We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable, professional...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Very pleased with our stay (two nights) at the Radisson Edwardian. Having read the reviews on here we knew what to expect and were not disappointed.
Hotel has a great location (central and historic) and the Metro is 50 metres from the door.
Staff were all pleasant and helpful and we would not hesitate to return or to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,317 - 5,323 of 5,711 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

stayed for two nights. hotel architecture and interior design is very impressive, beautiful lobby. i was checking in late, around 11.30pm, had to get past two very intimidating doormen to be allowed in. checkin staff were not very friendly and welcoming. room very tastefully decorated, bizarre bathroom/washroom layout, the wash basin is outside the bathroom in the sleeping area, the bathroom itself has no washbasin so you have to leave the bathroom to wash your hands. aircon/heater wasn't working, room was very cold even after turning up the temperature, it blasted out cold air. hotel is quiet and doesn't seem cater for the stag night/hen night brigade so that is a bonus.
overall very well designed hotel, lots of potential, staff need to work on their customer service skills. definitely not 5* (i've stayed in many international 5* hotels),it's a good 4*. the lowry is far superior.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2009

As the leading hotel in the City we take customer comments very serously indeed. Please note i personally reply to every review, no other else does do they even look?.
Our bathroom design is very popular with our guests, particulary with peolpe that are sharing rooms" the separate wet area" means your not waiting to get in the bathroom!.

Many thanks for your feedback about your check in.


We look forward to welcoming you back very soon


Stephen Miles

Voted By Expedia's Customers as one of the top 1% of hotels in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I was impressed on arrival to this hotel, it had a good feel about it. Checking in was good, however they had not got the message from LateRooms that the room was to include breakfast. The lady on reception added it to the room and I thought that was that. On the first morning at breakfast we had been missed off the list so I had to explain the mistake that had already happened again and eventually we got our breakfast, this also happened on the second day. The customer service at breakfast was a disgrace for a 5 star hotel, their were tables left right next to us with plates etc on them the entire time we ate. The staff were foreign and didn't know how to tidy up or get our order of tea or coffee correct, felt like telling one of them to cheer up, but I guess this is what you get in a city hotel nowadays.
We ate in Opus One which we enjoyed, but only eat here if its for something special as its quite expensive. The spa was nice if not a little small. In all a good hotel but overshadowed by very poor customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shep_Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2009

We are sorry that you were led to believe that your rate included breakfast, when infact it
did not.

That Saturday morning i am afraid everybody came down for breakfast at the same time we which is a very rare ocuurance, we apoligise that you did not recieve our normal award winning standards for breakfast.

Stephen Miles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Dear Radisson Edwardian,
We've spent months staying with you over the last few years and you've become an old friend who we would never leave, not even for the glamorous new Hilton down the block or the famed Lowrie with its gorgeous decor and superb afternoon tea. We love your downtown location and your comfy rooms. We've watched your service improve dramatically. We know that Gary, your head concierge, is one of the best there is. Your fitness center is easily one of the best we've seen in the UK and we adore your breakfasts. We've even gotten used to your hyperactive shower which often floods the floor.

If you want to become even better, and more up to date, here are a few suggestions. I know from housekeeping that many people have made them over the years but please allow me to add my voice to the chorus:

1) Get some curtains that really keep out the light. A lot of hotels are now doing this and there is no reason for you to lag behind the rest of the industry.
2) I know Brits like soft mattresses but I venture to say yours are far too soft. Every time I come, I ask for a bed board and I know that others do too.
3) Ditto the bedside lights. Those laser-like beams from above are too light for bedtime reading. Why not go to Heal's or Ikea and just buy a few dozen bedside lamps with 60 or 75 watt bulbs? I know you will get a lot of use from them.
4) Banish the toast rack forever and put in a toaster that everyone can use at breakfast. Bringing everyone their own toast each morning is a lovely idea but it always arrives cold. Why not let us all make our own toast so it's piping hot when we eat it, as toast should be?
5) Nice, but not essential: a proper business center with a fax, photocopier and printer.

I will be so sorry to leave you this week and am already looking forward to my next visit back. Thank you for everything. Please don't be offended by my constructive suggestions.

Regards from a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2009

It's your old freind here!! Great comments.
Please note changes to buisness centre .
The blinds have now been replaced through out the Hotel.
We unfortunatley dont like the toaster in the restaurant idea SORRY!! but we will make sure you get hot toast.

Stephen Miles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

From the moment I walked in through the door all the staff were really helpful, cheerful and friendly. The hotel itself has a superb, relaxing and delightful ambience and very spacious. The rooms are modern, clean and well equipped. The location was perfect for me for my conference and close enough to the shopping area and night life too. It's difficult to fault anything.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stolly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2009

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Stephen Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stay at this hotel every time i go to manchester,the staff are fantastic[always helpful] the rooms are clean and wecoming,the spa is very relaxing after a day or night drinking,or shopping,cant coment on the gym has i dont use them.the breakfast is amazing everytime i go,the food in the resturant is great but the staff will recomend places to eat,see, drink,whatever your needs.Shopping is fantastic in manchester and the location of this hotel is perfect..The staff are always there for all your needs 24/7.The best hotel ive stayed in is The Berkeley in London and i think is hotel is on par for all my needs.Will be staying here every time i go upto manchester.kerry bray.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2009

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We look forward to welconing you back.

Stephen Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions now since Februaryt this year, I felt I must congratulate the management and staff of this hotel. They are consistently providing excellent service, food and comfort with an extremely high level of professionalism, but with a comforting, friendly small hotel feel. I have no hesitation in confirming my reservations for the next 6 months and cannot recommend the Edwardian Experience highly enough

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timelordSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2009

We are delighted to read your commnets.
Thank you so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Stephen Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $129 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern luxury & style in Manchester’s historic Free Trade Hall with elegant rooms & suites, free high-speed WiFi on unlimited devices, luxurious spa & large swimming pool. Steak & Lobster serves mouth-watering steaks, lobster, salads & toasted brioche rolls, & Opus One offers afternoon tea, bistro bites & cocktails. Next to the Convention Centre & conference quarter, close to buzzing Deansgate & linked to Manchester’s rail stations by free shuttlebus. 22 private meeting rooms host 2-500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing