We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great weekend venue”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Great junior suite - well appointed, quiet, free wifi.

Breakfast was excellent and cool, but expensive, bar. Would stay again and would eat in next time.

Hotel is in a fabulous location. Used the Spa which was a 3.5/5. The pool had a leak when we were there - but overall the spa was simply OK.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for this feedback. The issue with the pool was an isolated incident so you will be able to enjoy the full facility when you return. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,251
    1,253
    463
    223
    172
See reviews for
582
2,470
237
1,105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I usually like staying here, and have done so for years, but tonight I had my worst hotel dinner in 5 years.

The level of service in the restaurant is sloppy, complacent and unprofessional; I had suffered that at breakfast in the past, but what happened tonight was on a different scale. It has made me reconsider staying here ever again, despite the fact that I really enjoy staying here (restaurant excepted).

I arrived on Sunday afternoon to see only one member of staff on duty. Nothing mentioned about the main restaurant being closed.

I went to the other restaurant – Alto – which has around 80 covers – and there were barely 10 diners. My starter did not arrive, but an unordered glass of wine did. My main course arrived – and I was made to feel it was my fault that they had forgotten the starter. No bread had arrived either. I was told that the starter would arrive in 5 minutes; it took 15. I was offered a free glass of champagne – in a manner that suggested a bribe. The starter eventually arrived with bullet hard peas. The main course, a further 20 minutes later, was served with the reheated asparagus that had been served up by now 40 minutes earlier. I raised this, yet no apology was offered. Despite my having explained clearly to the manager by this point on several occasions what was wrong, and why I was unhappy, unbelievably, the bill came with a service charge added and a space for a gratuity! I refused to pay it – but what sort of professional would have thought it appropriate to put on the bill? The offer of a free meal in the restaurant the next night was, in the circumstances, laughable. Needless to say, there was no one at reception by this point (21:40).

I am booked in to stay here on several more occasions this month and next, but wonder now if it is worth cancelling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JKHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for taking the time to speak to our Restaurant Manager and Chef regarding your feedback about your meal last night. As I am sure you can see from our reviews this is indeed not our normal standard and we can only apologise again that you did not enjoy your experience in Alto.
We are very proud of our two restaurant offerings and would ask you to reconsider your view by dining with us again while you are here.
Please contact me directly and I will personally make the arrangements to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

A lovely clean, modern hotel, with great rooms and excellent staff. Without exception, every staff member, from the concierge when we arrived, through reception, housemaids, restaurant and bar staff through to the concierge when we left was smiling, helpful and chatty; nothing was too much trouble. A special mention must go to Laura, a waitress in the Opus Restaurant, who was the best waitress we have ever come across. She obviously loves her job and her customer service skills were excellent, making my birthday meal (which I only mentioned in passing - and she proceeded to provide an extra treat from the kitchen for) extra special. The restaurant was busy, with a great atmosphere and excellent food. Next time we stay, we will try the spa and pool as we didn't have enough time during this stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments about our team members. I am pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed at the Radisson Edwardian in Manchester whilst on a business trip to the Manchester Central Conference Centre. The location of the hotel was ideal only being 200yds away (important in Manchester as it rains frequently!).
The hotel itself was excellent with comfortable rooms and quality amenities. The staff were incredibly friendly and always willing to help.
Based on my experience, travellers would struggle to find a better hotel in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and would like to thank you for all of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Originally booked in the hotel for two nights with my partner. Had a fantastic time, the hotel was spotless and staff are very friendly nothing is too much trouble and they go that extra mile for the guests. Highly recommended to the point that we stayed an extra night. Thank you to ben stokes for making us so welcome. Can't wait to come back at the end of July.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chick1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for this great feedback and very kind comments about our team. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We booked and stayed for two nights the evening following our wedding in one of the Al-fresco suite. The bed was not fully made with the bed spread/throw was just folded and placed on the chair along with the large cushions also just placed at the bottom of the bed. The slide doors to the veranda were faulty we had to call someone up 3 times to open & close we were then told that it was broken and that we would be transferred in the morning.

We had already planned our stay and the following morning were informed that the swimming pool was under maintenance and the pool at The Midland was available. We continued with our plans and at 6.30pm went down to go the the swimming pool and were told that the pool at The Midland was now closed. No one had informed us of this on reception when we had queried use of the pool.

The website states that there is in-room entertainment including DVD, CD player etc but in fact we had to ask for this and then maintenance came up and placed the items in the room. The housekeeping lady buzzed the door even though the do not disturb sign had been switched on, she then knocked and entered even though we shouted for her to wait and we still asked her to wait but she continued to walk into the room and then apologised and waited outside.

We were not provided with enough sugar or coffee and continuously had to ask for this to be brought up.

The concierge service was brilliant, the staff were polite and welcoming when approached and were happy to help. Just shame we had to keep contacting then for what should have been provided as standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMahmood19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise that you were not escorted to your room, we offer a turn-down service which would explain the bed throw and cushions. This should have been pointed out to you along with instructions for opening the patio door. Thank you for bringing to our attention the error on the web site which has since been corrected although ipod docking stations are provided in every room. The temporary fault with the swimming pool was completely out of our control and was restored to full use as quickly as possible. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and thank you for all of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

unfortunately for me i had booked this hotel through a booking agent, on arrival at the hotel the receptionist had no booking logged on the system for me, i had to then provide information about my booking and i emailed the information to a member of the admin staff. at that point after the initial embarrassment i thought my booking had been rectified and got on with enjoying my break.
i enjoyed an excellent spa treatment and with help with directions from the lovely gentleman who worked in the reception area i enjoyed some sightseeing around the city. my room was comfortable apart form the fact i had booked a double room and had to make do with a twin as there were no doubles available, but that was a small niggle. the housekeeping was immaculate.
my checkout was such an awful experience, bearing in mind what had happened during my check in i thought it would all run smoothly. no! the information that i had passed on during my check in had not been acted up on and i was proceeded to be charged again. once again i had to provide proof of my booking and proof that my bank had been debited the amount from the agent. i emailed both of these onto a member of admin staff who once again was going to investigate. you can imagine the disappointment and also the huge embarrassment i felt at this time. i was informed that if the information i provided was correct then i would receive a refund for the second payment. i was that upset at this point i caught the very first train back home. i have now received an email informing me that i have now received a full refund for the second payment of the room.
i will never stay at this hotel again. my stay in manchester has been thoroughly spoiled.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review, I was most concerned to read your comments. As we are unable to identify your stay I would be grateful if you could contact me so that I may personally discuss this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing