We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#1 for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #8 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night at Didsbury House, and were disappointed that we could not stay longer. The lady working on Reception (and later in the bar) on the night that we arrived was friendly and helpful at check in, and also assisted us in booking a taxi into the City for a dinner reservation that night. Our room was clean and comfortable, with great decor, really nice shower products provided and comfortable beds. We were pleased to see that Wifi is now available for free and would recommend Didsbury House to anyone visiting Manchester.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank clairez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    134
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
91
244
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here in such a beautifully furnished period building. The hotel feels very homely and is delightfully decorated. We were upgraded to a loft room suite with a high spec bathroom. Only comment would be that for the price and what you expect for it, the rooms should really come with complimentary water. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Eamonn and Sally O'Laughlin should be very proud of the experience they share with guests at this "must visit" hotel. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are stylish and very clean and comfortable. This is a must for weary business travellers and get away from it all weekenders. The previous low ratings should not be taken into account (comments from 7 to 8 years ago). This is a high class hotel with excellent amenities, rooms and food. Something about the attention to detail and the guests needs, that bigger hotels do not offer. Number eleven 4 doors down is smaller and homely but offers the same high standards. Many thanks Paddy and Sue.

Room Tip: With different tiers in pricing it reflects the size and amenities in your room. One Large double be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddyFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Great to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated by the team who make every effort to deliver an exceptional experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Didsbury House hotel last weekend for 2 nights. We had a fantastic time from start to finish. The hotel is a home away from home and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We were upgraded to the loft room which they call the "bridal suite" which has two cast iron freestanding baths!! It's a beautiful room and has real character. We saw two of the other rooms which also looked lovely and had real character.

Didsbury is a lovely little village with easy access to the town centre but we also dined in Gusto (lovely Italian restaurant) on one of the nights which we were able to walk to from the hotel.

I will certainly be returning to Didsbury House and can't recommend it enough. Although we didn't have breakfast, we were able to have a nice fresh coffee in the lounge whilst paying a game of chess!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
A home from home is how we are often described. I only wish my home was like this! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on 16th feb after being recommended by a friend who lives locally. The hotel is a nice boutique property, bit of an issue checking in about room assignment but were offered a drink in the bar while it was sorted. The duty manager was very pleasant and efficient though when we were showed to the room there were dogs barking in the room next door. To be fair she immediately offered to move us but I said its ok long as it was a one off. Needless to say 10 minutes later I was back at reception asking to move as the barking was getting worse. Again we were treated very professionally and I can't fault the staff, she moved us to an alternative room so all good. Unfortunately we discovered several hours later some loud noises coming from upstairs and our bathroom, either the room above were running the worlds largest bath or the boiler was above us and noisy, this combined with a heavily creaking floor was disappointing for what is supposed to be a top quality hotel which is not cheap. We headed off in town for dinner without asking to be moved because we knew the property was full and did not want to move to the sister property. Unsurprisingly the same thing happened in the morning but we were off on our travels by then. Make no mistake this is a very nice little hotel, we were just obviously unlucky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R50KEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read you found all our staff helpful and efficient, we are very fortunate to have such a wonderful team. We have, in the past, allowed small dogs in our hotel on the premise they are well behaved and confined to the owners bedroom, although it is apparent on this occasion, the dog was not as quiet as we had been led to believe. With regards the noise from above your room, we do not have a boiler situated in that area of the hotel so a record breaking bath is more likely the source. Our hotel is almost 200 years old and a Grade II listed building giving it bags of character but also the occasional creak. I apologise sincerely for the disruption to your stay and am wholly confident that should you return you will have a very different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed on a Sat night in March, in the area going to Greens Restaurant. Overall the hotel is very good, but given the cost there were a few little things that need improving if possible, and some others that probably can't. Good location for our restaurant trip although the setting is not particularly special. The rooms were ok, but not a fan of baths in the bedrooms, also in our room the toilet is in a separate room with no hand-washing, you have to go through 2 doors, through the bedroom to the sink in the bathroom....The bathroom itself doesn't have a door on it either...maybe thats the modern way but it doesn't work for me. There is a distinct lack of hooks and shelves in the bathroom - nowhere really to put toiletries or hang up towels and robes. The TV was small by current standards, particularly as the room was big but maybe that depends what your used to (important consideration as the Rugby was on. The room was starting to become a little tired, bit of skirting split and fallen off, damaged sink. I was a bit miffed about the extra cost of the breakfast, but contrary to other reviews found the breakfast room ok, and the selection good, although my partner also didn't get their hash brown! Service was very good, orange juice excellent after a heavy night. The bar is very nice, very friendly waitress from the old country, the other reception rooms looked really nice although we didn't get to use them. In summary quite expensive and they need to improve a little to make it feel worth it ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed breakfast, the service from our team and our lounge and dining areas. Your comments about the shortfalls in your bedroom have identified areas for improvement however we are limited with regards the layout due to the building being 2 centuries old and listed. I do feel it worth noting, as there seems to be some confusion regarding hash browns as mentioned in a couple of recent reviews, we do not have hash browns anywhere on our menus. If anyone is disappointed by this…..don’t worry, Chef makes a cracking Irish potato cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend Didsbury House as an excellent base in Manchester if you are looking for quiet, comfortable accommodation in a village within a town situation. The staff are very welcoming and eager to accomodate any need you may have for your stay. We used room service and enjoyed a beautifully presented buffet style supper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic endorsement of our hotel. I am delighted we inspired you to complete your first Tripadvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#4 of 116 in Manchester
404 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
511 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
1,179 reviews
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing