We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stock Exchange Restaurant - CLOSED

The Stock Exchange Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the heart of Manchester, Stock Restaurant is a unique venue for lunch or dinner plus private events such as birthdays or weddings. It occupies the fine Old Stock Exchange building whose magnificent 50-foot domed ceiling and original marble features create instant atmosphere. Sophisticated and charming, Stock’s food reflects the best of Southern Italian cooking – hearty, inventive and full of robust flavours. Combined with award winning, warm and friendly service - your experience at Stock will be a memorable one.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Venue,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food great and service very attentive, it just seems to lack some atmosphere or maybe it was just the day we went

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rober178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Manager at The Stock Exchange Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your evening hope to see you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    105
    62
    62
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Standards Slip at Stock?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a centrally located restaurant, but as it's in the 'business' area of the city, you may not have heard of it. It's located n the old Manchester Stock Exchange (hence the name) and as you would expect, the interior is rather stunning. Huge, high, ornate ceilings... A real treat.

We only paid a visit, as we found a voucher on LivingSocial (£34 for 3 courses for 2 people), as I simply would not pay the standard prices. Our welcome was warm and genuine and we were shown to a large table, in the relatively sparse restaurant. The wine list was extensive, although I opted for a soft drink.

The starters are fish/seafood heavy, which isn't to my taste, so I went for the Italian Sausage with polenta. The sausage was full of flavour but I found the polenta lacking. There wasn't much flavour and it was very dry.

For mains, I opted for the lamb, which was cooked perfectly. It's a shame but the meat was a bit fatty. The sauce was good but the real disappointment was the dauphinois potatoes. They were so dry. These are meant to be creamy but they were completely overcooked.

Dessert was a sharing platter. A trio of chocolate tart, meringue and one other which I cannot remember. These were nice without being memorable.

All in all, it was ok. As I had the voucher (£34 instead of £64.80), I felt we done ok but I would have been disappointed to have paid full price. At £20 a main, you want perfection.

Our waitress was lovely and I simply couldn't fault her.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Manager at The Stock Exchange Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening at Stock. We take all customer feedback very seriously and would like the chance to hear more about your experience and where you feel improvements could be made. If you would like to get in touch with us to discuss this further then please give us a call on 01618396644
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood and Wilmslow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love it! Love it! Love it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Somewhat belatedly, I write this review. My mother and I visited a few weeks ago, service as usual, was excellent, food delish, all round excellent - thank you. Arron, you were your usual delightful self. Please thank the lovely waiter - he could not have been more helpful. How lovely to meet the chef too. Delighted to say that I am now fully recovered from my knee surgery and look forward to visiting you again in the not too distant future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Manager at The Stock Exchange Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good to hear you enjoyed your time at Stock again, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon - especially Arron :) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We came here for dinner one weekday and the service and food were wonderful. The building is absolutely stunning and the drinks were offered by a waiter who knew the wine list well and offered us a selection of champage which was served in chilled glasses with strawberries on the side!

The food was obviously freshly cooked by incredibly talented chefs and the menu selection was fairly priced and wide-ranging. I had lobster ravioli and it was the best I had ever tasted. The fritto misto starter and tiramisu were brilliant also.

The service was attentive but not intrusive and it was nice to have staff who are Italian as it adds to the atmostphere.

I will definately return, especially on a night such as the live music nights and special events they have on.

Well worth a visit, Manchester's hidden gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Manager at The Stock Exchange Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your evening at Stock - the fritto misto is very popular as you can see from one or two other reviews here! We look froward to seeing you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MANCHESTERS VERY OWN POSH SOUP KITCHEN! TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Shocking service

To be fair - everyone told me great things about this place. In all honesty DONT BELIEVE A WORD, its terrible.

Went for an evening and left feeling that i had wasted my time effort and money. They ask a question then ignore your answer. 25 mins for a drink, cold food, dodgy starters and above all if you want a drink you either just accept that its not going to happen or plead with a waiter (whos doing his very best to ignore you, unless you seem to be splashing the cash)

The management answers on here are all the same and seem to be a standard copy and paste job. To think this place had a reputation in Manchester. Now still has a reputation however its for a completley different reason.

Even if you think to take the chance because a review seems to be good (chances are that they got it right for one person out of hundreds and really really should be ashamed)

I dont even want to rate it but it makes you! Broken seats - dirty toilets - dirty tables. The list goes on. SHOCKING!!

If you have ever wondered what it would be like to be an invisable person. Dont worry - pop into this restaurant / canteen and you'll know. The only time this place could possibly be described as a gem of manchester is if you base it against the arndale food court.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WonderingWelshB... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Manager at The Stock Exchange Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening at Stock. We take all customer feedback very seriously and would like the chance to hear more about your experience and where you feel improvements could be made. If you would like to get in touch with us to discuss this further then please give us a call on 01618396644
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stock Exchange Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing