We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktail Bar”
Review of The Violet Hour - CLOSED

The Violet Hour
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Next to Canadian Charcoal Pit in West Didsbury. Opened 25/05/12
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cocktail Bar”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a quiet drink, or a more low key atmosphere in Didsbury, this bar is a real find. The range of cocktails is impressive and diverse. It is a small place, so seating can be difficult to find at times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at The Violet Hour, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the review! Just finished our cocktail list rewrite which will be going live in 3 weeks so keep your eyes peeled for that. We've also recently put an extra table downstairs and this week the front windows are being replaced by bi-folding doors so there'll be space to drink al-fresco as well! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great looking bar but freezing!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great looking, very inviting cool and chic bar. We went on quite a cold evening which is pretty usual for Manchester but the place was freezing. It was a Friday evening at 7pm and everyone was sat there in their coats. There were no radiators and an air-con/heater over the bar which was off. Why are so many bars like this? Bars are supposed to be warm relaxing places! Ok, rant over, the place did look really nice and they'd obviously made lots of effort in creating a great ambiance. Although another gripe is that most most of the tables in the rear room had Reserved cards on which would make me think twice about going there at a weekend because most of the tables could be reserved. I think this bar could be great and I'll definitely head back there to give it another go. In the summer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at The Violet Hour, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi there, thanks so much for the review. I think you're dead right, it was cold at times over the winter. Quite simply we didn't get the temperature right!! But towards the end of the winter we made a few tweaks to the climate control system AND I had the fire in the ground floor snug restored....all too late for the winter just gone but this next one should be just toasty!!
Also the reserved signs...sorry if you struggled for a table, we do take reservations but try to limit it a little, especially on a Friday & Saturday evening.
So see you soon and I promise this winter you'll be able to drink without having to keep a coat and scarf on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good cocktail menu!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Violet Hour is a stylish bar on trendy Burton Road. The cocktail list is fantastic! Lots of unusual choices as well as classics. Open till late at weekends. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3intrepidtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at The Violet Hour, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the review - new cocktail list going live in 3 weeks!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worse service in Didsbury.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Waited at the bar for ten minutes and got ignored by all bar staff for the whole time. People around us and behind us and after us got served but not us. We didn't even get acknowledged, and it wasn't that busy. It seems like you get special treatment if you know the bar staff, if your a stranger then forget it, you get blanked, even by the manager! He didn't even have the decency to say someone will be with us in a minute, he just ignored us and served all his mates around us. Won't be going there again in a hurry. #rude

Helpful?
1 Thank kakeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at The Violet Hour, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review the bar. Truly sorry you had a bad experience the night you came, we really do hope things like this don't happen too often as myself and all the staff hate it if guests leave unhappy. Hope that at some point you decide to give us another chance and pop in again for a drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Glad to have discovered it!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stylish but not pretentious, The Violet Hour takes its job seriously but not itself! Decor is tasteful with a few humorous touches and the atmosphere laidback. The staff is well trained and friendly. I love a place with a good selection of gin and an inventive cocktail menu and I wasn't disappointed but you can just as easily get a decent pint. The staff is well trained and friendly. I can imagine this becoming a firm favourite on future visits to Didsbury.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at The Violet Hour, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi there, just a quick note to say thank you for taking the time to write a kind review, delighted that you liked the bar and our cocktail menu, hope to see you back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Violet Hour also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing