We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad..”
Review of Fairfield Arms

Fairfield Arms
Ranked #510 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Visit Fairfield Arms in Audenshaw for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Audenshaw, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our weekly quiz, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad..”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Been a few times as it's convenient..No complaints really about the food.. Good portions and tasty but nothing to rave about, it's pretty pricey for what is.. Manchester City Centre prices. The place is clean and cosy however sadly the staff can be very frosty and look very inconvenienced when you ask them anything..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnieb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    54
    26
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“80th Birthday meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The portions were very large, freshly cooked to order and served efficiently.

The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Overpriced, average food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went with family for a meal and was surprised at the prices of the food - when the mixed grill arrived for some of the party, it didn't look very humungous though the price suggested it would be so. I ordered a chicken dish with mushroom sauce and it was a smaller portion than I would have liked and there was a taste of burnt rubber. There seemed to be only one person serving, so though she was really nice and friendly, it did seem a ridiculous wait at times, esp when it came to ordering desserts. Most of the party ordered ice cream - which didn't taste very nice nor creamy, and I had a sticky toffee pudding which looked shop bought, but tasted nice. All in all very underwhelmed by the whole experience and the quality of the food and at those silly prices, it will be a long time before I would visit it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been to the Fairfield arms a few times over the years and it is a Lovely Victorian building and a good atmosphere. We went in for an Early dinner on Saturday and it was already busy but the staff were friendly and the service good. Unfortunately the food was not up to scratch which was unexpected as we regularly go to another of the chains pubs and it is always excellent. My wife's belly pork was a real disappointment and I don't even think it was Belly pork. It actually looked more like Loin. I had the mixed grill which was better but not as good as it should have been.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank g4224wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good staff and a great manager!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have known the Fairfield for a number of years and found it to be consistent with quality food, good atmosphere and service. Whatever kind of visit you need, be it quiet dinner for two, a convenient place for tea, a family get together or a business event/evening...the Fairfield can accommodate it all. We have had had all of these kinds of visits and have not one complaint. It is great, convenient and local to us. See you on Friday night with our granddaughter for tea! Well done, Chris.
Colin and Judith

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairfield Arms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Denton, Greater Manchester
Droylsden, Greater Manchester
 
Droylsden, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Fairfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing