We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stockcar racing and fireworks”

Manchester Greyhound Stadium Belle Vue
Ranked #62 of 177 things to do in Manchester
Attraction details
mold
Level Contributor
532 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“stockcar racing and fireworks”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

been here before to the dog racing so knew the venue
the event however was very different with min,s v8s, bangers and all to entertain you so not just 1 type of racing
great for the kids
and lots of races
fantastic firework display
look out for it next year

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    72
    52
    27
    73
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stock Car Racing at Belle Vue - fantastic !!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to see the Stock car/banger racing. The actual racing was excellent. Well run track with fantastic fireworks part way through. Could sit inside and see really well or nip outside on the terraces to soak up the atmosphere & noise!!. The venue itself is really grubby, with overpriced drinks / food and dodgy vending machines but we tried to overlook all that in favour of the excellent racing. Top tip:- look outside at the cars, not down at the sticky carpet. A great day out for the family.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinzTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dismal”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Went last night and took my younger brother and his girlfriend.as a dog lover was mortified to see the protesters outside who told us the dogs are used to make money and after they lose so many races they are shot ! Didnt feel comfortable then all night and when we got in there it got even worse, old women in mini dresses looking rough .drunk gangs of local morons.the place inside was smelly dirty stank of wee ughhhh. The drinks are overpriced 4 pound nearly a pint .7 pound for a chicken burger meal u wouldn't mind paying it if the venue was nice its disgusting needs renovating big time .couldnt wait to get a bath when I got home .dont use the toilets either its full of hookeresque types in fishnets who dnt wash there hands ewwww.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kizbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed bag really”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went here with a group of friends and as stated in some of the reviews there are protesters at the gate as soon as you arrive. It is off putting but as Chris G says in his review below, the welfare of these dogs is top priority at this venue and they are well looked after by the owners, otherwise myself, nor my family would ever set foot in the place. I got a programme, free drink and free burger as part of my entrance fee and here is where the generosity ends, the prices for all drinks was over the top to say the least at nearly £4 for a pint of watered down Carling. There was a fast food kiosk offering the usual meal deals but it was their own brand as opposed to a multi-national company and for £28 you can pay for a table service where you get your food, drinks brought to you and they put on your bets. The venue is dated and could do with a bit of regeneration but most of the staff are friendly enough. As with any race meeting, you win some and lose some, but an interesting experience for a beginner like myself. Some good points, some bad, but see for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark331981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Good!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went to belle vue stadium with a group of friends for a night out including a meal. It was larger inside than i expected and quite packed as well but the place is in desperate need of a makeover.,really scruffy and run down, the carpet was filthy, especially in the middle and near the bar. Considering what they are charging for drinks and food, there should be some re-investment in the venue!!!! The food was well below average and limited choice (they even charge supplements on some items on the menu!!!). As soon as the racing had finished (and we won!) they couldnt get you out fast enough ..but you know what? I couldnt get out fast enough either!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Greyhound Stadium Belle Vue also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Greyhound Stadium Belle Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing