We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Restaurant with Quirky Meals Named after Bollywood Stars!”
Review of Bollywood Masala

Bollywood Masala
Ranked #525 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bollywood Masala is the winner of multiple awards such as the Restaurant of the Year 2014 North West Manchester by Asian curry Awards and English Curry Awards. Bollywood Masala is a new concept which combines the heady cultural colours and extravagance of the Bollywood film industry with the aromas and flavorous of the cuisines of the Indian subcontinent with a fusion of western tastes. With this Restaurant we have modernized Indian cuisine taking it to its next level yet still keeping its authentic flavorous approached in a contemporary fusion manner with different accents from around the world added to dishes making this visit a unique experience.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant with Quirky Meals Named after Bollywood Stars!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of Deansgate in the shadow of the towering Hilton. This restaurant is a must for lovers of spice, Pakistani/Indian cuisine.
The menu consists of traditional dishes but the management
have gone a step further and created unique quirky dishes named after Bollywood stars. This adds a lot of fun to choosing the dishes and a learning experience for those who are not fully knowledgable in the world of Bollywood.
Portions are very generous. Food is fresh and succulent - spiced according to personal taste. Bollywood mixed starter is perfect for two - with a bit of everything. Fish karahi, Amitabh and Sri Devi are popular and perfectly cooked everytime I dine!
Desert menu is a little limited - but is truly made up by the quality of the food available - after eating starters and mains you really won't have the space for desert! However, I was informed by the staff that more items were to be added to the deserts menu.
Staff are very friendly, welcoming, attentive and knowledgable.
Atmosphere is relaxed. Never too loud or too quiet. Perfect for a date or family or even versatile for a large group.
Price is very reasonable given the fact that this restaurant is located in the heart of Deansgate. This restaurant also accepts Tastecard giving a whopping 50% food items!!
Parking is available on street (note that controlled zone is operational until 8pm seven days a week except bank holidays). There is nearby NCP parking.
All in all a great restaurant perfect for a unique spiced up city centre dining experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jav_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BollywoodMasala123, Manager at Bollywood Masala, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
thanks for visiting our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    105
    52
    54
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian dishes”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Both my friend and I are vegetarian and we found the food on offer really good. There are slightly more vegetarian dishes available than in some restaurants, but the food was tasty and different. For example, the panir dish had large cubes of home-made cheese and the dahl had a fantastic texture.
The restaurant is still quite quiet as it has been on most days since opening - this is a shame as it's comfortable and the service is excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing despite voucher offer”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Used voucher deal from Living Social which cost £19 for starter, main and 2 drinks. We had 2 glasses of red wine and it was quite decent for house wine. We were offered poppadums and pickles and told that these would be extra/ We ordered 2 each. There was mango chutney, another sweet chutney, red onion (sweet but nice) and a rather watery yoghurt dip. For starters we ordered Lamb Malai Tikka and Chicken Puri and shared these. The lamb starter consisted of 4 small cubes of lamb which were dry and 2 were burned. As this would normally have been £5.95 (or indeed however much it had cost) it was very poor. The other starter was average. For mains we ordered Lamb Dopiaza and Lamb Madras. Neither had much meat in at all. The Madras was ok but the Dopiaza wasn't particularly flavoursome and was a bit bitter. We ordered mushroom pilau extra which was flavourless and rubbery. The family naan was nice and was the best bit of the meal although was slightly charred in a couple of places.

The restaurant itself was very nice. The waiters were friendly although service was slow despite it being early evening when business was only just starting to pick up. Definitely wouldn't return even with a discount voucher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmajorseventh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely curry”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely meal, great service, nice decor and good atmosphere. If anything though slightly overpriced in comparison to other similar restaurants think it was £4.00 for poppadoms and chutneys which was put on the table without asking if we wanted!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahforan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't let the name put you off it's actually quite swish”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely decor, near the Hilton, very friendly staff and great food. We went on a voucher but the portions were big and the service was great. Would definitely recommend and we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Masala also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bollywood Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing