We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hostel in a good location”
Review of Hatter's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatter's Hostel
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hostel is within a short walking distance of many of the local amenities and attractions - only five minutes from Piccadilly train station, the bus station and also the main night life areas, yet far enough away that you aren't troubled with noise.

I was visiting Manchester to take part in the Great Manchester Run and although I could have travelled in on the day, I wanted to stay in a hostel to see if I could 'still cope' with them and then possibly go travelling this summer.

As with all hostels, the atmosphere does depend on the other people there, but as hostels go, Hatters run this hostel well, providing free wifi, tea, coffee and toast all day long, and a large enough area for people to mix and mingle.

Despite being a weekend, I was able to get an early night on the Saturday prior to the race and although people do come and go all night, the hostel is just a base to stay and provided all the facilities and amenities that are needed. There were a number of other people there for the race which was pretty cool.

The shower and bathroom facilities were kept clean although the showers could only be turned on or off - temperature could not be adjusted and to be honest they were quite hot.

I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank ukdave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 577 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best part of this hostel is the great location. Walking distance from the Manchester Picadilly station, where you can easily take a train to the airport or other cities like London or Liverpool. Located on the edge of the Northern quarter, its close to basically everything, shopping, bars and restaurants. Our room (no 207) had a private large bathroom with shower, there are also shared showers on the first floor that are very clean and look new.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Free breakfast (tea, coffee, juice, toast, jam, fruit, yoghurt) and free toast, coffee and tea 24/7.
Unfortunately they dont have adapters to borrow, you have to buy them at the front desk.
Neat little outdoor common area which is a cool place to hang out.
Common areas with pooltable, couches and TV.
The worst thing about the hostel is that you don't have wifi connection in the dorms, only in the common areas.
Don't miss the pubcrawl, great way to get to know people and well worth the 10 bucks.
Would definetley stay at this hostel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a solo room on the top floor of this hostel and found it very pleasant. The room was well decorated, free tea coffee and toast 24 hours. Fairly quiet during the night while you need it to be.
The stairs are steep and it would be nice to use the lift and would also be nice to beable to alter the temperature of the shower.
The breakfast is good and tasty, there are fridges and freezers available to use as well as microwaves. I would stay again and would increase the star rating for life and shower improvements.

Room Tip: Male facilities odd floors, female on even.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in the Hatter´s for one nigh (thank God) and all i can say is that it was not a really pleasent experience.
First the toilettes were so dirty, Secondly, the showers were ok but the heating was not on, so you were freezing (it was december so imagine).
Lastly the beds were uncortable and not very clean, I had itchy all night. I could rest my head over the pillow,
Overall I very dirty hostel, never would go back

Room Tip: for the same price get a hotel, much better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayralondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hostel is only 5 minutes from "everything" :) Clean rooms and common places, free wi-fi, very delicious breakfast. The atmosphere depends on people, so I felt OK ! If you like "industry" cities and architecture you should go to Manchester. You can walk along canals and see beautiful old, brick buildings, factories and modern houses in "industry" style, museums: I recommend War Museum, The Lowry, MOSI and Royal Exchange Theatre - very original place to watch spectacles. Manchester fantastic place for 3 days. There is a lot of gigs, so you can join city-break with stunnig concert !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelineKRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a unique hostel place. They are very good and friendly. They charge economically and services are good with tight security. They don't allow non guests to enter at nighttime, when security is more. Women are safe, its best place to stay if they are alone.
I love that they provide free breakfast, bread and juices all day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Love the relaxed, friendly vibe about this place and the location - smack bang in the middle of the artsy, alternative Northern Quarter. The free breakfast was great too - just what I needed after a night out in Manchester!

Apart from the fact that it was a little annoying that the timer on the showers only lasted about 10 seconds (so multiple button pressing required whilst trying to shampoo hair, shave, wash etc), I didn't really dislike anything.

The only thing I will say though is that - certainly when I stayed - this is a party hostel. There were people coming and going throughout the night, including myself and my friend! So this is not the place to stay if you want an early night or a peaceful night's sleep. As my friend and I just stayed here for a weekend, it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactuschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
#90 of 120 in Manchester
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#72 of 120 in Manchester
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#94 of 120 in Manchester
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatter's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatter's Hostel

Address: 50 Newton Street, Manchester M1 2EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $20 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatter's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatter's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatter`s Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing