We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it but felt it was lacking something..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Myself and my fiance stayed one night at the Radisson Edwardian for my birthday celebration. Its location is superb, the building itself is magnificent (the old Free Trade Hall building) and the service is excellent. We had a courtesy call half an hour afer arriving in the room and a maid knocked on the door to see if we needed her to turn down the bed not long after we had arrived. The bathroom was beautiful (wet room style shower) and was by far the most impressive part of the room. The rest of the room was clean and luxurious (suedette roller curtains etc) but the decor was a little tired and I suppose I was expecting something amazing for a 5* hotel. It didn't quite meet my high expecations. We didn't dine at the hotel so can't comment on the food. I would reccommend this hotel but I wouldn't be happy paying more than our sunday rate that we got off the internet (120.GBP). Be careful as car parking costs a ridiculous 15.00GBP!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,513 - 5,519 of 5,840 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

Had a great romantic weekend away here. The staff were very welcoming upon arrival, the rooms were lovely sheer luxury. Spa facilities were very good, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna and pool, robes were provided in deluxe rooms. One area we felt was a let down was the Opus restaurant, the service was slow and the food was nothing special for the price. The couple on the next table also agreed with us, food was bland not great. Not once did any of the staff ask if the food was OK. We would go back to the hotel but not the Opus restaurant, there are many great restaurants nearby to use instead. Cinema and parking 4 minutes walk away. Breakfast was lovely, serving staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastleake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2009

Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We are very grateful to receive your very kind comments.
We were however very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the food in Opus restaurant. I would be delighted if you could contact me directly so I could obtain some specifics regarding your selection of food.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Stephen Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Staff are impeccable and greet you with a hello every time you see them. Waiting staff are divine, food fantasic.
Rooms are very designer and extremely homely. Decor sublime. Thanks to all, will be visiting again.
Well done all a real credit to the North West!!! Almost as good at United!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager. at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Dear Reviewer.

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.



We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I have stayed at the Radisson Edwardian in Manchester quite a few times and every time I visit I feel like the hotel has improved again. There are many things I like about the hotel so I always book in when I’m in the area.

The three main reasons for the repeat visits are 1) The rooms are great 2) The atmosphere in the Opus bar at night is superb 3) The staff are very good at what they do and really friendly.

I am already planning another trip in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

I stayed two nights at Radisson Edwardian from the 9th January till the 11th January with a friend. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge team that was very helpful to suggest us what to do in Manchester and where to eat. Overall the hotel looks very nice and very clean. The breakfast restaurant is maybe to small and the choice from the buffet definitely not of a 5 stars hotel but of a 4 stars. Anyway food was very good. We had a room on the 8th Floor and we had an excellent view over Manchester Central railways station and the Hilton tower. The room was very clean and also the bathroom. Bathrooms have amenities of Gilchrist and Soames that were amazing. Mini bar had a great choice and prices are ok (a coke is GBP 1,50). Room are well sized with free coffee maker. On Sunday morning at 7am we have been waked up by the fire alarm and we had to evacuate the hotel. After a wait of 20 minutes in the cold morning of Manchester we were allowed to enter in the lobby and after a wait in the lobby we were allowed to go back in our rooms (with the stairs as the hotel staff was not able to stop the fire alarm meaning that the elevators stopped). Actually we had no information from the hotel if it was a false alarm or if there was a fire, only talking with the reception desk at check out we were informed that is was a false alarm. Overall a nice experience also taking into consideration the excellent location of the hotel (in the heart of Manchester).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager. at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2009

Dear Reviewer.
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the review of your recent stay, and your subsequent kind comments. We are sorry that the hotel had to be evacuated on that Sunday morning it is unfortunate for you as this has never happened before in the five years the hotel has been open. However this procedures are there to protect the safety of our guests as set our by the local fire authority.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our award winning Hotel.

Stephen Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights 9-12 Jan at this hotel. Room was spacious and very clean with a comfy king size bed. TV set a bit small but OK. I liked the idea with wet and dry zone for the bathroom along with complimentary bathrobes. Used the gym on one occasion and it was well equipped and in good shape, both machines, treadmills and free weights. The breakfast included was OK, but the hot items were a bit tired, though the service by the staff could not be faulted. Concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking. The only thing that concerned me was when the fire alarm went off early one of the mornings. Being one of the first people down to the lobby since I was on a low floor the confusion among the staff on how to deal with this situation was apparent. On a direct question they could not direct me to an assembly spot, nor were any guest lists produced to tick people off. Fortunately this was a false alarm but next time maybe it won´t be and these issues need to be adressed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The staff in the hotel where exceptional and found the stay very comfortable. Was upset that the restaurant was closed and was not informed when booking the room. Hotel rooms do require a refurb as the TV's look very outdated and kept on switching off for some reason - time to get some LCD screens.

The stay was very good and would recommend that you stay at the hotel as the staff where always intrested in intercating with you and they where very sincere. The staff are a credit to the hotel and where polite and helpful for our every need.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sheetsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 120 in Manchester
4,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $121 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern luxury & style in Manchester’s historic Free Trade Hall with elegant rooms & suites, free high-speed WiFi on unlimited devices, luxurious spa & large swimming pool. Steak & Lobster serves mouth-watering steaks, lobster, salads & toasted brioche rolls, & Opus One offers afternoon tea, bistro bites & cocktails. Next to the Convention Centre & conference quarter, close to buzzing Deansgate & linked to Manchester’s rail stations by free shuttlebus. 22 private meeting rooms host 2-500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing