We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Anyone looking for an excellent nights sleep in a clean hotel with great service should stay here. It's within walking distance of 'MEN arena and you can walk in to city centre. For me be comfortable in a hotel it has to be clean and this was kept to a high standard. The beds were the most comfortable I ever experienced and room service was great. The staff all polite and helpful and the spa was lovely. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for this recommendation and all of your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,223
    1,242
    457
    219
    169
See reviews for
575
2,444
236
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

6 Ladies. We liked the round table, hot treats, leaf tea, excellent scones, plenty to eat - only one managed the 3 sandwiches, price was very reasonable. As this is one of the top hotels in Manchester we did expect something a little special and not to have any negatives. The service was all or nothing. The table cloth was badly creased. 2 ladies asked for coffee and had to ask three times before arrived. No tea spoons with cup and saucers and had to ask for knives for the scones. Felt that the pork pie and sandwich fillings came from Sainsburys. The sandwiches had been put in the cooler and were a little dry on top. We like ambience but it was a little dark.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback which has been noted. I would like to reassure you and other readers that all our ingredients are of the highest quality, therefore I am sorry you were disappointed but delighted that your experience warranted your high rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Service was lovely as soon as we arrived. Very welcoming. Room very nice and modern. Had a very office feel to it but still never the less very comfortable. Great view. Found breakfast quite expensive so opted out. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nattie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for this feedback. For added value, inclusive breakfast rates are available on our own website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed in the Fitzgerald suite for 2 nights. Exceptionally attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful room and in a great location right in the heart of the city centre. I would give it 6 out of 5 stars if I could. I cannot wait to come back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mark
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay, thank you for your very kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My problem with this hotel was that I could not get a decent night's sleep, which to me is the most basic service which a hotel should deliver, and I consequently spent a miserable and exhausted weekend in Manchester. The furnishings and décor were smart, the breakfast was good (apart from one waiter who couldn't be bothered and just ignored me), and the service standards were otherwise sort of acceptable. However, none of that mattered as I struggled to sleep.

My room did not have proper window coverings, only some kind of blind arrangement which it was not possible to fully close. I called reception who sent somebody from maintenance to look at it, and he did his best to prop up various cushions against the blinds, but there were still gaps. He told me that all the rooms had the same window coverings, that this was just the style of the hotel, and this was the best they could do to get the windows covered. However, there was still a largish gap between separate sections of the blind. When I had the light on in the bedroom, anybody in the building opposite could see me in the room. (The opposite building was an office building so hopefully there was nobody there that weekend.) In addition, external light, ie street lighting and natural light in the early morning, came into the room, which made it very difficult for me to sleep. I know that even with other window coverings there is often some light seepage, but not to the extent which I experienced in this hotel. I have never been in a hotel which had such poor light protection, and it was disappointing to find it in a hotel of this apparent quality.

I told the hotel that I had a problem with the blinds and they did send me an e-mail saying that if I stayed again they would give me a free upgrade. In other words, if I spend a lot of money staying again at a hotel in which I cannot sleep they will give me a posher room in which I still cannot sleep (nor get an appropriate level of privacy). Well, that's not a great offer to compensate for a tired and unhappy weekend. I would not consider staying here again. I could go again and wear a sleep mask, but I don't feel that I should have to wear a sleep mask in a hotel in this price range in order to compensate for the non-functional design of its rooms.

If you can sleep through a lot of light (I can't) you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vamoose45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer.

We are sorry that you could not sleep.

We would not want to mis read any readers of this review but having installed a cutting edge blind system in our bedrooms recently we can assure our customers that getting a good nights sleep is of paramount importance to us. Having made considerable investment through out the hotel this year and by providing the service that surprises and delights we are delighted and proud to herald our " Hotel of The Year " accolade at the recent Manchester Tourism awards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a one night stay in one of the Alfresco suites and what an amazing stay it was. The room was outstanding with absolutely everything you need for a truly luxurious stay. Fabulous comfortable king size bed, stunning bathroom with separate wash basin area. Covered outside seating area, large flat screen TV with internet facilities and a wide range of channels. Huge sofa with loads of cushions, coffee table, desk, coffee machine plus a kettle and range of hot drinks, bottled water, slippers and robes, desk/work area and great lighting. The spa was so clean and well maintained. Breakfast was superb with a wide selection of hot and cold items plus an extensive range of freshly prepared items. There are huge relaxation areas off the main entrance and a stunning bar and restaurant all located in the beautifully restored Free Trade Hall entrance. The staff were very friendly and welcoming with a real focus on excellent customer service. This stay was a real treat for us and although the bar prices are a little on the expensive side the service really is second to none. Will certainly be returning and trying the afternoon tea next time. There really was not anything we could fault and one of the best luxury hotels we have stayed in. Radisson at it's best and in a great location for all the city's attractions and theatres etc and we had no traffic noise at all.

Room Tip: Great city views from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoogieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review of your recent stay. We are very proud of our heritage and restoration of The Free Trade Hall. I hope you will be able to sample our Afternoon Tea offering on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a great stay here with our parents to see 'Singing in the Rain' at the Opera House - so convenient, and to visit the fantastic Christmas markets. The hotel was nicely decorated for the festive season, but the best thing about this Hotel is the welcome from all the staff. We had rooms looking out towards the Town Hall clock, all fixtures and fittings of good quality, we slept really well. We went to the Spa,well maintained and relaxing.
Our only negative was our poor meal in Steak & Lobster, although breakfast was superb, both quality and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us following your initial disappointment, thank you for all of your feedback. We are proud of our high standards which have recently been recognised as Hotel of the Year in the Manchester Tourism Awards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing