We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of starring in the British version of 'Hostel'” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Manchester B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthy of starring in the British version of 'Hostel'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed here after attending a concert at the nearby Deaf Institute. We were planning to stay in the Travelodge on Upper Brook St but as we left it too late, it was too expensive. The room we booked in this hotel was £50 - in retrospect, I wouldn't have paid £1.50 for the room we were given. There was wallpaper peeling off, the wardrobe door had been detached and left to rest against it, there was mould in the bathroom and everything just gave a 'dirty' vibe. My friend actually calls this hotel 'The Murder Hotel', because it certainly looks like a few have taken place in it. In future I'll be booking the Travelodge - in advance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madi_Convey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    14
    12
    51
See reviews for
9
20
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel should be closed down! It's filthy and smells foul. I booked a night here with my two children for a relatives wedding. The paper was hanging off the walls, it was mouldy, holes in curtains, dirty sink, toilet and shower. Graffiti in wardrobe and wardrobe door was ripped off and leaning against wall. Lights smashed and not working. We checked out after one hour and had our money refunded.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my friend because we were attending Manchester Gay Pride weekend back in 2012. It was okay, it wasn't spectacular. But you are booking a budget hotel - we stayed Friday, Saturday & Sunday and paid "£25 per head per night" so it wasn't too bad - considering how the pricey that area was around the pride time.

There were major faults with the rooms:
Bedframe was ripped and half hanging off.
Shower curtain was mouldy,
Shower curtain hanging off,
Toilet roll holder hanging off,
Mouldy TV stand,
No handles on cupboards or wardrobes,
Smoke alarm didn't work,
Huge crack in the middle of the toilet seat,
Shower didn't work properly, was literally a drip on full power,
I could go on..

But it served the purpose in which we used it for, to lay our heads and get some rest! Which of £25 isn't that bad! We were really close to Canal Street, literally like 5 minutes taxi away, right next to a hospital, close to the University, town centre wasn't that far away so your facilities are close by.

Upon arrival it did have paint missing and looked shabby, and the interior wasn't much better - the ironing board was in a room so tiny you couldn't shut the door with the ironing board down.

It isn't the Ritz, it's more like Fawlty Towers but it serves the purpose and breakfast is included in the price - as to whether I'd stay there again.. I would, but I'd shop around first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed a place to sleep for a few hours as we had missed the last train to get back to Glasgow after our flight. We were told about this hotel and called up to see if they ad any rooms available as everywhere near the hotel was fully booked. We reserved a room and got to the hotel just after midnight. The man at reception was very friendly. We paid our £50 and he showed us to our room, he also gave us the number for a local takeaway as we hadn't eaten anything since morning. Anyway, the room was dated and very basic but the bed was comfy with four huge pillows and we had a good sleep. The bathroom again is basic. After a quick shower we headed down to breakfast - which is included in the price. We sat down and the cook came and took our order. The food was really good, a nice English breakfast with tea and toast. After we had finished the cook asked if we would like anything else so we had some more sausage and bacon. We had to check out early in order to catch a train and the man at reception was happy to call us a taxi while we grabbed our cases from the room.

Overall, we had a clean room, we slept fine, breakfast was great and the staff were lovely, even if the hotel is a little out dated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the imperial hotel (booked by my husband) while seeing Robbie Williams in concert on 18th June 2013. The first room we were sent to had the following problems:
Musty smell, mould in the shower, cracked shower tray, overflow pipe from toilet going into the shower, no water coming from the shower head, smoke alarm covered up by a carrier bag!! Asked for another room after saying all the problems so we were given a room on the top floor which was really warm, had boogies on the wall by the bed, only 1 mirror in the bathroom, very uncomfortable beds, unframed pictures stapled to the wall and a door that wouldn't shut properly as well as a carrier bag covering the smoke alarm! Staff didn't want to know, although pictures of the hotel show a bar there isn't one ! We didn't bother staying for the breakfast because we couldn't wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a two night break to attend the Rugby League, Magic weekend. Booked a little late and it was one of only a handful of hotels left at 'sensible' prices...

First the good bits;

The staff were very friendly and helpful..

The breakfast room was good and the breakfast was excellent, all food freshly cooked and served hot with extra tea and toast etc on request. The kitchen staff were very attentive and friendly.

Location was good, there was a bus straight into town from the top of the road about 100 yards away. Also plenty of late night shops and restaurants within easy reach...

The sheets and bedding were clean and there were fresh towels which were changed after one night.

Now the 'bad' bits:

This hotel clearly needs a complete refurbishment. I'd read the negative reviews about it being dirty and have to say I definitely did not find it so. However it was very, very, very dated..The carpets and curtains and decor were probably ok when they were done many years ago but now there's paper pealing and an old shower (usable) There's a kind of musty smell to the place which is a little unpleasant.. There was work going on at the hotel which didn't get in our way and I assume it was an attempt at upgrading.

In conclusion, this was a cheap (£50 per night, per room) stay, for which we only needed somewhere to lay our heads and have a reasonable breakfast in the morning. It fulfilled this, but was in a very unattractive environment, and would not be suitable for those who like their comforts to be much more than very basic. The staff were great and that's why we've given this a 3 star rather than much less..Hopefully they will do the place up in the future...

Room Tip: Wouldn't really advise using this hotel unless you just want somewhere quick to lay your head..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Travelled with our daughter to Manchester [ student at Manchester Uni ] and booked Triple room at Imperial Hotel as only available place to stay. Triple room consisted of 2 bunk beds + single bed in a room like a corridor. Blanket covered window as curtain , coat hanger in wardrobe was a looped piece of string , sheet soiled on 1 bed . Didnt dare attempt breakfast and ate out . just got head down for night and promptly left in next morning . Money was insisted on at Reception before key to room and have little all else to say to people other than , Imperial Hotel is a HORRIBLE place and avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Forget it People.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seamus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
My-Places Serviced Apartments
#77 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Oxford Road House
#16 of 81 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rusholme
Park Crescent Hotel
Park Crescent Hotel
#13 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Verdene Hotel B&B
#3 of 27 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Rampant Lion Hotel
#4 of 27 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 157 Hathersage Road, Manchester M13 0HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing