not too long to wait forfood delivered to table by pleasant waiter., tasty and filling no room for dessert

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    145
    101
    50
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant during a stay in Manchester recently. We were seated straight away and a waiter took our drinks order. We waited for around ten minutes until we received our drinks and then he took our food order. The food came pretty fast and we where both happy with our meals which where both filling and tasty with good portions. The atmosphere in the place was also pretty cool and it was packed with diners. I would definitely recommend this restaurant but the service could be a little better but overall I was glad we dined here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olliejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Manager needed on floor LAZY STAFF”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Came to this TGIs for my mums Birthday, she had asked over the phone for a table of 8, they said they don't take reservations but we would be fine as a Tues night wouldn't be busy. Came to the restaurant, table for 8 please, sorry we've no 8s available, we have 2x 4 or its a 45 minute wait. Bear in mind its a Tues night, there was definately tables available, in fact 2 that we could see that just hadn't been cleared. Being a waitress myself I didn't want to make a fuss, thought they're uselessness would subside, we got a drink at the bar. We could see the waitresses strolling around taking as much time as possible to get the table ready. Eventually we were seated, order was taken, food arrived in reasonable time, etc, I only had chiicken fingers which I already new was an average meal so no complaints. We were sat on one of the big tables near the front doors, the host wasn't stationed for the majority of the 2 hours we were there. Constantly people was walking in and being confused as to if they should wait or go to the bar etc as they weren't greeted by any member of staff. When the waitress was hosting, most of the time it was in between gossiping with another waitress on shift. It also has to be said that the two tables I saw as available but uncleared when we came in at 8pm were still dirty at 9pm with staff chatting and constantly walking past it, as I said I am a waitress myself, it wasn't busy there was no need for dirty tables near the restauarant entrance. Eventually at 9pm a waiter cleared both tables but didn't set them, 9.30pm the host set one of them, at 10pm we left and the second table was stiill unset, 2 hours later. It was constantly difficult to get staff attention for more drinks, when I know they should have actively been upselling to us. Also, the hose came over to our table mid meal and asked if we were the Mrs xxxx party and that they had been saving a table for us, sorry for the confusion and having to go to the bar. Obviously if said host had have been on the stand when we arrived she would have been able to sort this instead of someone telling us we'd no booking.
I love the food in TGIs in general but in future I will definately try to avoid this particular branch and would not reccommend it to anyone. There didn't appear to be a Manager on the floor so the staff were just strolling around, chatting, and being useless, direction is needed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lizshaw456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great food - what can be expected from any other TGI restaurant. Staff were really friendly and efficient, great atmosphere. Would suggest being seated away from the front door as it can often jam open letting in a draft.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammy_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“brrr chilly”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I do love this chain - i go in any TGI Fridays when we are near one and have never had a bad experience in any of their establishments. Their food as your would expect it ( exactly what it says on the menu) .

I dont particularly go in for the food its the Cocktails i go for, ive been in many bars at varying ends of the price scale and i find TGI's always one of the best places to grab a drink, sit at the bar and taste what the mixologists can create.

The bar staff are usually always friendly and not overly in your face, and think they get it right almost every time.

My only complaint and as superficial as this is it impacted on the experience i had.. we were sat near the bar the resteraunt wasnt too busy few people in the back, we were sat near the front door.

There is a vestabule between 2 glass doors, the main ones that were open constantly, and the interior doors which were closed when we arrived but open from halfway through our stay.

We asked the doors to be closed a couple of times, and i understand that this was not the fault of the staff that worked there, as custoemrs were coming in, however it was freezing we had to put our jackets on half way through the meal. This really detracted from the experience. i dont enjoy sitting wrapped up to eat or drink.

When the door was closed the tempreture returned to normal eventually. however this happened constantly, jackets on jackets off. If the place had been busier, or if we had been sat further a back this would not have been as bad.

We werent right next to the door if people had been sitting in booth 1 i can imagine it would have been worse.

This is clearly a design flaw in the way in which this place has been put together may i suggest a windbreaker of sorts to keep out the cold air when the doors open, or automatic internal doors. which would close when people came in.

I wont visit this resertaunt again and be seat where i was.

so pick your own seat rather than being told where to sit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingeinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Fridays Manchester Royal Exchange also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to TGI Fridays Manchester Royal Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing