We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep !”
Review of Didsbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Didsbury House
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good nights sleep !”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the hotel after a long trip back from Asia. To say I needed a rest was an understatement. The hotel was recommended to me by a business associate, what a great place. Amazing decor, very friendly and professional staff who looked after me.

I recommend the full Irish Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yousavedmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    140
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
96
248
20
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our 2nd time here and yet again Didsbury House didn’t disappoint. Wonderful hospitality from an obviously genuine and motivated team. Our room was comfortable and spacious, breakfast fantastic and the lounges serene and peaceful. This is a great hotel, it sets the standard for the rest to follow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

stayed for a nice romantic night and it was perfect, the bed was the best nights sleep i'd ever had, the bath was perfect size for two, was unique and romantic, staff wer very friendly also, will definitely be returning

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasharamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Our beds prove a real issue if you have to be somewhere early, you just don't want to get out! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night after we got married and I've got to say that the hotel was great. The beds were comfortable, the furniture really nice, the bathroom and deco was fantastic, and the service was good. Check in was easy, and check-out was quick and simple too.
I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelcritic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and congratulations! I'm pleased to read we've contributed to a good start to married life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Normally we go for large chains with a professional but slightly impersonal feel; however, for a change we thought we would try the boutique market, what a revelation. Our room was delightful, full of character, we especially loved the 'in bedroom' bath (for the more modest these are optional, that being said there is also and outdoor option). The staff were excellent, the food of a high standard and the location perfect for exploring the surrounding area.

We will be returning at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardTheWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I'm glad we've converted you! Being a cosy hotel we can offer a much more intimate and personal service. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms were quite small with an awkward opening bathroom door. Difficult to control the temperature of the room, too hot or too cold. Toiletries in the room were basic and things like shower caps and nail files not provided. Breakfast was expensive for what it was and the service was slow. On the positive side, the public areas were very smart with very nice furnishings and decor, reception staff were very pleasant although not always obvious as they seemed to have several roles. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank M11ssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I apologise that your experience wasn't as we intended. We don't like to overload the bathroom with toiletries and have a full selection available at reception. Perhaps we should make our guests more aware of this. I'm also sorry you found our breakfast expensive, this is not feedback that is familiar to us. Our breakfast is freshly cooked to order and the delivery time can reflect this. Delighted though that you found the team friendly and enjoyed the hotel overall, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our fourth stay and each has been excellent. Ideally located and very relaxing. Staff are very helpful and are always to hand. Don't expect a modern hotel with all the facilities because it is not. It is a Victorian house converted to a hotel which provides a relaxing and peaceful environment. Not ideally suited for visitors with young children i would have thought - they might prefer a busier hotel with more facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havebikewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I'm delighted to read we're meeting (and hopefully exceeding!) you expectations at each stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#8 of 117 in Manchester
424 reviews
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
607 reviews
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 117 in Manchester
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 117 in Manchester
1,280 reviews
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,940 reviews
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Property: Didsbury House
Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing