We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Central Guest House
Ranked #21 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here 12th-14th [Dec] This little Gem is in a quiet area set back from the city centre. No noise at all at night. Ronkey [Not sure if I have spelt that right!] the owner was more than welcoming. We found she gave a friendly and polite service and was helpful to us in any way that she could be. The rooms were clean, well decorated and constantly warm.[try and get a en-suite if you can] Breakfast was served in a lovely dining area and the food was just as good as anywhere else I have ever stayed. It is a good 10 min walk into town so I would recommend a taxi. Ekko taxis are local and cheap. All in all a good stay, Would stay here again if i`m ever in Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for an en-suite room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarborough09040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for New Central Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived quite late to check-in which wasn't a problem. I'm shocked to read that some people have found the lady who runs the guesthouse rude. After meeting her I can't even imagine her to be like this? She was very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you, and all of the rest of the guests too I noticed.
I stayed in a single en-suite room and it had all of the amenities which it stated. Okay it is 'no-frills' but you get what you pay for. There is also a kettle and tea and coffee in the room which was nice as not every guesthouse provides this.
I wouldn't put anyone off staying here. Thanks for your hospitality and I may see you again. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applezach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank God for honest people like you! I knew the truth will come out one day as nothing special was done for you but i was just doing my job. Once again, thank you for your custom, appreciation and for taking time to write the review. Look forward to seeing you again, when next you are visiting Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotelier is a very rude lady. After 6 hours travelling we we greeted with a sour face a and told that there was no room for us. She was annoyed we had not checked in at 1pm even though my book said I could book in from 1pm till 9pm and it was only 6.30. This guest house does not understand the meaning of customer service. There are other people on google who have experienced her rudeness!

Stayed: March 2013
4  Thank Lesleysteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with the service you received at the New Central Guesthouse. It is our continual endeavour here at the New Central Guesthouse to provide a premium service and put the needs of our guests first.

In this particular instance, you had stated that you would be arriving at the hotel around 1pm and when you still hadn't arrived at 6pm, we were understandably quite concerned. In our attempt to contact you to check you were okay, we realised that we had received some of your details incorrectly and we were subsequently unable to reach you. It was a relief to see you arrived safely after 8pm and more so, that the room was still available for you. It is our policy to ensure we do not let down our customers, therefore we (the Booking Agent and ourselves) did everything to ascertain you were alright. Being a small-family run company, we pride ourselves on being interested in the well-being of each and every one of our guests and taking customer service much further.

I’d like to clarify that check-in time is between 1pm and 9pm and we were more than willing to accommodate you, however, on this occasion, you made it quite clear that you were not willing to stay with us. We’d like to reassure you that we take every comment left on Trip Advisor very seriously and we do hope that you will stop by again when you are next in Manchester. A BIG THANK YOU to the family members that came with you. All the best and thank you for taking the time to review the New Central Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 1st December 2012. W were watching a gig that night at the MEN and this hotel was cheap and close to the venue. I saw a cople of critical reviews and felt a bit fearful but Inneedn't have worried. We had a warm welcome and our room and bed were clean and comfortable.
The toilet and bathroom separate to the room were also clean and we were given access to WI-FI which meant we could catch up on e mails.
As noted above, the hotel is really close to the MEN and a fifteen minute walk at most.
The lady looking aft the hotel was really friendly and our breakfast this morning was plentiful, hot and tasty. We both had the full English.
All in all, this is a no frills hotel but we felt it represented great value and we would certainly recommend on that basis and we will be very happy to use it again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Zonderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Do appreciate you taking time to write the above review about our Guest House.
Hope your journey back home was pleasant; no doubt, because you are a pleasant couple.
Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Received a very warm and friendly greeting on arrival from a lovely lady. Helpful advice provided on where to eat, good recommendations.

Room was clean, warm and comfortable, lots of hot water available for a refreshing shower.

I needed an early start and breakfast was available to help me set off early. Breakfast was pleasant, full English was well cooked and presented with lots of other sundries available to fill any stomach.

Overall I think that this is a lovely guest house offering good value for money. I will definitely stay here again if I am in need of a room in Manchester.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review; do appreciate you taking your time to write it.
Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My first visit to Manchester. Spent 4 nights at the guest house. The environment was neat and quiet. The location is very accessible to city centre and other interesting places. The manger/owner gave very warm and friendly welcome; gave different transport maps to assist in moving around in Manchester. She also offered juice and bottled water as soon as she helped in settling down in the room.
Stayed in a single room - very neat, with TV, toilet, shower, etc, the bed was small but comfortable - had comfortable sleep all through. The area was safe; I walked to Manchester Fort Shopping centre alone to have a late dinner at Nandos.
The breakfast was very superb. The manager was always helpful.
I forgot my book at the dinning room when I checked out; she phoned me when I got back to London same day, and promised to send it to me by post. She mailed it to me (without any charges to me) and I received it next day.

I'll definitely patronise the b&b again and recommend to anyone I know going to Manchester.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marj_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review us. Hope you have enjoyed your stay in the UK overall? Anytime you are in Manchester, we look forward to welcoming you back again, as you are a pleasant lady.
Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stay here on my own quite a lot when working in Manchester. I stay in budget hotel chain also, and yes, it isn't as good as them. However, when I am cannot get an advance cheap hotel in Manchester, B&B's are the next choice; there are a number of similar for this price range. It is has small rooms, simple with all t hat you need, coffee, kettle, clean sheets, towels, soap.. The beds are single and small, but I always sleep well and have no problems. Breakfast is adequate and with fresh filtered coffee and juice.
The area has a "reputation", but I think it is undeserved and have never had any trouble here, and I have walked back early hours after a night out before.
People can complain, but what do you expect in a major city for this price?
The lady that owns and runs is lovely, always helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Free parking as this is in a residential area, 20 min walk to Arndale and central attractions. Fort...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review us.
We are looking into having more big en-suite rooms with double beds available very soon; leaving us with few cosy rooms.
Thank you for your custom and repeated business.
look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#74 of 120 in Manchester
85 reviews
3.7 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#65 of 120 in Manchester
442 reviews
3.7 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 29 in Manchester
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lower Turks Head
Lower Turks Head
#7 of 29 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mulligans of Deansgate
Mulligans of Deansgate
#5 of 29 in Manchester
34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rampant Lion Hotel
Rampant Lion Hotel
#6 of 29 in Manchester
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Address: 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your New Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing