We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice staff, but..... ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff, but..... ordinary”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked for a long weekend away as it was our anniversary and we had a concert to go to. Our wedding anniversary so we pushed the boat out a little and booked the Radisson as a treat.

It's not fair to say that the hotel is not good, it's just not special. In fact - we felt it was quite ordinary, but when you take in to account the cost of a stay it then becomes disappointing.

Reception staff were very good, struggled a bit to check us in, but we got there in the end.

Room was disappointingly small, with poor ventilation in the shower room. The 'power' shower delivered a meagre trickle of water that went from hot to warm to hot and cold. Decor nice.

We had dinner one night - steak and lobster - again just ordinary. Great service though. Ate out after that.

The view freom the room was disappointing, but we accept not all rooms can have a view. We suspect that as we booked through hotels.com we get don't get the nicer rooms? Just a suspicion.

So, nothing much wrong, but nothing there that we thought was 5*.

I was going to rate it average - but at this price we should be really impressed - so it gets a poor.

Room Tip: try the Midland down the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I was concerned to read your feedback particularly as most of our reviews are very positive. I would be interested to know more about the comment that you found our hotel "ordinary" and hope that you will be kind enough to contact me so that we can discuss this in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,247
    1,252
    463
    222
    171
See reviews for
582
2,466
237
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the eve of my birthday in September 2012. We found it very hard to find the place but once we did we were very impressed. The staff were very attentive and welcoming and the room was very clean and comfortable. We had a drink at the bar at night which was very pleasant. In the morning we ordered breakfast via room service. Although it cost £18 the tray of food was enourmous and delicious - a real treat. We shared one between us and it was ample. All-in-all a nice experience and I would recommend :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceybb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our product and service. I am pleased you enjoyed your birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As previous reviews show I tend to choose Radisson hotels to stay in, those in London are fantastic and I have to say so was this. It is just far enough away from the City Centre to be in a quiet location but the hotel and the rooms are decorated beautifully. The restaurants and bars are excellent, would thoroughly recommend the Steak and Lobster at £15, was a lovely meal.

What makes this hotel stand out however is the quality of the staff. As you would expect for a Radisson everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, from arranging a lovely room for us to always ensuring everything was ok. A stand out member of staff was Elena on the reception desk when we checked out, she was very cheerful and was happy to share stories etc as we went through the process and also ensured my partner that she would care for her soft toy duck when we left our luggage behind!

We will be returning to Manchester and will definitely be staying here, a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishKnight2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review and your very kind comments, we appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our second stay here and after having an excellent experiece last time we were less than satisfied this time. We booked through an agent as this saved us in the region of £100 but gave the Radisson a goood get out clause, as we had booked a double room but ended up with a twin, not ideal when you are celebrating your anniversary. The lady on reception just said blame the agent and we dont have any other rooms as we are fuklly booked. The receptionist gave us no information about hotel services, the restaurants or breakfast and just seemed to want to se the back of us.

The room was ok except the seperate beds which could not be pushed together as there was a consul between them. there was a complimentary bottle of still water which I drank half of and this was then put back on the shelf un replenished.

Wont rush back.

Room Tip: Check that you will get a double room if thats what you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your return visit. I would like to clarify that room types booked through a 3rd party are on request only, however I am concerned with the way this was communicated. I would be most grateful if you could contact our Front of House Manager, George Topouzoglou so that he can discuss this with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel this weekend as was going to see Sister Act at the opera house.

The hotel is well located just by St Peters metro stop, and a short work to Picadilly Gardens and The Arnedale centre. We went to both places and it took less than 10 minutes and we were walking slowly!

On first impressions the hotel is grand, nice looking lobby and very polite staff, who checked us in smoothly and early. We were a little disappointed we didn't get a room with views of the city, but the room was still nice none the less! We had a weekend package with unlimited movie access and on demand services, breakfast and late check out on the Sunday.

My partner and I would agree having stayed in a range of hotels, that if the star rating is 4+ you expect exceptional service etc. We had a few niggles with what we received, which I have listed below, the good points are also listed, I hope this helps.

Good Points:
Early check in - great as it allowed us to get ready before the mantinee performance (but not guaranteed)
Late check out - Fabulous meant a long lie in, a dip in the pool and some well needed relaxtion with my other half
Location - central to the city but not right in the busy area so was quiet at night
Staff were friendly - more than willing to help
Big bed!!! - never had to touch my other half if I didn't want to, just right, not too hard, not too soft! Slept like goldilocks
Air Conditioning - brilliant as no windows in the room and easy to work
Wardrobe/dressing area - loved it, plenty of mirrors, hanging space, a safe and a decent hairdryer
Decor - very modern, we loves the glass panelling
TV!!! - New smart veira, now having to try and drag other half out of currys as he wants one!
Breakfast - so much choice, continental, full english (please see below) Cup of tea could have been nicer!

Bad Points:
Shower/wet area - we managed to flood the bathroom twice
No ventilation in the bathroom
Movies - because we paid in advance and despite having the on demand package we had to ring reception every time we wanted to access it and they tried to charge us on check out
Spa area - small chaning area, take your robe with you as the towel you get given is the size of a postage stamp and it was very busy, I couldn't swin as people were just hanging out in the pool and it is on the small size
Breakfast - we read someones comment about no smoked salmon and laughed, but on the menu it says black pudding and baked beans and there were none available, we didn't bother asking as the choice was vast, but we thought we would mention it!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, it looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparklyPurple80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed, constructive review and for your kind comments. I would like to clarify that the breakfast items on the a la carte menu are available to order rather than displayed on the buffet as they are cooked to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I took my mother to this five star hotel for a treat, whislt going to see Jesus Christ Superstar at the MEN.This hotel is very slick and has been refurbished to an excellent if somewhat bland standard.The rooms we had were really well put together and thought out.We had one basic twin with excellent wet room, bath and wash basin area and I had room 1212 which is a junior suite, which has the same basic layout as a basic room with the addition of a sitting room area and terrace and patio on the side.It was a nice upgrade.This hotel has all the expected amenities of a five star hotel and I would stay again on a rate.It is situated just off Deansgate and it is easy to walk to both the MEN and shopping areas from this hotel.
Better than your average corporate hotel! but definately not boutique.

Room Tip: Room 1212 was great if you want a bit more space, with a bit of entertaining space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, service excellent, food very good. Well appointed room although ours was a little warm. Sink area should have a door as you were seen by your occupant which was a little strange. Shower area and toilet was behind a door. Made use of the spa and had an excellent massage. Afternoon tea was to die for! Good location, shops and restaurants were 10 mins walk away. Thank you to all the lovely locals who showed us the right way when we were looking lost! Would go back to Manchester and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kseager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing