We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One to spoil your loved one with” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One to spoil your loved one with”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

I've stayed at quite a few hotels around Europe but this is THE best. My wife and I don't get away much these days because of three young children but staying here was an absolute treat. By booking the non-refundable promotion we got ourselves an outrageous bargain and if it was twice the price, it would have been worth every penny. I think we had the 'basic' room - these account for the vast majority of the rooms on offer, but you would never know it was basic. Believe me, the two of us are pretty fussy but the room and the whole hotel in fact were utterly immaculate - like they'd completed the building of it that day. The wet-room was fantastic and the bed was both huge and comfortable. Everything about the place oozed contemporary sophistication.

The foyer has fused modern contemporary architecture with the classic Victorian feel of the old Free Trade Hall and it works well. The rooms are modern in furnishings/design without the cold/minimalist feel that it sometimes a by-product. I suppose if you're looking for real character this hotel wouldn't be for you but if you want the feeling of quality, comfort and sophistication it most certainly is.

Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glockdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 18, 2009
Dear Reviewer


We are very grateful that you have taken the time to complete this review regarding your recent stay.

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,185
    1,228
    451
    216
    166
See reviews for
567
2,416
233
1,081
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Very disappointed with this hotel. Special weekend in Manchester was let down by poor accommodation.

Staff: Service was poor at front desk on check in and on check out. Staff at pool/spa were on the verge of rude, offering to look after my belongings behind their desk as they had ran out of keys for lockers.

Room: Good space and on first look clean. Second look, will see the pictures for yourself. Marks on bedding, dirt on light switches not what I expected in 5 star property.

The TV in the room was a nightmare, it takes 5 minutes to navigate through Radisson menus just to get to BBC1, when you get there your viewing is interrupted with messages about breakfast and also checking out (not great when its on night 1 of 3).

Location: Ideal for shopping areas and transport links.

Wi-fi: Free wifi is not fast, its free but very slow. I was only using to read reviews for eating out and BBC news.

Price: Expensive for the service and poor quality of standards and staff noted above.

Overall: I looked out of my room to the Hilton Deansgate and wished I had booked there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for your comments.

We are extremely shocked to learn of your comments regarding our staffs attitude I can assure we have never had any such comments before. You will be able to tell from the 380 reviews we have had to date from Trip Advisor that our staff are one of our Hotels biggest assets. We will of course investigate your comments and apologies for this shortfall in our normal high standards.

I am sorry that there was not a locker available for you to use in the Health Club, again this has not occurred before.

The Bang and Oulfsen TV’S in our rooms are programmed to be as easy to use as possible, I am sorry the operating of the TV was not explained to you on arrival.

Thank you so much for posting the photograph of the defaced light switch damaged by the previous guest, this was changed 15 mins after you checked out but should have been changed before you checked in.

It is a concern that you did not feel that you received value for money for your stay. It is a shame we were not made aware of this during your stay otherwise we would have invoked our 100% Guest Satisfaction Guarantee.

We look forward to welcoming back you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed here for one night with members of my familyand we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were very helpful, especially Georgina on the checkin desk who made us feel very welcome and was interested in what we had planned for our stay.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we had a great view across the city.
The location was great for all we had planned to do.
we all also took advantage of the wonderful breakfast buffet which was included in the price of the room.
If I was staying in Manchester again I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliinthepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We lool forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

This was the second time I had stayed at the Radisson Edwardian in Manchester, and I would not hesitate in staying again next time I am in Manchester. I enjoyed my first stay so much that I enthusiastically recommended it to my family when we had a manchester visit planned, and I am pleased to say that the hotel surpassed even my expectations.

The rooms are clean and modern, and we had an excellent view over the city centre. The staff were professional and friendly and made our stay extremely special, as we were treated as valued guests, rather than an inconvenience. In particular, the receptionist Georgina was friendly, polite and cheerful and made us feel especially welcome, taking an interest in our visit and providing us with help and assistance with our luggage. Georgina treated us as special guests and we were delighted with the experience we had.

The hotel is in a convenient location (we were able to walk from both Picadilly and Victoria stations) and is excellent value for money, with a fabulous cooked breakfast included in our rate and use of the leisure facilities available. I am looking forward to having another reason to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_and_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you so much for your comments, we really are very grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many times before and have never been disappointed. We stayed in an Alfresco suite which was a very large,comfortable room with a nice terrace. The service once again was excellent from all staff. Opus One is so nice to return to after a day and night out in Manchester. The pool and gym is a very good facility too and the breakfasts are really good with a varied selection. Another excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisebarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

we stayed at this hotel over the august bank holiday weekend, the staff and the service were excellent. With a grand lobby and contemporary and large rooms

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slbPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

This hotel lives up to its five star rating. The staff are first class, will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Dear Reviewer

We really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review off your recent stay,

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing