We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont do it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The photos of this place really have got rose tints on them. a very shabby place, bed was the most uncomfortable creaky thing I have ever slept in. there were springs sticking up everywhere, if it hadn't been for us having a drink that night we would have gone home at 3am. no sleep at all, came home aching and tired. room was shabby and most things didn't work. chair had mould on it and windows were stuck. I travel a lot with work and staying in some bad places but I wont forget this one - just don't do it, sleep on the street if you have to!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4VNA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    185
    282
    219
    565
See reviews for
220
500
110
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly but the pebble dash building is a eyesore and the inside smelt old stale and musky lifts had a mind of there own rooms were dated and shower hear broke carpet worn. Cooked Breakfast was worst I've ever tried. Would be ok if it was 5-10 pound hostel. Just knock it down.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

we were allocated this hotel as part of our trip with Caledonian tour from Glasgow to the coronation street tour. I must admit I was dreading staying here as there were so many awful reviews on trip advisor but we were pleasantly surprised to find it was not as bad as we thought.!! the check in was easy and our room was a triple bedded one on the 4th floor, as we opened the door there was a peculiar smell that we had no idea what it was but once in the room we did not notice it our room was at the back facing the motorway so some traffic noise is inevitable here( the room on the front were on a busy main road too so I don't expect there to be any rooms with no noise) the window frame was mouldy and the carpet did not look like it had seen a hoover for some time but otherwise the room was clean and tidy, the bed linen clean and the beds very comfortable. the bathroom was also clean and so were the towels and the shower over the bath was good. the meals in the dinning room were ok though not a lot of choice but what we had was of a reasonable standard there was no porridge at breakfast which is unusual as most hotels do this but looking at the cooked breakfast it was perfectly fine except one strange thing was there were chips!!!!! who wants chips for breakfast? (we had previously stayed at the country house hotel a mile up the road from here and if driving down to stay overnight before a Manchester flight I much prefer the other hotel) but honestly this hotel is no where near the dirty filthy place people have said it is the staff were very friendly and helpful too but I had to take some points off the rating due to the points mentioned

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

stayed here in april 2014 after long flight into manchester airport. Dirty towels, dated decor and hazards everywhere not to forget it has 1920 decor!!!

upon checkout I feel, the corridors are littered with rubbish, equipment, dirty towels, cable and trolleys from our room all the way down the corridor the full length of the hotel!

doors were held open for us but no by polite people but by dirty filthy bin bags!!! see my images

Room Tip: avoid please
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

1st room had previous occupants rubbish everywhere. 2nd room damp, and smelly. Mattress collapsed on one side causing me to roll out onto the floor when drifting off. Spring through the mattress shredded my girlfriends leg. Room was something you'd expect from a down town New York slum hotel for taking ladies of the night and making drug deals. When we complained we were offered a croissant.

Please don't stay here!!!!!!

Spend the extra £20 and stay somewhere better.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimibtherebelmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is cheap and I did not expect much when I booked it so I was very happy when britanya emaild me and said they had double booked and could stop in there much better sister hotel, this was all good untill we got there and waited 35 mins to be told that we had no reservation and there hotel was full ( I had just watched the two receptionist book a couple in and then say to each other there not ment to be here) so we where told to go to our original hotel which we did ! It all goes down hill from here on in , the hotel was very dirty and smelled. When I went to the bar to watch the football I couldn't even see the tv as it was full of locals that where not staying in the hotel.

Needles to say I will not be booking with this hotel chain ever again .... I would rather stop in a shed before I use them .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey87123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on the weekend. What a lovely hotel. Okay, it's dated, but everything was clean and tidy. Great for a quick stay and somewhere to lay your head. Staff great and polite. Bar had cheap prices. Food was okay. All buffet style. Breakfast was great and served up until 10am. Dinner was ok. Not much variety but you can go elsewhere if need be. Overall a lovely hotel to stay. Some reviews have obviously been written by those who expect a palace where ever they go! If that was the case, Trip Advisor wouldn't be needed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clo2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.0 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.5 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
6.6 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#77 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Property: Britannia Airport Hotel
Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing