We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hatter's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatter's Hostel
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Stayed here for my first night in a hostel. Was surprised that the lift was broken and had to go up 5 flights of stairs to get to my room. Room was a dorm with 6 or 8 beds (forget now). Was rather noisy but it was still a nice place.

Best part was the location. A short walk to the train station and lots of other parts of the city. I didn't feel like I was way out of the way there, although the road getting there took a bit to find and was a little dodgy looking.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
Thank thegoaliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    155
    131
    99
    93
See reviews for
8
40
231
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I stayed at Hatters for one night on July 12th while on a quick visit to Manchester. Travellers will appreciate that this hostel is a 10-minute walk from the Manchester-Picadilly train station. I stayed in a single room (306) and found it to be small but totally comfortable with good furniture. Be aware that there was lots of stray light in the room at night, plus noise from people coming and going. It would be wise to bring earplugs and eyeshields to guarantee you get good sleep. Bathrooms were enormous, showers were fine. Staff were very friendly. The Thursday night pub crawl was fantastic with great turnout of well over a dozen people. The staff really go out of their way to bring people together on the pub crawl and make sure that everyone has a good time. On-site internet was cheap and reliable with no waiting for computers. All in all, I'd say the good location, friendly staff and residents, plus the great price make this hostel a great prospect for backpackers and rugged fun-seeking travellers visiting central Manchester.

  • Liked — Good location.
  • Disliked — Noisy at night with lots of residents coming and going
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John_B_Pasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

I stayed at Hatters for one night. The location is perfect, within walking distance of most city centre attractions and very close to public transport. The building is very old and the original features and layout are still there, including Victorian toilets and sinks in the womens bathrooms. They are cute and the history of the place gives it some character. It is not the cleanest hostel I have stayed in and it could do with some re-decoration, but that is not something that bothers me.

However, one major thing is that there is nowhere private to shower. The cublicles have glass walls, and the drying and changing area is totally open. Curtains in the shower cublicles would be nice! There was a lot of noise in my room overnight, though that is not really the fault of the hostel. The communal facilities are good but I did not find it a place to meet people. The other guests were groups and couples who kept themselves to themselves.

I would stay here again if it is just for a night or two, but I would not like to stay here for a longer period.

  • Liked — Perfect location
  • Disliked — No private showers, drying or dressing areas -all too communal and open
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2006

Stayed Here on my Stag night in Nov 06 (dont let that put you off). This property is excellent value for money and all you can ask for in budget accomodation. Clean modern rooms, friendly staff, good comunal areas. Also in a great location 5 mins walk to Picadilly train station and 1 min walk to Picadilly gardens. As you can tell Im impressed.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank oatcake247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Stayed here for just one night before catching a flight and it was much nicer than expected.

It is only a 5 minute walk from the main Train Station so very convenient for catching an early flight out the next morning. It is also in a nice location for exploring the city. As well the staff were very friendly and everything was nice and clean.

The showers are a bit tricky as they have no temp control so you have to shower early in the morning or late at night to get really warm water but still some of the cleanest hostel bathrooms I have ever seen.

Just be prepared for stairs is my only major advice as it is 5 stories. There is a lift but I got the feeling they only use it when you check in as it is old and has to be operated by staff.

Otherwise-Very good!!

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — No choice in water temp for shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared for stairs
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#76 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#87 of 116 in Manchester
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Hatters Hilton Chambers
#22 of 77 in Manchester
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatter's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatter's Hostel

Property: Hatter's Hostel
Address: 50 Newton Street, Manchester M1 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatter's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hatter's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatter`s Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing