We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Let Down By Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Let Down By Restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year with my wife, dinner bed and breakfast.Over all the hotel was very good, the front of house staff were efficient and polite, my luggage was taken to my room, an ice bucket I requested was swiftly delivered, I was even called to check it had arrived. The room was fine, on the twelfth with good city views, it was stylish, comfortable and clean. All the public areas were of a high standard although there was a rather disconcerting smell in the downstairs gents. Breakfast was very good and as I remembered it from a previous visit although we had to queue for a table due a large number of wedding guests staying at the hotel, due to this the breakfast service was a little hectic.
Dinner in the restaurant was very poor the food was not that good, in fact it was very disappointing and I was charged for a £44 bottle of wine when I had ordered a £19 one, this was obviously just a mistake but never the less it created a bad impression. I can not decide whether my other concerns with the restaurant are down to my over expectations or just the way things are today ie. guests arriving for dinner in jeans and tee shirts and trainers.
On checkout, again the staff were friendly and efficient, even remembering my name which was a nice touch that was noticed and well received.

Room Tip: city view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StonewallEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank your for your detailed feedback and very kind comments. I was concerned to read your comments on our Restaurant and error with the wine service and hope you will accept our apologies. Being a contemporary style restuarant we do not operate a dress-code.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,288
    1,259
    471
    225
    174
See reviews for
587
2,496
237
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

the holy place of my teenage years was the FREE TRADE HALL where I saw the world's great conductors: Arvid jansons, kurt sanderling, maurice handford; Adrain Boult; Efrem Kurtz with the HALLE and BBC PHIL
the hotel has TIHANY influences (as the manager confirmed to me by letter after it opened)
the staff give you a great manchester welcome and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Sadly the vips are now more likely to be footballers than conductors (we sat next to the manager of newcastle at breakfast)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to The Free Trade Hall and hope it brought back some happy memories for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goucestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Despite being in the centre of the city, the hotel bedrooms are incredibly quiet. A friend and I stayed the week before Christmas and were very surprised by the quality of the hotel. Our room on the 6th floor was very very well designed and equipped with a very well thought out bathroom, a bath for me and a shower for my friend. We heard no noise at all from the hotel public hallways which, given the fact that the hotel couldn't have been empty must have meant that the rooms are really well soundproofed. I loved the blackout blinds and efficient air con.
The breakfast was utterly delicious with a choice of buffet ( not your usual "been hanging around stuff" rather freshly cooked in and replenished regularly. I had grilled vine tomatoes and portobello mushrooms which actually tasted like mushrooms should. My friend had porridge made to order with honey..... we had more which was equally delicious.
The staff were equally efficient and professional. When I got home, I realised I had left my phone charger in the room. However, this was returned to me via the post within a couple of days.
If you are staying in Manchester, you must consider this hotel as a number one option. I am already thinking of an excuse to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queensquitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for this great review and compliments on our product and service, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice decor and great rooms. The restaurant is also amazing, however the prices are a little expensive. The parking is always a nightmare in Manchester. Will recommend the hotel for Manchester, It has a great location close to all facilities.

Room Tip: Get the rear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Saturday before Christmas. Hotel was busy but there were plenty of staff to cope with any requests we had. Booked a studio suite which was really just a decent sized room. Very modern & clean with an unusual bathroom set up with walk in shower. Spa was good & reasonably priced. Will use this hotel when next in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lovely twin room with loads of space, the pool and spa were great and breakfast was fantastic. I can not fault this hotel. The room had all the modern convenience you would expect and the staff were very friendly. The pool area was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squeeze24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our product and service, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise night away for us both.from the moment we walked in we were warmly greeted.checked in and made our way up to the room,staff were extremely helpful on the front desk.we stayed on the 12th floor and had a room with a city view.i would recommend strongly paying extra for this .views were lovely overlooking the city.the room was immaculate and I've never stayed in such a lovely room in a hotel ever before. It was furnished with high end furnishings and toiletries. There was also bath robes and slippers provided for the spa.

During our stay we had dinner at opus one. This restraint provided us with the best food we have ever tasted. Waiting staff were friendly and chatty. Our waiter was Nathan and he was extremely friendly and recommended some menu choices.

The spa is a welcome feature we always look for in a hotel.most visits to manchester we book the park inn hotel opposite the M.E.N simply because it has a spa. Well the radisson blu Edwardian has since become our favourite hotel in manchester. It was quiet,child free,clean and most of all RELAXING

At the end of the night my partner proposed. This was the icing on the cake to such a wonderful stay at the hotel. I would strongly recommend anyone to visit.youwont regret it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank purplenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide this detailed review, I am delighted we have become your favourite hotel. Congratulations on your engagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing