We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

City Centre Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our family-run company has operated passenger boats in Manchester for over 25 years and our two vessels, LS Lowry and Emmeline Pankhurst, are named after famous local people who were born, lived and worked in Manchester and Salford, the very areas we operate in. Our restaurant and party boats cruise all year round for groups and individuals, providing unique venues to celebrate your occasion whilst discovering the world famous historic Manchester Ship Canal and Bridgewater Canal which in 2011 celebrated its 250th Anniversary. During your privately chartered cruise you have the best views of the exciting waterside developments from Castlefield in Manchester City Centre to Salford Quays with a great view of Manchester United’s 'Theatre of Dreams’, Media City UK, home of the BBC in the north, The Lowry and the Imperial War Museum North.Our restaurant and party boats provide the perfect venues to celebrate your occasion, which may be a Birthday, Hen Party, Anniversary or Corporate event that can be customised to your needs. Whether you decide to dine, dance, drink, or all three, you can be confident that whatever your requests, we will deliver, meet and go beyond your expectations.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went on 3 hour cruise through the city centre and to Media City.

A very different perspective on familiar places, greatly enhanced by an excellent commentary from a very knowledgeable guide. Very interesting.

The friendly and efficient staff also contributed to a great day out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank HW9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    15
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Avoid this shambolic company!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Quite possible the most unhelpful and unprofessional company I have ever dealt with. Not only do they not take payments on time and leave you in limbo but they do not offer refunds or any form of appeasement for guests who are unable to attend due to ill health. I bought a trip for my aunt who was taken ill with serious influenza and hospitalised the night before only to be told that "She didn't ring and there's nothing we can do!" This is quite possibly the most atrocious customer service I have ever come across! Avoid this company! There are better deals available in elsewhere

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MrPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at City Centre Cruises, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I would like to reply to the comment that suggests we are a shambolic company. This is in reference to a booking that was made for two passengers to enjoy a three hour cruise with Sunday Lunch. On the day in question the vessel was waiting to leave for a 13.00 departure, however, two people had not arrived or contacted the company, so at approximatly 12.55 the crew contacted the office who in turn contacted the customer to be told they were not able to travel with us.
The following day the customer contacted our office to try and re-book and was informed that it is our company policy that we are unable to refund or re-book customers who do not arrive for their cruise. The reason for this is that we are unlike any other restaurant in that we cannot re-sell that table or use the food that has been prepared once the vessel departs for its cruise. It is unfortunate that this is the case, however I hope the customer understands our reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than expected a very different view of the city.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very peaceful autumn afternoon spent on the cruiser which was very spacious and comfortable. Excellent food, staff and service the tour it self was good some points would rather not of seen but all in all was a very enjoyable experience. One I will do again in the near future with friends and famIly.

Helpful?
4 Thank Thank-god-im-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique view of sights”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took a 3 hr cruise on LS Lowry to from Castlefields to Media City and back. Really interesting and knowledgeable commentary by tour guide Sue. I enjoyed going through the lock and the views from the boat of Media City. Well worth £15.

Helpful?
4 Thank Harmonynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A good evenings enterainment”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

About 35 of us went on a team bonding evening from Work. Directions to the embarkation point are Ok, but could do with a sign there to inform you of the departure point is. Boat was not there we arrived and we spent around 15 minutes wondering if we had come to correct point. Parking is typical city centre..free after 8.00pm on the meters on Liverpool Street but £5 from 6.00- 8.00pm. Parking at YHA around the corner at £4.50 for 12 hrs.
Boat is comfortable and the route taken was good, from the old Manchester canal type area..bit run down.... to the magic of Salford keys and all the modern buildings going up. Really enjoyed the trip..apart from the lock from the canal to the river Weaver..took a while and bit caustrophobic.
The food was really expcellent as was the good selection of beers, wines and spirits...the staff good, not in happy smilley way but efficient.
A good night was had by all...now looking at a Sunday lunch cruise with the family.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank taffywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Centre Cruises also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to City Centre Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing