We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea - poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Took my daughter and niece out as a special treat. When we arrived no one greeted us for 10 minutes then we were told to take a seat for a further 10 minutes. We finally got our table and sat down. We ordered 2 gentleman's and one traditional afternoon tea - food excellent - apart from sandwiches which were a little stale.
We ordered English breakfast tea which was very week so had to ask for another tea bag in the pot (there was only one bag to start with in one large teapot!). We asked for a jug of water which never arrived.
The bill took another 20 minutes - which was wrong as we ordered a special offer!!
Overall can't fault the food but service was a huge let down :-(

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cupcakes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your constructive feedback. I would like to apologise for the poor service you received, please be assured this is not our normal standard. I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,607)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,959 - 3,965 of 5,607 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we had a great night. We made use of the pool and spa which was really clean and relaxing, we would have used the gym if we had gym clothes with us. The hotel is in a great spot with loads of resteraunts and shops. We stayed here as we were goin to see beyonce at the MEN arena. So it was close to there. The parking was £18 for 24 hours at a car park the hotel uses just around the corner. We also bumped into some man united players outside the hotel! Great spot, great services and staff. The hotel is top.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sherridan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank your for your comments on our location and product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited the hotel for business. Impressed with staff especially in the reception area, going beyond very helpful - impressed. Lifts are super quick and the hotel is super clean. Food was fresh and OK. Very close to the St Peters tram stop and very well located for Manchester city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozzasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I feel that I should start by saying that I rarely use review websites & that I regularly stay in Radisson hotels across the UK.

On the 5th April I made a booking via the Radisson website for 2 nights in the Edwardian in Manchester. This was done via advanced purchase & all card & contact details were registered.

A week before we were due to arrive I called the hotel to check that everything was OK with the booking & I was assured it was.

On the 25th April myself & my fiancé arrived at the hotel. We were informed we were a little early to check in so we went to the hotel bar to have a drink & wait.

When we went to check in we were informed that the booking hadn’t been secured & that unless we paid cash there & then we couldn’t have access to a room. I explained that I had made an advanced purchase & showed the email confirmation to the manager. The manager said that without a bank statement this wasn’t proof that I had paid for the booking. This conversation was held in reception, in front of other guests & left me very embarrassed. The manager said there was nothing he could do. He could provide any explanation as to why the booking hadn’t gone through & said that the email confirmation wasn’t proof!

Based on the manager’s attitude I decided to cut my losses & left the hotel. I checked into the Hilton which was amazing at such short notice! I have written to the hotel with my complaint but surprise, surprise I have yet to receive a response!

Manchester is an amazing city, but my advice… stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMNHKLAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We do recall your details and to re-iterate our Front of House Manager, we do not issue rooms without some form of payment guarantee. As your reservation had not been pre-paid a card or cash payment was requested. This is a procedure which is in place in all major hotel chains. To date we have no record of the letter you sent, however if you would be kind enough to re-send it or contact me directly I will be happy to respond personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I visited the newly re-vamped Sienna Spa yesterday with my friend for a girly catch up. I have been to this particular Spa a few times previously and always been impressed with the treatments and facilities. However I was amazed with the new look makeover, it is spacious, clean, modern but still in keeping with a warming relaxed feel you would expect within a 5* hotel.

The staff in the spa are fantasic, they are friendly, approachable and know their stuff! Upon arriving my friend and I were given, gowns, slippers, towels and a locker. Having changed, my friend and I went to the relaxation room whilst we waited for a new treatment that the Spa offers, a Rasul. This was a lovely and relaxing treatment and I came out feeling fresh and invigorated. We then chose to have a Jacuzzi followed by a Sauna (I wanted to dry off before my next treatment!). I then went for a Pedicure with Stacey. This was fab and just what my feet needed, the choice of colours for nails too is vast. The attention to detail and finishing the Pedicure was excellent.

All throughout my afternoon, the staff were attentive but still allowing myself and my friend to chill and unwind and not feel bogged down. I would highly recommend a visit to the Sienna Spa if ever in Manchester, or if like me live there and just fancy a treat for a girly day or even your partner..........the new couples room is gorgeous!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank louisehale11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

I was delighted to read your review of Sienna Spa which as you mention has undergone a major enhancement. I am pleased you enjoyed your treatments and hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights in Manchester, in town for a United match.

Good place to base in Manchester for a game, and not far from a few pretty good restaurants (San Carlo), too. Not a bad value, notwithstanding USD/GBP exchange rate.

Concierge team is very helpful and quite nice.

Rooms are a bit dated, but you are in Manchester (not London)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments on our loaction. I was concerned to read that you found the room dated as we have invested heavily in maintaining and upgrading our product, however I realise that all tastes to differ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend with my daughter, great room on the 14th floor with some amazing views of the city.
We felt extremely welcome and looked after at all time during our visit. I have to say the concierge service in this hotel is exceptional. They are attentive and will attend to you're every need, booking a great restaurant for dinner :-)
Room was excellent with free wifi, free movies (although dont think thats standard).
Breakfast was very good..only comment here is there were only scrambled eggs on the buffet therefore, maybe they should have an egg station rather than having to order them to arrive later.
Bar was lovely and bar staff were very professional and attentive.

The spa however has newly been refurbished and that is really the only area where I could find fault. You feel that this has been rushed and not much thought has gone into logistics.

These are constructive criticisms:

Ladies changing room only has one small stand alone mirror to use at the dressing area for hair and make up. (three stools but one mirror not really practical) there is plenty of space to have a full backdrop of mirrored tiles.
The showers are amazing...probably the most powerful shower I have ever experienced, however on entering the shower there is not one hook in sight to hang towels and robes, we ended up hanging them over the door :-(
I then proceeded to look for the toilet in the corridor on the way out...3 or 4 doors but not one has a sign on it, so its a process of elimination.
On a personal note I think the over sized mirror as you walk in is a great idea lent against the wall, however this is normally done in a large room with high ceilings, not in such a small space where the mirror itself looks like its been bought by mistake as its much taller than the room itself so it look like its been just wedged in....

All in all I would defiantly come back to this hotel again, would just hope that they have some biscuits to take with our tea in the room. None were complementary in the room and when calling room service we were told there was not one biscuit in the hotel, not even a piece of cake !!!

I hope you all realise that our stay was excellent, just constructive criticism for the hotel staff to take on board.....The staff in every area were exceptional :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MessymeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for this detailed review and for all of your very kind comments on our service and staff members. Sienna Spa has recently undergone a major refurbishment and we are still in the process of completing some of the finer details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $143 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing