We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee & Light Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Missoula

Missoula
Ranked #488 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Missoula Piccadilly Gardens is right in the heart of Manchester's city centre. By day a relaxed and friendly place to grab a bite to eat and catch up with your friends or to escape the office, by night we become the perfect place to party offering style and substance without an ounce of pretension. Open early for breakfast and coffee, Missoula serves freshly prepared food until 10pm, so why not try a dish from our menu? If food isn't top of your agenda, you could always treat yourself to one of our fantastic cocktails - we promise that you won't be disappointed. If there's a group of you or its a special occasion, book one of our exclusive booths and party the night away in style. Whether there are 10 of you or 200, whatever the occasion, contact us via the 'Book an Event' link and allow us to tailor your visit with us to your own specific requirements!
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Coffee & Light Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having just gone round and round manchester but did find a good carpark at minshull st all day £3.50, we needed to recharge after a long trip and this was just round the corner we had a skinny latte and americano both hot and staff helpful and friendly. We loved the decor and came back for lunch fish & chips and beef sandwich both for £8.95 not a slow service at all and food was hot. Fish looked done to death but nothing wrong with it, drinks as well with our lunch came to £16.05. I would say its very much weatherspoons food but it was clean, tidy, good staff and a good price. If i had seen these reviews i would have walked on by glad i didn't and gave it a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tail2Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    66
    37
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having eaten at this establishment before we thought it was a failsafe place for a quick bite to eat on a busy Saturday.

We orders two Missoula burgers with the obviously inexperienced bar man, but I was rather certain it wasn't a difficult order to get wrong.

When the food arrived in a timely manner which was a bonus as we were rather in a hurry, I noticed straight away that what had arrived was not what we ordered, my friend at this point had already cut his in half and added sauces, and actually taken a bite.

When I noticed I immediately went to the Bar and mentioned a member of staff that we had been given the wrong food, her reply was rather curt and she obviously wasn't bothered (well what have you been given) was her exact response. The original waitress happily took our good away and said she would sort it with the kitchen staff and offered her apologies, at this stage this was fine.

About 15 -20 mins later the burgers returned and to my disgust were the exact burgers that we had already received earlier wrongly this was obvious as my friends burger was cut in half with a bite mark in it, this I thought was disgraceful all they had done was added a slice of cheese and undercooked bacon on each one, why this had 15 - 20 mins I have no idea, clearly our food had been sat under a hot plate until the "chef" could be bothered getting our order correct.

We of course said this was unacceptable and we wanted fresh burgers and not re hashed warmed up ones, the waitress herself was very apologetic and said she would take take them back straight away, clearly she felt uncomfortable that the had to bring them back in that state. We advised her we didn't wish to pay for the burgers and we wanted to speak to the manager. We asked her how long this would take for the food to arrive and she said no food orders had been taken an it wouldn't be long at all.

About 10 mins later she returned an offered us a full cash refund and that the manager would be over momentarily.

It also bares mentioning we waited another 30ons for our good to arrive and in that time many other foo orders were taken and were served before ours so obviously our order was not being treated as it should.

The food eventually arrived again with another apology, we had to rush it so didnt actually enjoy what we had to be honest.

What is worth mentioning is that the manager never came over to us despite asking to see him, I think this is a complete and utter disgrace and this young man should not be in a position of as manager let alone a supervisor. Another annoying fact that he was cleaning tables mere yards away from us and made no point of
Coming over. Very, very, very poor service.

The only seemingly professional and courteous member of staff was the poor waitress who had to take out good away twice.

I shall certainly never be eating at this establishment again ever, and Will make sure that others are made aware of the shocking level of customer service......

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Topherjbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Terrible Terrible service! Do NOT go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Called in for a fry up on a quiet Sunday, waited almost 50 mins, still no sign of food! People in after us, got served before us ... with what I'd ordered! The waitress then had to ask what I ordered again.

We also waited the same time for a coffee and tea. In this time, we also saw other orders get messed up. Woeful service!

Also, one of our orders did arrive - there was no maple syrup for the 'pancakes with maple syrup' and they were rock hard.

Got our money back in the end and went elsewhere (go to KRO Piccadilly bar and grill - for excellent service and good food).

Made a point of telling a group of girls who came in, not to bother waiting unless they wanted to eat in an hours time ... and not what they ordered. DO NOT GO!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GJK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“!!!!!AWFUL SERVICE!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The Barman didn't have a clue what to do. He put our order through wrong. Which we didn't know until the food arrived... 40 minutes after for a 'Missoula burger and curly fries' which is ridiculous. It wasn't busy at all.
I was too hungry at this point to realise the burger wasnt what we ordered and taken a bite. However my friend said it was wrong. He went to the bar and explained. To have a waitress take our plates... And have an onion ring and a piece of bacon shoved on top of our existing (now cold) burgers with my bite still in the burger!!!! This was disgusting!! When asked to speak to a manager. He didn't arrive for 20/30 minutes at which point we didn't care. With management like that setting such a poor example. It's no wonder the service staff messed up our order!!

For better service and quality burger. I would strongly recommend NEXT DOOR, the Blue Parrot Bar & Grille!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moodymoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND CHEAP.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Several visits over the past few months and never disapointed, great atmosphere and suroundings, food was fresh and very hot great choice on value menu for just over£7 for 2 meals all day every day..Large widows allow plenty of light in and great spot for people watching on sunny days there is a secluded 1st floor patio overlooking gardens at the rear and a great sun spot...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank STEELANCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missoula also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing