We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but really hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #8 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice, but really hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights and was pleased to be given one of the suite rooms on the top floor. Although a bit of a climb, and round numerous corners and doors, I found the room to be excellent. Three rooms of a good size and an excellent sized bathroom with his and hers baths, a large shower with with huge waterfall shower head. The bed was quite low, not as low as a futon, but still pretty low.
The main problem was the heat! For a change we experience good weather in the UK, but on this day the room was unbearable, the lack of air conditioning and windows that open fuller, meant that little or no air could pass through.
Breakfast was good and simple, and the food (full English) freshly cooked.
A good stay if you have business in the business park opposite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKEscaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    134
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
91
244
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at this beautiful place August and it was all great.; the staff have been attentive and were welcoming and helpful, The location was perfect for the Trafford centre and Old Trafford

Stylish and Perfection all round, and great for purpose.
24hour bar it's a plus and The eastern european girl was Great. So Kind and friendly, gave us great tips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay there during business trips because it is conveniently located next to towers business park. The rooms I have seen so far were lovely decorated but tiny. In the rooms you hear every noise from the hallway and the footsteps of the people on the floor above as well as alarm clocks and phones ringing in the rooms next to you. The service is friendly but not always as helpful and quick as it could be. The food is of an average quality and drinks are expensive. In my opinion this hotel is overpriced. Although the house itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you have been experiencing disturbed nights. Our Hotel is almost 200 years old and a beautiful Grade II listed building giving it bags of character but also the occasional creak. With regards the size of the room, we have a range of room types to suit all tastes and budgets and would recommend one of our Eclectic Villas if you are looking for a more spacious room. I would like to discuss your experiences further and would welcome an approach during your next stay or for you to contact me directly at the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Andy Boneham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you don't mind not being in the City centre, then this hotel is perfect. I love Didsbury and used to live there as a student years ago. This hotel is in a good location (very easy to get to from the motorway) and is within walking distance from the high street and Didsbury's bars, pubs and restaurants.

The room was spacious and beautifully decorated I wish we had had more time to enjoy the facilities. The staff were friendly and very helpful and booked us a cab for our evening out,

We enjoyed breakfast in the morning and then made a swift departure.

The only reason why this hotel doesn't get a 5 rating is because the building is old we could hear every footstep and movement of everyone coming up the stairs and past our room, so we didn't sleep too well. There was also no air conditioning so the room got quite stuffy (I was glad we didn't stay during the heat wave !)

Room Tip: If you get room 39 try and swop it, it is right by the stairs and you can hear every footstep and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveLiquorice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful guest house on Friday 9th August and it was all I had expected and more; the staff couldn't have been more attentive and were all very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The location was perfect for the Trafford centre and Old Trafford- both of which were the reasons for our stay.

The room was perfect, the bed was a dream and all the added extras really made the difference. My favourite feature was the bath... Massive! Exactly what you need after a days shopping... Well and a glass of wine, which was easily obtained from the hotel's 24hour bar.

Perfect hotel for my bloke and I- no kids ruining the ambiance :)

Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Didsbury House on a number of occasions at it doesn't disappoint. Great room up on the top floor with lovely bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff and a great breakfast. All in all a very good boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Mrs_Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Didsbury house is a lovely hotel, very comfortable, we thought it was a bit overpriced, and we were very disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price (we paid £342 for two rooms. Location was good, within a few minutes walk of the wedding reception we were going to. We did find the room very hot at night, even after leaving the window wide open all night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taviragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#4 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing