We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Didsbury House
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

We went to Manchester to see The Arctic Monkies play at the Lancashire County Cricket Ground. I searched the internet for a hotel, eventually last minute.com came up with the Didsbury. I then went on the Didsburys own website were I found they had late availabilty rooms at a fraction of the price they normally are, so I booked a classic room and off we went!!

Didsbury itself is a great town it has a real village feel about it and the houses around the area are lovely. We found a great pub to drink in and there are plenty of restaurants to eat at too.

When we arrived at the hotel our room wasnt' quite ready so we had a drink in the walled garden area, (very nice water feature). We read the papers and enjoyed the sunshine. Later we were shown to are room and we were not disapointed. Beautifully decorated, nice free toiletries, lovely bed, gorgeous bath and shower. It just felt homely but very stylish. The hotel had beautiful pieces of furniture and the stain glass windows are just wonderful.

The staff are very helpful, friendly, not at all snooty!! We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and plan to go back very soon.

My only criticism was that the cleaners broom cupbaord was right next to our room and from an early hour we could hear the hoover and cleaning equipment being put in and out of the cupboard and the cleaners seem to congregate outside are room from their morning catch up!!

  • Liked — The beautiful furniture and deco
  • Disliked — The cleaners broom cupboard next to our room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicsandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    133
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
88
240
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

We chose the Didsbury House Hotel over one of the large chain hotels in Manchester due to the reviews and I must say that we were unable to fault it.
We booked the Harvey Nichols package and we were not disappointed. When we arrived we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff who advised us that our chauffeur will be waiting to pick us up at a certain time and showed us to our room. The room was lovely, the bed covered in rose petals (part of the package). We had a suite wich was very spacious and tastefully decorated, the cast iron bathtub was a nice touch too.
As the staff advised our chauffeur was there to take us to our meal on time, the meal was fantastic and the chauffeur was there waiting to take us back again.
Breakfast was lovely and made to order so was fresh and hot. We were welcomed in the morning by the staff and they were interested to see if we enjoyed our evening.
This hotel is great, very personal and we will definately say there again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Bedroom was hot
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

I booked this hotel directly with the hotel and have to say the staff are fantastic, however sadly the hotel quality was not. It is situated on the outskirts of Didsbury village and is really on the edge of a housing estate.

The hotel is small and the communal rooms are nicely decorated, however our room was not worth the £190 we paid. We stayed in a duplex junior suite. The first room we arrived in had stains on the sofa and even though I had booked the room for two, we had only been given one set of towels.

However, when I mentioned this, the hotel did swiftly change our room. However, taking into consideration the price for one night, it did not provide that luxury touch. There was no dressing gowns, the coffee's etc were just the same as you would find in a travel lodge (instant sachets etc) and you even had to pay for the little bottles of water in the room; at £190 a night I would expect those to be complimentary. I felt that everything in the hotel was an extra, the rooms can only be booked room only and breakfast (which is superb) was £14.50 per head.

Overall, it is certainly not the best, no plasma tvs (the remote was held together with black insulation tape) and the shower flooded, would I stay there again? No, I would simply recommend an apartment in the centre of manchester which offered the same standard (but with added feature of all the mod cons) for half the price.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The rooms that tried to be trendy but failed due to their quality.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We have stayed here in the past and when the opportunity came to stay in manchester we jumped at the chance to go back to the hotel. We booked through the website and got a late availability deal which was great value for money.

We arrived at the hotel early and were greeted by warm and friendly staff who couldnt wait to help us plan our evening with excellent restaurant recomendations and some suggestions of bars. Having checked into our room we went back down and enjoyed a drink and a banter with the girl behind the bar who suggested some nice places to see around didsbury.

Breakfast the next day was hot, fresh and yummy slightly more pricey than the last time we stayed but still worth it. One of the main things we love about this hotel is the feeling of not being rushed everything has a sunday morning coffee and papers vibe that if allowed we would have stayed and enjoyed all day!!!

Can't rate this hotel highly enough if you go to manchester then do not consider booking anywhere else.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertyytrewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

We have just returned home today following a 3 night stay at this hotel in an Eclectic Villa which had a massive roll-top bath in the room and a great monsoon walk-in shower.

The hotel was a real home from home and totally relaxing and the breakfasts were exceptional and not to be missed - cooked to order each morning.

The village of Didsbury is just a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and it has a great selection of restaurants and bars. Had dinner at The Lime Tree which was excellent in both food and service and we would highly recommend it.

The public transport from Didsbury Park into Manchester City Centre was great too. Buses pass the road end every 10 minutes and it cost just £3.00 return - unbelievable!!!

Had a fantastic time and can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Monsoon shower and amazingly comfy bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sandj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for a single night last month and wasn't disappointed. The room was large and well appointed with nice toiletries and white bedlinen.

Staff were very attentive and friendly - whole ambiance of the place is excellent, very romantic and stylish.

Only minor irritations (and I'm a bit of a perfectionist!) are that we had two single beds pushed together instead of a proper king and we were in a room on the ground floor next to the terrace which was a bit noisy when people went out for cigarettes periodically.

Breakfast was good (if a bit pricey). Only gripe is that the hollandaise on my eggs Benedict was strangely vinegary.

All in all a near perfect stay -well done Didsbury House!

  • Liked — Ambiance and romance
  • Disliked — Noisy room next to the terrace
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahTLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

I had been recommended this hotel by a friend. Other reviews seemed to suggest that the more basic rooms could be something of a disappointment, and as we wanted to stay somewhere special, we booked
into the Opus Suite.

We had a great time, the suite was large, comfortable and really well furnished, and the staff were attentive throughout. We ordered a
simple room service snack, which was superb (I didn't think brie on foccacia could be so good) and the breakfast really is enormous. It really did serve ideally for a romantic weekend.

The only 2 minor quibbles are (i) that the room wasn't ready when we arrived, but staff apologised and gave us complimentary drinks, and we were only waiting 10 minutes, so this is forgivable and (ii) the annoying habit, mentioned by another reviewer, staff have of verbally
blurting out the total cost of the stay when settling the bill at the
end. As the whole thing was a surprise romantic weekend away I didn't
really want my girlfriend to know the cost of it - and thankfully she
didn't hear - but really hotels aspiring to this standard should know
better.

Nonetheless, the overall experience was favourable and this hotel does come recommended for a romantic break.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drhenbroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing