We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Britannia Airport Hotel Manchester Horror”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #98 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was 2am when we finally arrived at the Britannia Aiport Hotel Mancester, after our transfer failed to appear and it cost us £15 in a normal taxi. Nightshift receptionist took 15 minutes to finally give us our room key thouh on entering the room, we discovered it was already occupied by some poor bloke fast asleep. We were then given another room on the 6th floor, on entering this room we realised it had not been cleaned since the previous occupants, the bed unmade, windows open smelling of cigarette smoke and the toilet was not clean and un-flushed from the previous user. We picked our cases up and left, leaving us with a 3 hour drive home on top of a 12 hour journey. Unclean, unfriendly, the car park was not secure as we were able to get in our car and drive away without anyone stopping us. Never again!!!! Horror ending to a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 1am after our flight got in and was only using the hotel so that we could get a sleep before our drive home! The room we were given was so dirty, I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel but there is no excuse for the filth that we seen! The bathroom had dirt all round the edges, hairs on the floor and pubic hairs in the bath! Paint was coming off the doors, the carpet in the main room was heavily stained and all round the edges of the room were thick with dust, like the cleaners (if u can call them that) didn't know how to use the nozzle of a Hoover! Was that disgusted by the carpet me and my partner didnt even want to stand on it in our bare feet ot shower in the morning, no way was i standing in that shower or using the towels!!! Would of just left if it wasn't now 2am and we were shattered! I know it's a cheap hotel but there is no need at all for the neglect of the place! Reception/bar area looks fine and pleasant when u first go in! We were on the 8th floor of the hotel! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian9632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pretty basic hotel, not very pretty from the outside.

Reception staff were ok friendly enough and checked us in quickly and booked airport transfers (£6) each.

WE had booked a superior room on the basis of other reviews I decided to pay the extra £10 in the hope we would get a decent room. That worked. The room was fine I had no complaints really, it was basic but clean and the bed was comfortable, decent bathroom and we didn't hear too much noise.

We had a drink from the bar prices were reasonable. I also ordered room service which was reasonably priced and it arrived quickly. The food was really nice.

We checked out early as we had an early flight, check out was quick and the transfer arrived on time.

We were happy with what we paid for 1 night stay and a weeks parking £80.

Overall an average hotel within 10minutes of Manchester airport. Nothing flash but was fine for one night.

Only gripe was when we rang for airport transfers on arrival back into Manchester they said it would be 40 minutes which we weren't prepared to wait so we rang a taxi which cost us £11.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the outside this hotel looks tired, inside is worse. As other reviews reception staff hide behind a door at the back of the reception area. Booking in was painfully slow, despite us being the only ones there - it was about four in the morning! Finally we got to our room, (no offer of help with two large cases)but the swipe key wouldn't work.

So back down to reception, and had to shout hello before the guy came from behind the door.

Another long wait whilst he programmed the key.

The room had two double beds crammed into it (one smaller than the other) it would have been really cramped in there with more than the two of us.

Everywhere you look this hotel is shabby and worn out - this place definitely requires some attention. the chair in the room was stained - wouldn't want to sit on it. The bottom of shower curtain was filthy, the surface of the toilet seat had worn through and was filthy.

We decided to skip breakfast in the morning and had to shout hello again before a receptionist reluctantly appeared from behind the door.

I broke a rule of mine and didn't view trip adviser before we booked this hotel....a mistake I will not make again.

Dont bother with the Britannia Airport Hotel find somewhere else....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very convenient for the airport but from the moment you arrive you can see that it is not of a very high standard. The exterior of the lobby looks like the hotel do not own a broom and that no staff ever remove litter from outside. For some reason the reception staff like to hide behind a closed door so that when you enter it appears deserted. In the four days that I stayed there I only once saw a reception staff member wearing a tie and even then the top button of his shirt was open.The bar staff also seemed to hide and only appeared after you had been standing at the bar for a few minutes. I suppose the only saving grace was the bar food which was fair and very reasonably priced. My advice stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: A different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopperheadKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Took twenty minutes to check in then another twenty to get some food.

The room was tired & smelt of smoke as did the rest of the corridor. The bed was just about the most uncomfortable that I have encountered in a hotel.

Won't be going again.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room on the off chance that they have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_Holidaymaker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night before an early morning flight in Manchester, after reading the reviews I was a little concerned.....
We arrived to friendly & helpful reception staff, we had paid for 14 nights parking but our flight didn't land until the morning of the 15th, I had contacted Brittania Hotels beforehand to check this would be ok and they stated it would be an extra £5 - on arrival the hotel said it was no problem and kindly didn't charge. The car park was gated, we were told to park wherever we wanted and had no issues with the car on return after leaving it there for 2 weeks. We used the airport transfer on the way to the airport - this was on time and an all round good service, we didn't use it on the way back purely because we walked straight out the airport into a taxi.
The room was ok, clean but dated but for £50 + 2 weeks parking I wasn't expecting 5* standard, this is an airport hotel and for one night and the price I don't understand the complaints at all. For a night before a flight this is ideal and some crazily fussy people must have stayed here to justify all the bad reviews..!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 8th floor and the room was clean, quiet and had a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kholex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
2.5 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 121 in Manchester
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#76 of 121 in Manchester
106 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 121 in Manchester
1,212 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing