We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad food, overcharged, awful atmosphere, never again”
Review of Lal Qila Deansgate

Lal Qila Deansgate
Ranked #527 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad food, overcharged, awful atmosphere, never again”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

18 of us met at Imli's tonight for an office Christmas party. We were shown upstairs, to be greeted by a drunken raucous and very noisy table of men being entertained by a half naked lap dancer. 15 minutes of cheering and table banging followed, not a great start. The food was very average at best, and terrible at worst. Bright red chicken tikka masala, a chicken spinach dish wherein vegetable clearly had been frozen, mounds of rice that was not freshly cooked. Most dishes were heavy on sauce and light on meat, and portions were very small for the price. I ate better last week at my local takeaway.

The total bill came to much more than we expected, about £30 a head, though this did include quite a few drinks. on checking the bill we realised we had been overcharged by about £63 for items listed twice on the bill. This was immediately changed, thanks to an alert member of our party, but others might not have noticed.

It was a very busy evening, in the run up to Christmas, but the food we ate was not good, and the atmosphere and service not up to standard. I will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shoshana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    68
    28
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
300 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Fine food”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really enjoyable indian restaurant located near the Deansgate Hilton.
Interesting menu, a little different from the usual.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Glad We Tried It”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant as a change from Akbars & glad we did. Food was very good, service good, very clean & nice ambience. The only bad thing I would say about it was that it was a little chilly!! We had gone in early evening and there was only one other couple in & it appeared to not have much heating on, which did spoil it a little bit as the food was lovely, but we didnt want to linger in there!!
Other than that had a really nice evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very Very Average”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I probably am a little generous rating this place as average.
Prices are good but food was distinctly average. We skipped starters to share several main dishes which varied from King Prawn. Chicken and Mince/Chicken. Even a special in there on the waiters recommendation.. In fact apart from the meat they all tasted the same. Nothing special about this place. Its bright and airey inside but not very traditional.
I've had better supermarket curries.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rugbyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,687 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,122 helpful votes
“Small portions makes it too expensive”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the Lal Quila rebranded. The welcome was courteous, the restaurant was not too busy and it a good ambience. We had a vegetarian starter and were startled by the small portions, the Onion Bhaji was a literal biteful. Our party had a mix and match for the main including a Chicken special curry and mixed grill. The curry was nice the mixed grill with the kebabs and lamb chops were good but again the portions were small in comparison with the price. It was as if you were left with the still hungry feeling after a meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Qila Deansgate also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Lal Qila Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing