We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great venue for a wedding reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Didsbury House
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Such a great venue for a wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our daughter and her fiancé chose to plan their wedding reception around this hotel because they just loved its stylish but informal character: not at all the same old standard package available elsewhere. Excellent decision! So we took over the whole hotel for 24 hours. The staff were so helpful and friendly, both in the planning and on the day; the food and drink were of excellent quality; the splendid staircase was an ideal setting for the speeches; the layout allowed some guests to steer clear of the band; and so many guests said how impressed they were with the bedrooms. Hard to think how it could have gone better. Of course, such quality doesn't come cheap - but is well worth paying for if you can afford it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am so Happy your Daughter and now Son in Law chose us to celebrate their wedding day. I hope they have left with many memories that will last them forever.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    133
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
88
240
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is certainly beautiful and has a great charm which is exactly why we chose it for a special anniversary night away. Unfortunately what we didn’t realise was we would be sharing the hotel with a wedding. This would not normally present a problem but as a previous reviewer commented the hotel is small and reminiscent of entering someone’s home. During our entire stay we felt like wedding crashers and wasn’t able to truly enjoy our stay and make the most of the hotel. I am sure the wedding party also felt uncomfortable with my husband and I casually dressed wandering around the place trying to find a member of staff to check in! It would have been nice to feel relaxed enough to wander through the various communal rooms of the hotel or even have a drink in the bar prior to our dinner reservation but it all felt really awkward as the rooms were occupied with wedding guests. One half of the car park was blocked off to preserve for the wedding which we presumed was for the wedding photographs. This made parking at the hotel a premium and was forced to wait on the roadside for our taxi as he was unable to pull in. On reflection this is clearly not the concern of the wedding party who I truly hope had a stunning day but was disappointed the hotel had not advised us of the function in order to make an informed decision as in such an intimate establishment this function had a clear impact on other paying guests who have equal expectations. Customer service unfortunately fell short due I suspect due to the demand of a challenging function. Overall, the rooms were stunning and certainly afforded luxury and serenity but we were left feeling all a bit let down for our big night away…lesson learnt I suppose, ask next time!!

Room Tip: The in room bath was just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rascal3687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am so sorry that your stay did not live up to expectations, we take pride in treating each and every guest he same no matter if they are part of a party or not. Like every other hotel we take on Conference and Banquets and this does not normally cause a problem. I would like to talk to you further about this. Please contact me direct on aboneham@11didsburypark.co.uk

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Two night stay as part of a family wedding. Delightful place. Food at the wedding (most importantly) was absolutely delicious. They know how to cook here! Breakfasts were amazing - so much choice and cooked brilliantly. I am a bit of a fan of (American) buttermilk pancakes and they are great here, so average in other places.

The staff treated us beautifully. The rooms were comfortable, well equipped and beautifully presented. Sadly, it is unlikely I will return to the Didsbury because I have no need to return to Manchester but I would definitely say it's a place to stay if you are looking for funky, boutique, comfy and a bit special. The separate rooms where you can have drinks downstairs, nibbles and chats are brilliant. They've thought about everything!

The only slight criticism is that breakfast is downstairs right next to the kitchen so you actually go down utility style stairs. Feels a bit weird when the rest of the hotel is so high end, but it doesn't really matter because when you get to the tables, the food is amazing. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We hold many weddings here due to and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please if you are every back in Manchester we would love to see you again.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel - feels like going into someone's home with cozy sitting rooms, winding hallways and elegant furnishing. We had a gorgeous room on the ground floor (I think we got upgraded) that had a massive bed, bath in the bedroom (!) and a great walk-in shower in the bedroom also (behind a 'wall').
The place was spotless, had modern amenities while still maintaining stylish luxury and gave us a great night's sleep.
Only con was we were able to hear the front-desk phone ringing in the morning - though nothing too bad. Wish we could visit more often to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ground floor room was beautiful and huge. Saw some upstairs rooms too that all seemed amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. That room you stayed in is one of our most popular for its position and comfort. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here recently on a whim as we always see the sign when travelling into Didsbury. It was fantastic, lovely touches with the big brass footed bath and balcony for the shower. Everything was very pretty and the staff very efficient. The only downfall was the overnight porter was a little short with us, letting it down slightly.
Otherwise lovely, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many thanks for your recent response. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. I must apologise for the night staff being a bit short with you and assure you that is not the standard we expect from our staff and it has been dealt with in house.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Yes the pillows were lovely and soft and on the strength of that only we may stay there again, but the rooms are small, expensive and with very little bathroom shelf space. And for that price I would expect them to check that everything in the room worked. The pedal pin in our room only opened manually, so I had to bend down and open it for every cotton bud, as I have a disability that meant that I came up feeling dizzy every time. To some it might have been a small inconvenience, to me a lot of inconvenience and suffering. Because of this, and the very small shelf space in the bathroom, I decided I'd have to do my make-up in the bedroom where there was another mirror, with a light by it, but the light didn't work - we both tried all the plugs and switches but nothing.
Breakfast is down a steep flight of stairs - but hey, I didn't need breakfast anyway, so I didn't bother!
Some bathrooms have no shelf space at all, I was told there were hooks!!- Not sure how you balance a contact lense case on a hook!!
For those who like the bath in the bedroom and don't need to put things on a shelf in the bathroom - you'll love it.

Room Tip: Ring and talk to them about what you want as all the rooms are different. There is no lift but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soosipicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I am sorry we did not live up to your requirements. We do have many standards of rooms and I believe we would have one that may have suited you better such as the Eclectic Villa rooms. As the Hotel was built circa 1830 we do have to make best use of the available space and thats why we put breakfast downstairs. Anything like this please always give reception a call as we would have happily brought breakfast to your room. If you would like to com eback please contact me direct on aboneham@11didsburypark.co.uk.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here as an extension of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a beautiful Eclectic Duplex and were greeted by strawberries and chocolates when we arrived. The service was great from everyone. The house itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akitallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your eclectic duplex. We take pride in our hotel and we are happy that you chose us to take your extended honeymoon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing