We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Hadrians Wall walk 2019

Nothing like staying in Manchester city on your way the the Hadrian's wall, our holidays 2019, and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
MartinWalesHamburg
,
Hamburg, Germany
via mobile
One of my favourite spots in Manchester

I go to a lot of art galleries, but the collection at Manchester is one of my favourites. There's a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
emmarhol
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,986 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from $15.29
More Info
from $12.74
More Info
from $15.29
More Info
from $0.03
More Info
Reviews (1,986)
Filter reviews
1,986 results
Traveler rating
1,121
702
138
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,121
702
138
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pre raphaelite paintings grayson perry on display worth a visit great collection special exhibition changing exhibitions lovely cafe couple of hours free entrance lovely building few hours the ground floor rainy day city centre great place to visit exhibits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,478 - 1,483 of 1,986 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a very compact art gallery situated just off Piccadilly. The paintings are very well placed with adequate seating in each room. There are some stunning works of art on display and in some rooms there are laminated cards with translations of what is on show for those who don't speak English. If you have half an hour to spend whilst in Manchester this gallery is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank Babsstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was in Manchester recently and wanted to try to take at least one cultural excursion during my very short time here. The art gallery is open till 9pm on a Thursday night so I opted for here.

This gallery has a relaxed, laid-back atmosphere about it and has many interesting pieces. It is neither too sprawling, as some London galleries can be, nor is it pokey. I particularly enjoyed the Modernism rooms.

If you have a couple of hours to spare and are in Picadilly it's worth having a look around. It's close to the China town district making for an interesting walk around the area too!

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Nymah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Plenty of choice, well presented and great atmosphere, not to mention a reasonable price. The staff are also very friendly. Great place to pop in for lunch.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

There is always something worth seeing here. This time, it was the Grayson Perry tapestries and a show curated by Jeremy Deller, but the permanent collections are a delight.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank kate-and-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have visited this gallery a few times over the years and each time I enjoy it. There have been some amazing exhibitions there and it is a perfect building for a few hours of rambling around. I have been with small kids each time but I want to go back on my own sometime to really enjoy it!!

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews