We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Old Wellington

The Old Wellington
Ranked #78 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: You will find The Old Wellington in Manchester within a short stroll of Manchester Cathedral, Victoria Station and Exchange Square - however, you won't find another like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served - as they should be - with a generous measure of famous British hospitality. The Old Wellington is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

lovely bar next to the cathedral. Perfect for a drink in between shopping or en route to printworks, men arena etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    216
    52
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pub, convenient for MEN Arena”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were in Manchester for a long weekend to attend a couple of concerts and had lunch here before we left. It's a great pub with excellent staff and lovely food. My husband was impressed with the beer too! Would definitely recommend for anyone who wants a good atmosphere, reasonable prices and very friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbabeIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dreadful food and tepid beer”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had to spend a night in Manchester and took a walk into town to find a nice pub and a bite to eat. Came across the Old Wellington which looks great from the outside. Walked up the winding stairway to the cosy restaurant and ordered a pint of dark Ale, which was lukewarm and without much flavour. I ordered the 'famous' fish & chips and was hugely disappointed by the quality of the fish presented. The Cod had ZERO taste and seemed under-cooked. I gave up after a few bites. Normally I would complain about a meal so poor, but as I was tired and not in the humour for any aggravation, I let it slide. Maybe the rest of the menu is better? Maybe I just had a one-off poor experience? apart from the Friendly waitress, this establishment would not entice me back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food and superb, genuinely friendly service.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We only stopped over night in a local hotel for a concert, so mooched around for the afternoon after checking in. Right next door to The Arndale Shopping Centre, we stumbled across The Old Welli'. Quite a narrow bar area as you go in, but make your way upstairs and the restaurant really opens up. You have to wait to be seated, but the turn around is pretty quick and the staff are lightning fast in getting you in and settled. The service was first class, with the staff superbly efficient and friendly. The meals we had were maybe a little pricey, but the quality and speed of service made it worth that bit extra. This is a beautifully quaint, old pub, with wooden beams everywhere and has just the right 'ambience' to make your meal a nice treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“really nice pub”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

had to mark this place down to 'average' just because the food wasn't quite up to scratch. Had beef rib pie and was a little chewy and quality of gravy inside not great. Having said that, loved the style of pub, great service. Would give the food another chance on a different day and order something different before judging too harshly. Nice atmosphere in great location in city centre. Had to wait half an hour for a table but not a problem as pub nice a cosy (small but has tables outside also)

Yes ill be returning :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Wellington also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Old Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing