We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel could do a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #93 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Average hotel could do a lot better”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pretty basic hotel, not very pretty from the outside.

Reception staff were ok friendly enough and checked us in quickly and booked airport transfers (£6) each.

WE had booked a superior room on the basis of other reviews I decided to pay the extra £10 in the hope we would get a decent room. That worked. The room was fine I had no complaints really, it was basic but clean and the bed was comfortable, decent bathroom and we didn't hear too much noise.

We had a drink from the bar prices were reasonable. I also ordered room service which was reasonably priced and it arrived quickly. The food was really nice.

We checked out early as we had an early flight, check out was quick and the transfer arrived on time.

We were happy with what we paid for 1 night stay and a weeks parking £80.

Overall an average hotel within 10minutes of Manchester airport. Nothing flash but was fine for one night.

Only gripe was when we rang for airport transfers on arrival back into Manchester they said it would be 40 minutes which we weren't prepared to wait so we rang a taxi which cost us £11.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    192
    288
    228
    578
See reviews for
228
516
117
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the outside this hotel looks tired, inside is worse. As other reviews reception staff hide behind a door at the back of the reception area. Booking in was painfully slow, despite us being the only ones there - it was about four in the morning! Finally we got to our room, (no offer of help with two large cases)but the swipe key wouldn't work.

So back down to reception, and had to shout hello before the guy came from behind the door.

Another long wait whilst he programmed the key.

The room had two double beds crammed into it (one smaller than the other) it would have been really cramped in there with more than the two of us.

Everywhere you look this hotel is shabby and worn out - this place definitely requires some attention. the chair in the room was stained - wouldn't want to sit on it. The bottom of shower curtain was filthy, the surface of the toilet seat had worn through and was filthy.

We decided to skip breakfast in the morning and had to shout hello again before a receptionist reluctantly appeared from behind the door.

I broke a rule of mine and didn't view trip adviser before we booked this hotel....a mistake I will not make again.

Dont bother with the Britannia Airport Hotel find somewhere else....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very convenient for the airport but from the moment you arrive you can see that it is not of a very high standard. The exterior of the lobby looks like the hotel do not own a broom and that no staff ever remove litter from outside. For some reason the reception staff like to hide behind a closed door so that when you enter it appears deserted. In the four days that I stayed there I only once saw a reception staff member wearing a tie and even then the top button of his shirt was open.The bar staff also seemed to hide and only appeared after you had been standing at the bar for a few minutes. I suppose the only saving grace was the bar food which was fair and very reasonably priced. My advice stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: A different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopperheadKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Took twenty minutes to check in then another twenty to get some food.

The room was tired & smelt of smoke as did the rest of the corridor. The bed was just about the most uncomfortable that I have encountered in a hotel.

Won't be going again.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room on the off chance that they have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_Holidaymaker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night before an early morning flight in Manchester, after reading the reviews I was a little concerned.....
We arrived to friendly & helpful reception staff, we had paid for 14 nights parking but our flight didn't land until the morning of the 15th, I had contacted Brittania Hotels beforehand to check this would be ok and they stated it would be an extra £5 - on arrival the hotel said it was no problem and kindly didn't charge. The car park was gated, we were told to park wherever we wanted and had no issues with the car on return after leaving it there for 2 weeks. We used the airport transfer on the way to the airport - this was on time and an all round good service, we didn't use it on the way back purely because we walked straight out the airport into a taxi.
The room was ok, clean but dated but for £50 + 2 weeks parking I wasn't expecting 5* standard, this is an airport hotel and for one night and the price I don't understand the complaints at all. For a night before a flight this is ideal and some crazily fussy people must have stayed here to justify all the bad reviews..!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 8th floor and the room was clean, quiet and had a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kholex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at the Britannia hotel with my girlfriend for one night in May before getting an early flight in the morning at Manchester airport. I also left my car there for 2 weeks.

Before coming to the hotel, I was getting a bit worried after reading some of the reviews about the hotel but I now know they were talking rubbish!

This hotel + 2 weeks parking at the hotel was actually cheaper than paying for the airport parking alone at the official car parks. Our flight even landed on the 15th day for which the hotel kindly did not charge.

The room itself was quite dated, however, it is as you'd expect for the very low price you pay! It was clean and comfy enough and suprisingly we had a pretty decent view over a park and with the city in the distance.

The reception staff were very friendly on the 3 occasions I encountered them and we also used the transfer service that they arrange which was about £6 for a return. We did not use the return though as we did want to wait until the next transfer as our flight landed a 510am and it was pretty cold, so we got a taxi back which cost £14.50.

Overall, very satisfied with the stay and will use again if using Manchester airport in the future.

Room Tip: If I remember correctly, we were in room 808, so if you want the view we had I would suggest that ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Checked in with not very pleasant reception staff, used the lift with smashed glass all over the floor. Room was disgusting and dirty, radiator leaking all over carpet. Changed rooms to one that was just as bad. Wallpaper peeling off and discoloured. Ancient televisions. Would not recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.9 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.5 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
6.6 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Property: Britannia Airport Hotel
Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing