We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktail bar, above average restaurant”
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Ranked #77 of 2,274 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A modern bar/restaurant: A celebration of the unconventional, dark and controversial! Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cocktail bar, above average restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The atmosphere at the Alchemist is truly immersive with bottles and glasses shaped like lab equipment and vials. The cocktails (including their custom styled ones) are very good, albeit low on the alcohol content.

I ate there with my girlfriend and she was very happy with her meal. I found mine to be good, but I wouldn't say it was the best ever.

I had as desert their special affogato, which like another TripAdvisor review mentioned is quite special. I recommend it not just for its taste but for its presentation.

It's more of a friends place than a romantic restaurant though, but certainly good enough for both.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Empiresfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    355
    114
    49
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Alchemist, Manchester”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A classy bar, great atmosphere - relaxed when it's quiet and vibrant when it's busy. Decor looks great too. The cocktails are something special, made by highly skilled bartenders. Decent wine list too. Try it, you won't be disappointed...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Strangest cocktails in Town!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited the bar after having a meal with the girlies elsewhere. It was early evening so was probably not as busy as it would be later on. That said these cocktails are unique and it certainly takes time to make them. The drinks menu is huge and there are some very strange sounding drinks on there! We found a place along the bar edge to wait in turn for service, and wait we did! I'd say it was almost half an hour before we got served! That said, whilst waiting we got to watch the waiters creating these wonderfully wacky concoctions. Just as it was coming up to our turn to be served some very rude men started to complain that they had been waiting ages (not as long as us) and all they wanted was a beer. Thankfully our waiter knew his drills and and had to tell those men to wait patiently as other people had been waiting longer than them, regardless of what they wanted. Some of his colleagues mustn't have agreed though as one had a snide comment to make. Believe me I would have had something to say if he had served them first! Perhaps they should have one position at the bar for serving just beer & wine? Or rather, those who want 'just a beer' why not go to just any old pub?

The barman was very skilful, making these cocktails is an art! Sorry Tom Cruise, but these guys beat you hands down ha ha! Drinks were worth the wait and the atmosphere was good too. Smells a bit like a science lab but I guess that is all part of the experience! Only stayed for the one though due to time. They do food here too, but unfortunately we didn't get to look at the menu - maybe next time . . .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Drinks menu extensive”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Came here for a drink aftergoing to the cinama the place is lit with candles and is dark and it's a little difficult to see the drinks menu as it is in Gold, we had two Passion Fruit Mojito's which were very good, great place but rather noisey. Would like to go back and try some food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sexyrexyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cocktails and breakfast!!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Have been to this bar several times and love it ! Went on Friday evening with my husband and we had several weird but wonderful cocktails! The bar staff are very creative,extremely friendly and fun to watch as they whizz up some fantastic looking cocktails! Called in the following morning for a full English and double strength coffees! Again very professional and friendly staff and breakfast was delicious! Was tempted to follow it up with another wonderful creation from the cocktail bar but thought better of it as we had shopping to do!!! Definitely recommend this bar - good for night or days out with friends, family lunch or dinner and cocktails and breakfast with the other half!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing