We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to love?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned to the US after a magnificent 10-day stay at this grand property, located in the heart of Manchester. The hotel is housed on the site of the Peterloo Massacre that took place almost 200 years ago. Manchester's heritage as the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution is highlighted everywhere you turn, especially in the nearby Museum of Science and Industry and the People's History Museum (my favorite). I spent my vacation enjoying several cities in the North of England, and made day trips to York, Blackpool, and Liverpool (and I even took a jaunt on the high-speed train down to London and back), but came "home" to the Radisson every evening. Its proximity to the main rail station (Manchester Piccadilly) made for easy travel; to get to the station, I would enjoy a colorful 15-minute walk through the Gay Village or else hop in a taxi, which cost around five pounds.

The Radisson Blu Edwardian is my kind of hotel; very plush and modern with the newest technology (indeed, the TV messaging system is so new it still has a few kinks to be worked out, but new is still good.) My King Deluxe Room with a City View was just that: a luxurious accommodation on the top floor, with a killer view of Manchester's Town Hall and the city center. On a clear day, I could easily see the Pennines to the north and east. The room was spacious with an extraordinarily comfy king-size bed. The bath, shower, and vanity areas were all stunning and there was plenty of storage space for my clothing.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant every day and the buffet was generally good, although the food was sometimes lukewarm. The hotel was in the process of renovating its usual breakfast spot, so guests were directed to temporary quarters. I had to ask for coffee refills almost every day, but I figured that the servers were stressed out because they weren't used to the room.

The hotel's fitness center is near the spa and swimming pool in the lower level. I worked out almost every morning and found the gym to be equipped with everything I needed.

There were very few problems with my room, but if anything went awry, it was dealt with promptly. Gary, Louisa, and Chantel were especially helpful during my stay, but everyone I encountered truly made me feel at home. Congratulations to Mr. Stefan Rae and his staff for a job well done. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chitowncpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review and for all of your very kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,218
    1,242
    457
    219
    168
See reviews for
575
2,441
236
1,095
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Last year I stayed at the Heathrow Edwardian and was bowled over by the customer service so when I planned a night out in Manchester I chose the Radisson Blu Edwardian and found that in spite of being absorbed into the Radisson Blu group the service and welcome was as warm and caring as at Heathrow. Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrogatedazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on both our Heathrow and Manchester hotels. We have indeed joined the Radisson Blu group however Edwardian still remains a privatley owned group within the network and all levels of service and product remain the same. We hope that you will will join us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed here a few times each of which have been great although I do wish they would upgrade the TV's! :)

The historic building is fabulous and everything during my stay was great although as a loyal Club Carlson member I have never received a free upgrade at this hotel even when it seems rather quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave27UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Free Trade Hall hotel. We have recently upgraded the TV's in all 263 of our guest bedrooms to Samsung LED Smart TV sets. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed one night on business and enjoyed the stay. Quiet room (as far as that is possible in Manchester) The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and pillows just right. Breakfast was fine, although we were up early and the food was just lukewarm, I expect this would be better after 7.30am when more people are dining. Staff helpful and polite, would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank joy14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on our Free Trade Hall hotel and the comfort you felt in our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I live just outside Manchester and know the city well. My girlfriend and I chose this hotel for a celebration wanting to treat ourselves to a little bit of luxury. And that is exactly what we got. The hotel is perfectly situated, at the heart of the city, close to shops, theatres, restaurants and transport links. It makes good use of the facade of the historic Free Trade Hall for its entrance and lobby. Every member of staff we encountered was cheerful, friendly, polite and helpful throughout our stay. The room was a Deluxe City View room, and again, it did not disappoint, with a panoramic view from the 12th floor of the splendid gothic town hall and the city skyline. The rooms are furnished in a modern style, making good use of dark wood, steel and glass. They are stylish and comfortable. There are so many small details which make the hotel stand out from the crowd and added to the enjoyment of the stay. We ate in the Opus One restaurant in the evening and were not disappointed. We found the decor and the 'red' lighting to be pleasant and it added to the convivial atmosphere (brighter lighting would be more effective at breakfast time though). A minor gripe is that we were seated a little too close to neigbouring diners for comfort, but it did not spoil our evening and the food was excellent. Our steaks and accompanying side dishes were cooked to perfection and the serving of soups and chips in miniature pans was a nice touch. Because the more informal Alto restaurant was being refurbished the menu was a mixture of both restaurants' offerings. Because of this the Manchester Trio of desserts was missing from the menu, to my girlfriends disappointment. I asked our waiter if this could still be provided and she went away to ask the chef. I offered to pay any extra cost. The answer was that it could be provided, and we were both really pleased. It's so nice to receive genuinely good service, and small kindnesses like that can make all the difference to your enjoyment. We were not charged extra for it either. It's a good example of the way everyone seems to go out of their way to be helpful and assist you to enjoy your stay. I was happy to pay the service charges, because the service was excellent. It was a thoroughly memorable and enjoyable experience staying at the Radisson Blu Edwardian, and I will return at the merest hint of an excuse.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Bolton_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an detailed review of our hotel, OpusOne restaurant and the surrounding area - we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked a studio suite, and I must say this room had the biggest bed we have ever seen!! The furniture was modern and stylish, with a nice bathroom area. The staff were professional and polite. Having complimentary wifi in the hotel is a nice touch.

Would have got 5 stars if it had parking, but there was an NCP car park within walking distance which cost £18 for 24hours, so not too bad.

Room Tip: Studio suite is very spacious and came with a couch and chair, as well as a coffee table and desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of our popular Junior Studio Suites, our super king sized beds are certainly proving popular with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

European hotels are known to be small and have limited facilities but this is not the case for the Royal Edwardian. The hotel is set in an aged building but the interior has a modern touch. The most important quality of a hotel is to look clean and new to every guest and this place gives you that feeling.

The love factor:
1. The hotel has a pool and sauna. It's a nice place to relax after a long day traveling or just to keep warm from the unrelentless rain.
2. It's always location, location, location. 5 minutes walk to Canal street or most of the major shopping malls. You could walk from the train station as well if you want to save a few quid.

Things we just won't miss:
1. We can't comment on the breakfast as it isn't part of the package but we get daily reminders on the Telly before we could watch anything so that is a pain.

Good tip: yeah yeah, no breakfast but Katsouris deli is a delightful place for breakie! It's only a 5 minute walk away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank myselfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us here at the Free Trade Hall, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly look into the breakfast messages sent to the televisions for you. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing