We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotspot Ess Paradies - CLOSED

Hotspot Ess Paradies
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: American, German, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love the atmosphere , lovely food and great people work there. Try pepper cream schnitzel very delicious . My boys love testy French fries .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1975Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    27
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice find!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ess Paradies is just round the corner from where I live and I decided to give it a try at last!
The place is small but homely, with nice benches and loads of picture of German people, places and stuff on the wall (yes, it's a German restaurant). Having been to Germany myself I was very curious about what a German restaurant can offer... but I wasn't disappointed!
The waiter is a funny german chap, super friendly and welcoming. The prices are good, right for what they offer... you don't even feel in Chorlton here, no posh! :)
I had fried feta as a starter (german? well, nice) and my husband had potato fritters. The cheese was goergeous but the fritters were, unfortunately very greasy. After that I had lamb stew and the man had goulash with german noodles (cannot recall the proper name...). Mine was big, earthy and so real... real food, indeed, and tasty! The man's was great but a bit too spicy for my taste. The let down was the beer prices... beers that I can easily buy from Aldi are here priced at £3.80...pity! The other little problem was the countinuous "dling dling" of the microwave.... bit worrying.
But overall, I shall go back.
dinner for 2 £28

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My visit”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The main course was authentic but the sweet course was not aithenticly german.
Everything eles was abserlutley fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iparker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great German food and well priced”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want good food (and beers) for a great price then this is the place. Totally unpretentious place that serves German food such as sausages Frankfurters and Bratwürste, also various schnitzels. Not forgetting their fantastic fries with a light coating of paprika. A schnitzel with fries cost arround £6 and the portion sizes are substantial. I love the place and have been there several times with my family for both food and tasting one of their many German beers.
If ordering veg, stick to traditional German stuff such as sauerkraut, the veg portions were a bit disappointing. I don't think they were frozen but they had cooked the veg and made it taste as if it was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank electodics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a bit of Germany in South Manchester”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Delicious food and very friendly staff. We especially like the kase spaetzle (cheesy egg noodles) and the wurst. Good selection of real German beer as well. One of the best restaurants in Chorlton!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sputnikwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotspot Ess Paradies also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing