We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grayson Perry "The Vanity of Small Differences”

Manchester Art Gallery
Ranked #8 of 175 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From our historical collections to international contemporary art, we aim to bring fresh perspectives, encourage conversation and spark debate.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grayson Perry "The Vanity of Small Differences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Manchester Art Gallery is one of my favourite places in Manchester. Today I thoroughly enjoyed the Grayson Perry tapestries "The Vanity of Small Differences". I have never seen his work before and found it as enjoyable as his recent lectures broadcast by the BBC. The work is on view until 2nd February. You need at least an hour just for this but it is worthwhile spending longer to look at all the other galleries.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    524
    98
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

So varied and lots to see for all the family. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The tapestrys by Grayson Perry were very interesting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morag W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sth Yorks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location for the wedding we attended 4 weeks ago. Staff were superb, food excellent and an art gallery as a back drop simply brilliant. We were guided round several party's of the gallery for various stages of the day which enhanced the whole experience.

Helpful?
Thank ExiledMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Lass
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“just brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I were surprised in a Good Way by the Gallery - we have not seen it all and will return. Happening upon Grayson Perry's tapestries was a Real Bonus. Fabulous!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fattmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Free and child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is a while since I visited the Manchester Art Gallery but I was really really impressed.

They had little utility belts and hard hats for children to borrow. I can't remember whether a deposit was required. The utility belts had all sorts of things like magnify glasses and colour sphere thingys. The childrens area was amazing - lots of hands on exhibits, we spent ages there, When we went it had a 3d kaleidoscope which my son crawled into - he loved it.

If you venture into the main art gallery there are little stations that are for children dotted about.

A great place to visit for a bit of culture for children.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bah259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Art Gallery also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing