We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room felt a bit poky and 'cheap'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Room felt a bit poky and 'cheap'”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Second stay, just went back as our friends had already booked it, there are far nicer places to stay in Manchester. It's ok, staff v friendly, buzzy lobby, nice breakfast, but rooms are v boxy, corporate, bland, no hint of luxe or quirkiness...£180 per night...felt a bit underwhelmed...I remember that from last time but we had paid for a junior suite that was awful, this time I was hoping a plain double wouldn't be so disappointing...worst thing was screens at window, not curtains, didn't draw together properly and light came streaming in in early morning...ugly view from rear of hotel, room too chilly, friends too hot, heating difficult to regulate...but - staff pleasant and breakfast nice...definitely not for a special stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with the decor as most of our feedback is very positive. We have recently upgraded all of our facilities, so I would not want other readers to be mis-led about the standard of our accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,290
    1,260
    471
    226
    174
See reviews for
587
2,500
237
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a surprise for my birthday, it is a really nice hotel and the staff are exceptional.

Nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are really nice especially the bathroom. It's like a wetroom and the room has robes in the wardrobe and slippers so you can go down to the spa in your dressing gown and slippers. There is a special lift fo the Spa so as you don't have to walk through reception in your dressing gown.

We did;nt eat breakfast here as it was £18 each and we don't normally eat breakfast anyway. We were given discount vouchers for the breakfast bringing it down to £12 each but still felt it wasn't worth it for us.

Great stay I would definatly visit here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your compliments on our service and members of staff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you are looking for added value, inclusive breakfast rates are available on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during a weekend in Manchester. Check in was a little slow..unfortunately the man who checked me in seemed to be a little pre occupied doing something else on the computer at the same time as i was checking in.

The room was comfortable and clean. Nice location within walking distance of the Oxford Road train stop and also the main shopping area. Breakfast was really nice with a good hot breakfast available.
Unfortunately the weekend that we were there was also the weekend they had 3 weddings. They use the main lobby/atrium area for the reception and drinking area...which means you are inundated with noise and depending on the size of the wedding....alot of people. It totally consumes the main lobby area. Would be good if they could move that to a different area....it makes it hard to even access the elevator to your room or sit in the lobby lounge.

Someone entered our room at 5am on Sunday. The check in staff had allocated our room to a new customer and they walked in on us while we were sleeping. Not a nice feeling.
The manager was very nice and gave us a free breakfast. I have never had this happen before and i hope it never happens again.

Also, another thing i think they could improve on is the maid service. The maids make an extreme amount of noise. Walking down the hallways chatting on the phone and outside the rooms. Also at 5pm every evening the mini bar is filled in every room and then a turn down service is offered. The rooms are fire doors so therefore extremely heavy. They slam very loudly and so each time the mini bar and then the turn down service is offered, you hear every single door slam in the corridor. It went on for about 2 hours.


This was definitely a nice hotel with comfortable rooms. A nice bar also with afternoon tea available. I just think they could improve on a few things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this detailed feedback. I would like to reiterate our apologies for this serious error with the room allocation. Please be assured that corrective action has been taken to prevent a re-occurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I came here on a conference and was surprised at the lack of attention to detail.
Indifferent attitude by staff at check in. We felt very rushed. Room had odor to it. Bathroom appeared as though no one cleaned it from the previous guests.

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I was most concerned to read your review and would appreciate a little more detail. I would be grateful if you contact me directly at your own convenience so that we can discuss these issues. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I normally stop at the other large 4 and 5 star hotels in Manchester and was doubtful I would find the Radisson as good but it was! rooms were very clean, luxury fittings and immense bathrooms.Staff helpful and polite. I didn't eat there but had late night drinks in the opus and it looked lovely ! Beautiful hotel would recommend it highly !! Breakfast in bed was lux too !! Xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieH5971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for this feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu as we were attending a function there.
The hotel is first class, the function catered for 200 people all tables were served on time with beuatifully prepared and hot meals. The team were well prepared in table etiquette and looked after all the guests well.
The hotel itself is smart - if I had a gripe it would be that the bar service is slow as I often found myself waiting at the bar for a longer than usual waiting to be served. However they may not be used to as big a function as this with lots of thirsty guests!
The room itself is spacious, lovely comfy bed, which was clean and well presented. The room service is good as a turn down service is offered, however if you do not wish this as previously described in another review on this hotel, then place your "do not disturb" card outside!! Frankly I am baffled as to what sort of people would go to bed from 8pm on a daughters 21st anyway!!
We did not use the Spa, so cannot comment on this.
Breakfast was a buffet type service, where you served yourself. We found it well cooked and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for this review of your stay, we appreciate all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I treated my Daughter a lovely shopping trip to Manchester and a 5* hotel stay! But what a disappointment. The rooms were nice but no better than the Hilton at Deansgate which is 4*
We went to bed after a lovely evening to be woken up at least 4 time's from 8pm onwards with the maids asking to clean our room and one of these times the buzzer went the door was then opened and someone entered and when I shouted no thank you the voice that answered was a man, which myself and my daughter found very disturbing (I dont expect to have men entering my room uninvited for any reason).
We then went down to breakfast the service down there was awful with waitresses only asking one of us what we would like to drink and one of us what type of toast we would like, after I asked for gluten free toast 1 piece arrived and was put on the table and my daughter was left with nothing, we had to ask for another cup of tea as the waitresses seemed more happy chatting to each other than serving anyone.
When we checked out we told the front of house manager about being continuosly disturbed
and the man entering our room and he said he found it unbelievable, he would investigate and
get back to us which he did, telling us our bedroom was'nt registered on the housekeeping interface, and the problem had been resolved, no apology and if id like to pay another £150 to stay there he would upgrade my room to one with a view, disgusting my daughters 21st special stay didnt turn out as we had hoped and she didnt get the special experience we would have expected. We are still awaiting a reply 9 days later.
All that said Manchester is Fab and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyjones44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for the disappointment caused to you and your daughter, and for our apparent lack of interest following your comments. Please be assured that this is not our normal standard. Thank you for taking the time to speak to our Front of House Manager earlier today to discuss these issues in detail. We hope to welcome you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing