We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whim Wham Cafe - CLOSED

The Whim Wham Cafe
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was really looking forward to visiting the Whim Wham Cafe as I had heard lots of good things. I visited on a Saturday afternoon for lunch and was really dissapointed. I ordered the Autumn Veg Stew, when it came lots of the veg were rock hard, when I told the waitress she said she would ask the chef why, On returning I was told that "as these were root veg they are supposed to be on the crunchy side". I am sure anyone would agree that a hard butternut squash or sweet potato is inedible. Also it was freezing cold inside, myself and my partner were sat in our coats.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigshop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotpoteater, Owner at The Whim Wham Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are sorry that your experience at The Whim Wham Cafe was unsatisfactory. We strive to achieve a high standard with our food and drink and work extremely hard to ensure that every guest experiences this. We acknowledged at the time that the vegetable dish that you were served, off our daily Specials menu, was not up to our usual high standard and for this reason did not charge you for your meal, which we hope went some way to make up for this. We do hope that your partner enjoyed their meal.

With regards the temperature, we have had some heating issues over the beginning of the cold months. This is our first autumn/winter at Arch 64 and we are working hard to get to grips with the drop in temperature outside and our ability to heat the space sufficiently with the heating system that we have inherited – we are looking into other heating options to ensure our guests are comfortable.

You say that you have heard lots of good things about us, and we too have received an overwhelmingly positive response from our guests. We are extremely regretful that you could not walk away from your visit talking about a positive experience and would love for you to come back and try our other menu options. Please do make yourself known to us should you return - we would very much welcome the opportunity to give you the proper experience of The Whim Wham Cafe.

Alix and Jessie (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to the Whim Wham Cafe for food before catching a train and had an excellent meal all served promptly allowing us to catch the train in good time. The music and decor complemented each other well and were a welcome change to the generic 'bar' soundtrack and look. The food was the highlight though... Interesting local ingredients and flavour combinations cooked perfectly. Keep up the good work.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Different for me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had no idea what to expect when a friend booked this during a girlie weekend in Manchester, after initial unsure reaction when we walked in, it turned out to be a very pleasant experience. Food was fab chicken pie mash and peas it was delicious. Gin cocktails were lovely if a little expensive. Would definitely recommend to friends,a different but very enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank mandyl451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good cocktails uninspired decor and beers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great gin cocktails, and the food is above average. Sadly this place is let down by a very uninspired & overpriced beer fridge. Ok, so there's loads of uk/local beers there but when UK is at its height in craft brewing and new techniques they stock bland beartown! ok red willow is better but.. still get your act together guys.
Service isn't great, but the cocktails are good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkEmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food but let down by service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My partner had been to the Whim Wham Café for drinks the previous week and was impressed by the atmosphere and the uniqueness of the place. We were keen to try the food as the menu seemed to be a twist on British cuisine.

As it was just the two of us they gave us a small table next to the entrance, handed us the menu and then forgot about us for the next 20 minutes or so. Eventually we were asked what drink we wanted. We were in a position to order drinks and our food at the same time by that stage so we did. The drinks and starter came promptly. Both were very good, though I would question the amount of gin they put in their gin cocktails. The main followed almost immediately once they had cleared the table. The main was a generous amount of food and very tasty. Once we had finished and they had cleared the table we were asked whether we wanted the dessert menu. We worked out that we ended up waited about 40 minutes for the menu to arrive and that was after having asked 3 different people for one. The dessert was brought out quickly once we had ordered it, and again it was delicious.

We ended up spending about £35+ and considering there were at least 4 people serving I would have expected better service. Granted the place was full, but it isn't the biggest location I have been to. What annoyed me most was that I could see them chatting at the bar a lot so you couldn't say that they were busy with other tables.

I would say beyond doubt that the food was lovely, but the service was definitely lacking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MancWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotpoteater, Owner at The Whim Wham Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the The Whim Wham Café. We strive to achieve a high standard with our food and drink and are pleased that you enjoyed your meals.

We also make every effort to ensure that all guests receive a high level of service and for this reason it is with regret that we read how you were let down on your visit.

We are a relatively new independent eatery and had been training a new team at the time you arrived, as you say we were very busy at the time of your visit and our standard of service to your table slipped below what it should have been.

We hope that you will return to visit us for another meal and some cocktails – our staff would be happy to talk you through the gins we stock and ingredients in the cocktails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whim Wham Cafe also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing