We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a pleasant hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A week recently in Manchester on business alone. Freezing cold weather. A place that was pleasant to return to, not because they got everything right, although mostly so, but because the staff were friendly and attentive. A decent room, good value restaurant, clean and interesting decor.

Things to improve: turn down the muzak at breakfast, get some half bottles of wine back in stock and get rid of those awful spearmint shower gels!

Room Tip: Take your own shower gels unless you want to stink of polos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your compliments on our product and service. I am sorry you did not like the shower gel and would like to clarify that we do offer a range of half bottles of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,251
    1,253
    463
    223
    172
See reviews for
582
2,470
237
1,105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in February with my boyfriend, was part of his Christmas present so had looked at a lot of hotels in Manchester before booking. Although hotel was lovely it didn't have touches I would expect from a 5 star. Complimentary water in room when we arrived wasn't replaced on second day but was on 3rd. There were about 4 tissues in box when we arrived which were never replaced. You could write your name in the dust on the cabinet that the telly was on. It's grand if you get a good deal but wouldn't pay a 5 star price for it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are very proud of our 5 star status so I would like to apologise for the poor housekeeping of your room, please be assured that this is not our normal standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved every part of this hotel especially the spa, ice machine on each floor and dressing up area in our room. The lighting is brilliant for doing make up or pampering yourself. The view was slightly disappointing so I would advise a city view room but other than that it was fab.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for this review and for your great comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel. Our room was very good, slightly larger and better finished than the bog standard double. I liked the feel of the central area and the use of the old Free Trade Hall faceade. Breakfast was good, but nothing unusual. We used the spa which was average with small changing areas, however having a pool in central Manchester was a bonus. The hotel is close to all amenities and we would happily recommend and use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Bar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation, we are very proud of our heritage within the Free Trade Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel hotel has completely lost its way.We did not get the room we had booked( the rooms near the central core are too noisey). The fridge in the room did not work. The reception were unwilling to provide cold drinks when requested! The shower gel in the shower was empty. The quality of the food in the Opus restaurant is not quite up to the 5 star quality it once was and does not reflect the cost. I had booked 8 rooms and dinner to entertain some business colleagues - the service at dinner was poor and they inform us that they had to close the bar, approx 1.30pm because it was not finacially viable to keep it open for a small party of people. When we passed on our feedback to the manager the next morning it was met with complacency. Never again. In contrast the Radisson Blu at Manchester airport was very pleasant three months earlier.

Room Tip: Very noisey on the top floor and around the central core from plant machinery and door slamming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I was very concerned to read your comments and firstly would like to apologise for the faulty mini-bar fridge and lack of shower gel. A member of our management team recalls your party and was of the understadning that everyone had enjoyed the food and service. Our standard practice is to check all guests requirements prior to closing the bvar. As a small gesture of goodwill we made a reduction to your account further to your comments the following morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Radisson’s location, in terms of its proximity to some good restaurants, the main shopping areas and Piccadilly Station is excellent. However, the entrance on Peter Street is very understated. If it was not for the hordes of besotted adolescent girls outside (there for Justin Bieber, not me) I might have missed it altogether. Once inside initial impressions are of a quality hotel although the main lobby is a little dark and compact which is a function of the wonderful old Victorian building that the Radisson have tastefully renovated – they have done their best and created a small glass atrium connecting the new and old. The overall result is very pleasing and the staff interaction with guests was good.

The same can be said of the initial impression of the rooms. Ours was on the 10th floor with spectacular full length windows and an excellent view of the Town Hall clock tower and the roof tops around. The room was very clean and well laid out and the addition of a small dressing area was a plus. As were the free bottled water, i-Pod dock and free wi-fi albeit the latter stopped working on one day as a result of a fault outside the hotel. To give the staff their due they offered free connection via the in-room ASDL cable but that was no help if you are on a tablet.

However, on the downside was the fact that the bed was excruciatingly hard and uncomfortable; it was like lying on a massage table! Added to which was the fact that the heating/AC in our room was not functioning and we were either freezing or in a sauna. It was eventually repaired but not until the third day of our stay. I also get extremely irritated with hotels that insist on mounds of decorative bolsters and cushions on the bed. They look fine when you first enter the room but thereafter are relegated to festooning the one easy chair by room service and merely get in the way.

So, overall it is a quality hotel with plusses and minuses. Whether it is value for money depends on the rate you get. Over our 3 nights we had 3 different daily rates. At the lower end (Friday night) it was great VFM and worth putting up with a hard bed. At the top end (Saturday night) I still need a lot more convincing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this very detailed feedback. I was most concerned to read that you found the bed uncomfortable as all of our mattresses have been replaced recently. Perhaps you would be kind enough to let me know which room you stayed in so that I can check the standard of the mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing