We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well for us, but...”
Review of Karting2000

Karting2000
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worked well for us, but...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went here with a group of about 15. There were about 20 others in the same session, and we each had 4 heats of 5 laps each. This worked okay and didn't feel like it involved too much waiting around as they were pretty quick at getting the next lot on track.

They did mess up entering our names onto the computer a bit, and this meant one of our group was missed off completely! Not sure how this happened, but similar mishaps did seem to happen throughout with some races only having 2 or 3 people. This should be easy to fix, but the guy in charge didn't seem shocked (but was hacked off) that it had happened.

The racing itself was pretty good. Carts seemed reliable, course was good (although not overly full of character). Electronic scoreboard was really good to see what was going on and record best times and scores.

So in short, racing good, price okay but some of the organisation of the easy bits could easily let the place down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Patt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    13
    8
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful service, this is no ordinary karting experience.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am a 30 year old male and we came here yesterday with my 13 year old son. We had a groupon voucher and the lady at the check in desk was polite, happy and smiling, i thought this was a good start. Al though to my surprise 50 laps was worth £60. The lady said someone will come for us shortly. we should expect star service for this sort of price.Then we were told to go and spectate the race before ours. Then our race started and the 2 other males competing in our race already got into their gear, helmets and the go kart itself. We were still sat at a table waiting to be called.
Then a moody 20 year old looking man came and the other lads had already set off. He came to our changing rooms and kept telling my son he was putting the suit on wrong but actually it was right. Then finally when we got to the karts me and our son no matter how long we kept out feet down to accelerate the 2 11 year olds still caught up with us. The steering wheels are as stiff as hell and after i felt my arms were dropping off. Even though the lads in front got around 8 more laps then us we had to all stop at the same time. Waste of money even with the voucher. The course is so short and when my son crashed a man called john threw the kart out of the pit and shouted at him to calm down. The poorest service ive ever had.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid these brazen liars”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

As others have said - avoid this rip off.

I rarely write reviews but feel compelled to warn others about this place.

Six of us (3 dads, 3 lads) paid £15 each for 50 laps.

We started at 5pm at the earliest and were told to stop at 5.21pm exactly, despite two delays of at least 2 mins each for racers to be pulled out from the tyre wall.

I queried it as it felt like only 20 laps, but was told by the marshal that three of them had counted and we'd definitely had 50 laps. BullXXXX!

So, despite a track record lap time of 24 seconds, we all managed to do AVERAGE times of under 21 seconds.

Plus, we were all stopped at the same time, despite the fastest driver lapping the slowest at least ten times.

I can only assume that they think that because we pay a third of the full price, that we only deserve a third of the time.

As I can see that this is a typical experience for Groupon customers, I'd like to know how Groupon allow them to keep using their service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The kids will love it!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took my two boys 12 & 15, basic inside but hey your going karting. The lads loved it and we've booked again. Could do with a bit more tidying up and looking after, but still great fun!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When can I go again mum?”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Flattered to deceive, bit concerned when we walked in but all round fantastic experience...staff were excellent, karts were fast but,and most importantly, numbers on the track are kept to a minimum and you aren't rushed so all ages can enjoy it...I was the best though...honest!
Can't wait to go back, it will be very soon.

Keep up the good work guys, hope it works out for you

Regs

Paul (the fastest!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traceyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karting2000 also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Karting2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing